Thursday’s Doors ~ November 12, 2015 (Post Office in Magnetic Springs)

Image

image

This post office may be one of the
smallest I have seen in awhile.

It is located directly across the street
from the Magnetic Springs Cafe.

Notice white pillars,
solemn
and standing
watch.

Almost like
miniature model
train set version,
United States
Post Office.

There are six steps leading
to the door, strong glass
framed, assuming in
sturdy stainless
steel.

Not sure if important
to note, but did not
think there is a
special sloped
entrance.

Who knows,
Maybe
“Handicapped
Accessible”
not required
at all federal
buildings?

Red, white and blue flowers,
small town’s patriotic symbols,
planted in a garden to the left.

The city of Magnetic Springs, Ohio
was a booming destination
place with hotels to stay
in the late 1800’s,
all the way until
vaccines were
frequently
prevalent.

People came to bathe
and feel renewed in
the sulphur springs.

In the 1920’s, during Prohibition
this town again had its “heyday.”

The hotels and tourist
attractions, torn down.

People who had
flocked for curative
powers, moved away
and stopped visiting.

As of the 2010 census,
Magnetic Springs is now
considered a “village”
of less than 400 people.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Observations
and photograph
taken by Robin.

***************
Thank you for reading
about this simple door,
you may be interested
in other choices to see.
Norm Frampton’s
Thursday’s Doors
are presented on
fellow bloggers’
Posts and his, too.
Please check his
blog and find links
to other doors at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

46 responses »

  1. Back when it was built the likelihood of having disability access would have been very unlikely I would think. Thankfully most buildings now have access. How cute that the area is classified as a ‘village’ 😊

    • I thought many were supposed to create access when the U.S. Disabilities Act was passed through the Congress.
      Just a thought. . . maybe antiquity for a private home may “fly” but if this town had a disabled Veteran, they may improve the situation. . .
      Good day and enjoy, Jen! I am so glad the week is progressing, slow though this may be occurring. πŸ™‚

    • The little bitty post office did make me smile, Colleen! Like playing with a doll house with a grandie. β™‘
      The lunch at Sylvia’s cafe, then seeing the quaint “village” was definitely a fun experience. πŸ™‚

    • Some countries may not have regulations, but U.S. passed the Disabilities Act. We could not have public buildings without accomodations, like Civil Rights, Derrick, we would not wish to discriminate. Maybe they have special ramp in the back. . . If a veteran lived in this village who was paralyzed, you see, he or she may need to visit the post office. . . Maybe there is a way around this. Thanks for weighing in snd I support Jen, 99% of the time. πŸ™‚ I sure do love her! Happy Thursday to you, Derrick.

    • Thanks, for letting me know about your past position. I am also happy this place, with its door has “appeal!” It is kept in a decent shape and I liked it’s little red, white and blue garden, too. Happy soon to be weekend, Dan. πŸ™‚

  2. It may be small, but its symbolic pillars remind us of its important duty to deliver letters, and more. I loved the film ‘The Postman’. Here in france, I wish they would remember what their first duty is. They seem to be forgetting while they’re busy becoming banks.

    • I think this is a valid point, Jill. The little post office would not be able to handle holiday lines! πŸ™‚ The word “charming” certainly fits this building and thank you for this. πŸ™‚

    • I used the word cute about describing this to my friends and Mom. Like a “doll house” version of a Post Office. πŸ™‚ I love your “teenie weensie,” description, Joey. β™‘

    • I like the way everyone had the same positive feeling about this little building. Your using “adorable” and saying it had “so much charm” are sweet descriptions. Thanks, Karin. πŸ™‚

    • It is a wonderful world of diverse eccentricities, Jenny. So glad you found this post and door interesting. I think it would be cool to see the sulphur springs and the gambling atmosphere, sounds so fascinating. I wish there were a documentary about Magnetic Springs. You just wonder if there are any ghosts carrying on behind closed doors. πŸ˜‰

  3. I wondered if maybe it was on one of the historical registers, since I believe historic buildings are exempt from ADA requirements… I didn’t find that, but I did find this interesting article on the Magnetic Springs post office when it looked like it might be shut down in 2011. Seems like it’s on a shoestring budget as it is…

    http://wosu.org/2012/news-archive/2011/07/28/if-post-office-closes-tiny-town-would-be-down-to-one-storefront/

    • Look at you my fine Squirrel Research Cadet. πŸ™‚ I think the best part of blogging is having friends fill in our holes and pick up our slack. A very big thank you, E.S. β™‘

    • Your thoughtful comments made a big impression on me, Maniparna. This Post Office does provide connections. I will always prefer a letter in the mail than any emails sent. πŸ™‚

    • Magnetic Springs from Delaware, Ohio is probably only 15 to 20 minutes away. The only time I was there with my friend, Jenny, to eat in her stepmother’s, Sylvia’s Magnetic Springs Cafe.
      I stood outside and took the photo for the post last week and then turned to see the Post Office. When opportunity knocks. . . πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

