Spinach is good for Popeye

Standard

image

Felicia was impressed
as a health and wellness
coach and healthy food
advocate with boys who
regularly request fresh
vegetables, eating spinach.

Aunt Felicia with nephews,
Robin’s grandsons,
Skyler and
Micah.
::::::::
Cozy moments are the best!
What would we be surprised
to find out that you snack on?

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

43 responses »

  1. Awwww fun photo Robin. πŸ˜€ Spinach and rocket salad, radishes, fresh chilli, avocado. Healthy, now for my not so healthy snacks, lollies (sweets) any description! Sugar covered peanuts chocolate almonds. Or dips and Turkish bread and blue vein cheese. I go from one extreme to the other with my tastebuds! The list goes on and on 😊

    • Jen, I appreciate your “smorgasbord” or eclectic choices. I think I have to indulge in one small treat a day. If I am at movies or watching television, I go from salty, savory to sweet. A lot of alliteration there is “S’s.”
      Enjoy your favorite moments every day, and many hugs sent to you on our chilly day here for Friday the 13th! πŸ™‚ β™‘β™‘

      • I am at kids indoor play area with the M & M girls. Wearing them out while Mommy (DIL) has Hendrix napping and does some college work online.
        The boys from photo (and my oldest daughter Carrie, supervising) are having sleepover with 3 other boys. Aunt Felicia has a date.

  2. Lovely picture of that beautiful trio, Robin. I think children can learn to love good food based on what they see their family eat and how the family approaches meals and health. Kids pick up cues we don’t realize we are giving. Clearly something is very right when children embrace vegetables early on! Love this. ❀

    • Thank you, Beth. β™‘ I am glad you believe in wonderful and delicious foods! πŸ™‚ Aunt Felicia promotes healthy and fresh foods, too. Their Mom, my oldest daughter, is the one who had a vegetable garden. She makes a lot of great dishes. Did you see her acorn squash dessert (or breakfast) ?

    • Yes, I can here Popeye’s voice and visualize his funny ways. Spinach is good till the finish. πŸ™‚
      Luanne, I always wondered about how Sweet Pea. Was he a little orphan baby? What is his “back story?”

    • Thanks, Dan. My youngest daughter, Aunt Felicia, has a great influence over those boys. I can hear the wife groaning. I just know she hopes you will love your veggies! πŸ™‚ Pss-st! I love crunchy cheetos.

  3. Good for them, good for you! Personally, I love spinach and eat it every day. Wish I could say the same for my children but I do manage for them to get a bit of veggies each day without too much complaining.

    • Marissa, I admire people who eat fresh spinach. Great job! I do not eat as much plain veggies, tend to use healthy dips like hummus with carrots and celery or spinach with a drizzle of honey and mustard vinaigrette. Aunt Felicia was motivating the boys on this cozy morning. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I serve hummus with my children’s meals…everything seems so trite today, compared to what happened in Paris, doesn’t it? I’m having a hard time getting through my comments.

      • I know, Marissa. So sorry I had already planned to publish Micah posts. I had taken him to the Cub Scout activity 2 weeks ago. Took me awhile to decide how to put it together.

        It did seem trivial and very hard to smile today. Horrible tragedy which is always inexplicable. Why??

        I was “bad” and escaped to see, “Spectre” movie only had to walk one block to our local theater and pay $7 for tocket, pop and popcorn. It was an escape from blogging and reality.
        Hope you and family find a way to cope. Take care.β™‘

    • Pauline, I am happy to share positive photo to promote fresh spinach. πŸ™‚ I am okay with it plain but usually am guilty of adding a dip or dressing to raw veggies. Thanks for enjoying the photo of youngest daughter with her nephews. β™‘

  4. Adorable! I like spinach. I’m really into edamame with chili flakes, sea salt and cilantro. I’ve managed to chop and freeze a lot of cilantro from the garden, but I’ll miss it when it’s gone…Also, spicy kale chips. The Mister and I love them, but we don’t think they should cost $7 a box. 😦

    • I like kske chips, too, Joey! πŸ™‚ Have you tried baking kale, with those same flavors plus olive oil drizzled on them? Felicia does this and manages not to burn them. They crumble and melt in your mouth. It is an unbelievable transition from chewy to crispy and light. I happen to not be very good at making sure they don’t burn. 😦

    • They really do like and eat spinach, Jenny. I had a photo with them looking a bit like monkeys, spinach hanging out of their lips. πŸ™‚ Another pose they were chewing it, mouth open showing me their green tongues and teeth. They looked at the photos and the boys decided goofy was a “better look.” I decided to let Aunt Felicia orchestrate the picture “shoot” and this is how it turned out since they listened to her suggestion.
      Only thing was, Carrie, their Mommy came home to make turkey, whole wheat noodles, cheese and spinach casserole. . . Spinach was almost all gone!

  5. Aw that’s so impressive!! I wouldn’t touch vegetables as a kid, but my boyfriend and I lived next door to a couple in France who’s kids loveddd vegetables. They were pretty awesome parents, so I’m assuming you must be too!

    • Thank you for this great comment. The neighbors with healthy children sound like good examples. I am half good example but the one in thecphoto, my youngest daughter and the boys’ Mommy (not pictured) are even better examples. I am the Nana who cheers them on, dear.

  6. If it is true when people say, ‘You are what you eat,’ then I must be nuts. I snack on peanuts, cashews, and sometimes almonds. And yes, I know peanuts are actually legumes, but let’s not be picky. πŸ™‚ – Mike

Leave a Reply

