Americana colors

Image

image

“Americana”
by Robin O. Cochran

It is not the red, white and blue
Nor the eagle in its glory.

It is not the President
Nor the governing bodies.

It is not just found in
small towns or big cities
Nor only in the rich or poor.

It is not the rhetoric
The negative acts,
Nor a few evil people.

It is the warmth of neighbors,
Gathering over fences
or on porches.

It is the multi-colored hues,
faces, hands and hearts
helping rake leaves.

It is all the birds,
natural wonders
and beautiful everyday lives.

These are who
and what I feel
honored to believe in.

I still have
Hope for
Americana
Rising.

69 responses »

    • Brenda, my smile gets bigger when I see how you, Poetess Extroadinaire, responds to my humble thoughts! I think you should keep that as a Brenda expression “fountain of unique ideas and outlooks” is so much more “living” description of people. It embodies creative minds. ♡ Thanks!

  1. I love these colors most of all in the fall Robin and I really like the way you chose to see the meaning you presented here. We have many reasons to hope, but too many people and organizations want to focus on the problems. Thanks!

    • I love the colors everywhere and walking in the woods is the best since you are surrounded by nature. Just driving last week to pass out “early Nana Halloween treats” and activity books, on 10/29, this row of trees struck me in their diversity, Dan. The rest just sort to came to me. Glad you liked both picture and words! 🙂

    • Hi Elizabeth, this poem or words embraces all of the people I have met, too. Should add this, not just Americans. 🙂 You are special tibme, traveling down similar paths separated by space. ♡

    • Karin, happy this small town photograph brought forth so many supportive and wonderful thoughts! You captured the essence of what I was saying perfectly. Thanks! I used to post for nearly 3 years sans, without, photos. It has been fun, learning how to do this.

      Who would have thought 2 purses stolen with simple flip phone and an upgraded one, would have led me to throw away my original blogging idea of “using words to paint pictures?” Good came out that “bad” part of 2015.

    • Sorry, Fall has been arriving there, Jill. 😦 I hate to think with wind and rain, this street leading to Skyler and Micah’s elementary school and Carrie’s apartment building, will be nearly bare branches by time I get home on Sunday. Hope you have a lovely weekend, Jill.

    • I used to write long essays, V. There are many love stories and essays on the subjects that run in a list on the right hand side of each post. Thank you, V. I like hope being like a prayer for “holy ” and “wholesome.” ♡

    • Marissa, the white house and brick one both have big front porches. I can picture rocking chairs on them, someone crocheting or knitting, another serving iced lemonade. . . What a “corny” and sentimental picture to envision but I do think like this when I drive around small towns. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here.

      • Which really is interesting since yesterday I was reading someone’s article about him. There is a new book coming out about how Norman Rockwell had numerous “people of color” in his artwork but never labeled their names in books. He labeled even pet’s names, though? Strange because he has the nice painting of, “Freedom of Religion” with a little girl with white gloves on and her Sunday best but does not give his girl “model’s” name.

    • Balroop, I am happy to see you. Hope this picture will embrace more than just Americans. It was Voting week, I started about a week ago, taking this photo, then thinking about what it meant to me. What could the picture tell us? So happy you loved them and liking how blended lives become colorful.

    • I found the setting a week ago so inspiring, Jay. I did mean to post this on Voting Day, but was up at Mom’s and lost track of time. 🙂 I did vote almost 2 weeks ago at Delaware County early voting site.

      • Thank you so much, Robin. I am enjoying your writing as well. There are times I have to mute the voices of other Writers so I can better hear and develop my own. I am coming to trust my voice and so will have faith that reading other Writers of your caliber will not threaten my sense of inferiority. Thank you for the kind reply.

        Michael

    • Michael, I usually run out of time yo read everyone’s posts but try to make my rounds. I am sure you know that people enjoy reading you and please never compare yourself, as in “Desiderata” since there will always be those above or below us in their lives and how they carry out their crafts or abilities. All of us are blessed with talent and you have found your niche.

