Labyrinths in Life

Image

image

Ohio Wesleyan University
~ zen
~~ peace
~~~ amazing
~~~~ labyrinth
~~~~~ tranquility
~~~~~~ captivating
~~~~~~~ illumination

Finding one’s direction,
Stumbling down path,
Humanity thwarts,
Overcome twists;
Growth towards
Enlightenment.

***************
Written by Robin Cochran
Photo by reocochran

More thoughts found
while sitting on hill.
Saw two boys wind
round and round,
getting to center
turning back,
out of the
circle
&
into
Life.

“Happy 11th Birthday to Skyler.”

For my first grandchild
a baby song:
“(They long to be) Close to You.”

“On the day that you
were born, the angels
got together. . .sprinkling
stardust in your hair. . .”
** sung by the Carpenters.

For the fun loving boy:
“Dance Magic” in
“Labyrinth,” film,
** sung by David Bowie.
“No more puppy dog’s tails “

48 responses »

  1. Hi Robin…This is beauty—β€œMore thoughts found while sitting on hill. Saw two boys wind round and round, getting to center turning back, out of the circle & into Life.” Thanks for sharing with us…Robin—You are the Best! Phil

    • Phil, I really like your finding a line yiu liked and lettinf me know! πŸ™‚ I need a special “dose” of your writing. Going in 6 or so minutes, dear friend. Have a wonderful week!

    • Oh, Kelly. So glad this song was one you sang to your baby girl. β™‘ I was wondering if people always thought about their children or someone they loved as a partner, while singing this Carpenters song? Now I know you also did this. πŸ™‚

      • Yep! The lyrics are just beautiful – so fitting for a baby! That song along with the one by Stevie Wonder called, “Isn’t She Lovely” are on my daughter’s baby video – when she was born. πŸ™‚

      • I love the Stevie Wonder song, “Isn’t She Lovely?” You are so right to include this with a baby girls birth video. Perfect! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Marissa! I am happy the songs were a hit with you. The second one had a hilarious Muppet type video from the film, “Pan’s Labyrinth.” I like how it literally says, “No more puppy dog’s tails.” The age of 11 is a big step and Sky gets off the bus and heads home for awhile to do homework, changes out of school clothes and practices the (standing) bass. (Like a cello.)

      • Sounds a bit like my kids only they play the guitar. My son started to take cello in middle school but it was so hard to lug is around the school that we couldn’t do it. I know it’s a terrible excuse but it’s true. Not to mention getting it down our steps and into the car! I love the instrument though. Yes, no more snips and snails.

  2. We’re on the same wavelength Robin! I visited my second labyrinth in two weeks on the writing retreat I was on. (The week before they had made one out of tape in the convention hall at World Parliament.) They bring such peace and comfort, and yes, even perspective…and as always, the Carpenters are a hint. Happy birthday to your grandson!

    • Thank you, Marie for sharing your recent labyrinth adventures. We are on a similar wavelength with such positive attributes. Glad you enjoyed the musical selection. Thank you for the happy wishes for my grandson! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much for sharing same song memories and liking the picture of words chosen to represent the labyrinth, Lyn. πŸ™‚ I plan on showing Skyler this post when I see him at the family birthday party on Sunday when I get back home from Mom’s!

    • My grandson will love the cake and candles, Jen! β™‘ Thank you!
      The feeling of serenity comes upon me when I cross any one of three bridges across to the campus and sit under such lovely trees. When I “lost” my home and gave up trying in my marriage, I found peace here. My one bedroom apartment with my youngest daughter and I sleeping in twin beds was such fun. I now have a double bed, she has lived for 3 of my 9 divorced years 1/2 hour away in Columbus, Ohio. She still comes for sleepovers.

      • You’re welcome! Hope he had a lovely day.
        That is such a cute story about your daughter and you and I’m glad that you have been able to find peace too 😘

      • Although his birthday was the 4th, he is patiently waiting until I go home on Sunday the 8th to have our whole family (3 grown kids, 7 grandies) together at oldest daughter’s home, Jen. I will show him the comments since he likes to look at the posts with he and his brother. I will miss Mom, not back till Thanksgiving then.

    • Thank you, for telling me how much you like “Labyrinth” and “Pan’s Labyrinth.” πŸ™‚ My oldest loves any mystical or magical movies or books. She likes fairies and gnomes, trolls and ogres.

      I have a cell phone which doesn’t correct my “s” when I am trying to write a word that clearly needs an “a.” ogres How many yimes do I need to correct “snd” into “and?” The computer should be able to correct your spelling labyrinth. But once you establish a pattern it thinks you want it to follow it.
      My oldest daughter and I took some grandkids to see “Strange Magic,” which may seem corny. We liked the rock music and the praying mantis “king” of the dark forest while the fairies and animated characters all sing. Of course, this is not as t yhe same level of the other films you mentioned. George Lucas directed it, though. πŸ™‚

      • We watched it this summer at our small town theater and I thought you might find it at DVD rental or we can get this at our local library. πŸ™‚ Electric Light Orchestra for the title song and lots of 70’s and 80’s music.

  3. Robin,
    Wishing Skyler a very happy Birthday. How sweet it is that he is waiting until you get back to celebrate.
    Love the poem, its shape and the reflections on the labyrinths in our lives.

    • This was a very personal and caring message which Skyler will appreciate so much, Sandhya. I plan on showing him this birthday post with responses. Thank you for the sweet compliments, too. Hope you will have a wonderful weekend, dear.

    • I guess I am not getting the same vibe since I thought it was a poetic movie, but maybe it is “Labyrinth.” My oldest daughter thinks I got the two mixed up.
      She liked the rawness but it us due to the 1944 era story line and Benicio de Toro director. So sorry, Brenda.
      The movie I saw, had creatures in. I will check the song credit, too. Thank you, no violence recommended here, especially for kids! πŸ™‚

  4. Appreciate the labyrinth weavings and how that is life – I felt that your story started with the structure of one then went deeper and deeper into Skyler’s own journey and his birthday is a passage for you too in the spiral.

  5. I think one reason grandchildren are important in our lives is to remind us how quickly time seems to pass. If it were left to our own perceptions, we would not notice a year here and a year there.

    The children grow and change from one visit to the next. Even when we see them constantly, they do not remain the same as the day before. Your poem reminds me how precious every moment is that we get to share with them. – Mike

    • I am so happy you captured a serious element in this seemingly light hearted poem and thoughts, Mike. This way you have of mentioning how as grandparents time is “precious” while with our grandchildren is something I ponder about often. Thanks for sharing this with me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