  2. Jenny, the neighborhood made me feel rather patriotic but in a deeper way. It was also voting day on Tuesday November 3rd, so lots of rhetoric on television. So thankful for your pleasant comments! 🙂

    • In the desert you get different and equally beautiful view, Kirt. You may always schedule a visit to the East, though, with wife! 🙂 I am glad you liked the words, too. Enjoy your weekend!

    • I hope people will be kind. It is true things have changed in the American atmosphere here, in some areas. My grandma came from Germany and was a waitress in NYC where she met my grandpa from Sweden. They did not use their roots nor speak their native tongues. Mom said they were proud to become American citizens. I wish for you to find this peace and hope there will be connections. Take care. Smiles, Robin

  3. I know for a lot of people Fall is their favorite season. And I enjoy the colors of Fall, too. However, Fall reminds me that the days are getting shorter, the air is getting colder, and the next few months require higher heating bills, good jackets, raingear, and possibly some snow shoveling. I don’t mind a romp or two in the snow with grandchildren followed by cups of hot cocoa to warm up. But for me personally, I look forward to budding flowers, green leaves, warmer days and longer periods of daylight.

    But that’s just me. I look forward to your poetic posts all year round. – Mike

    • Mike, you have dome valid points for which I have some feelings of remorse, too. I wish we could have t we o weeks in December and then, head towards Spring! Winter is not fun without a garage fir me since I have to haul a shovel and boots in trunk due to early morning warehouse hours and landlord disent always have shoveled parking lot. Then, at end of day, may face snow once again. But I will try to stay happy since Skyler has his birthday party tomorrow for family and will have a sad few moments saying goodbye to Mom, too. Life in all dimensions. When do you move yo warmer South Eastern state? 🙂 I forget. . . ♡

    • Oh, Beth. I hope you are doing okay. I was not sure if you would be writing today and agsin, sorry about your golden sweetheart, Nacho passing. I once wrote a post about the way someone imagined the Rainbow Bridge for pets to cross. My Mom’s veterinarian had a gorgeous painting in her lobby. Take care and hope many more happy moments outweigh your loss. Hugs, Robin

  4. Robin, having served, you make me proud with what flows serenely from you selfless heart. After visiting every state in our country, we are blessed to live where natures beauty flows everyday in so many ways. I love the poem and the picture. There is no place like America!

  5. What a gorgeous photograph and place. That looks like home to me. Great poem and heartfelt sentiments about America. The best in us should always be celebrated. Great post, Robin.

    • Beth, so glad you stopped by since this was local voting week reaction to the rhetoric. It also was a knee jerk reaction to having listened to part of the national debates. . . 🙂 Here’s hoping America comes to their senses next year.
      Thank you!! 🙂

  6. I have hope too Robin. I can sit on my porch and talk over the fence to the neighbors on either side. “Holler” across the street to the family as they return from football practice or game with their little one. I can see the world as it passes by. ANd it’s a good world.

    • It is one person or family at a time way of greeting and embracing so much good out there. Thanks, Colleen, for sharing your neighborly way of “hollering” to your friends around you in your neighborhood. I like my “peeps” which my old friend and SLP from school came over here in 2006, when I got divorced and met some apt dwelling neighbors of mine: Micky and David are special needs adults, Delores and Dee are elderly (80’s), my guy friends, Danny and Ricky and there is a rotating cast of college kids coming and going too. 🙂

      • Next time, Lyn, you are reading a post look for a blue circle (like a blue ribbon) which has the words Freshly Pressed on it. You will be surprised how many fey this but Mark B and Judy B, who were both journalists in their real life, never got this award. You get it through email and post it on your blog. One day I got a huge number of likes but could not find out why. Oh well! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I was really happy with the way it sounds read sloud, sort of a cadence or beat to it. This was so nice snd excuse my not finding it until now. I will come over and catch up on your blog. 🙂

  7. Your beautiful words and picture, bring to mind the kind of America I recall seeing in old movies, neighborhood harmony and the hand of friendship on every corner, I do hope there are pockets of America still alive with that great attribute.

    • Ian, so lovely to have you visit. This neighborliness is a quality found probably in small towns or farms, other parts of Australia, too. I am wishing I could give you a big hug! Tell Ana it is between friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

