Dragonfly among roots

Image

       *                 Here I Am                     *
                    ….                      ….                           

image

I am not poisonous,
nothing harmful,
zero mean acts,
no stings,
bites or
pain.

Symbol of numerous
positive meanings,
but some nicknames
don’t reveal true selves.

All around the world,
countries identify
dragonflies by
various aliases.

Japan associates
Summer + Autumn
seasons with
brave dragonflies
and damselflies.

The Samurai give
symbols of power,
agility, and best
of all:  Victory.

China attributes
Good luck charms,
Prosperity, and
Harmony.

Native Americans
choose dragonflies
as symbols or
signs of
Purity,
Speed and
Happiness.

Europe attaches
Dragon’s magic,
Witches animal
to these flying
marvels.

Australia labels
“horse stinger,”
when actually
help horses by
eating pests.

Wales, Welsh
consider them,
“Snake’s servants.”
Helping stitch
up wounds.

Portugal gives power
unleashed to the
Dragonflies:
“Eye pokers,”
“Eye snatchers.”
Never fear misnomers.

Sweden has strange
characteristics for
these gentle insects.
Ability to check for
bad souls, sneak up
on children who tell
lies, and adults who
curse or scold.
When detected they
may stitch up eyes,
mouths and ears.

300 million years
Existence.
Myths,
Truths,
Legends.

General symbols
Change,
Maturity,
Self-realization,
Deeper meaning.
Association with water.

The eyes use 80%
of brain, they only
Fly a fraction of
Life.

Dragonfly nymphs’
Message of their
Fragile lives~
“Live life to the fullest.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~
photo by reocochran,
research by robin o. cochran.

> > > insect #4 < < <

36 responses »

  1. I was ignorant till reading this. We have lots of dragonflies in our garden. I love to see them, but if the large ones fly too close I get very nervous. You have given many new ways for me to look at them.

    • You show interest in all ares of nature and history of your country. I like your posts, V.♡ I am happy to have shown you a few new pieces of information. 🙂 Hope you and yours have a peaceful, lovely weekend, dear.

  2. I never knew anyone thought anything but good about dragonflies! I am so happy when I see them in our yard, as it is a sign of a thriving ecosystem. Nice poem and educating people about insects, very few of which are pests, is such a good thing to do, Robin.

    My cousin Deanna is a biologist and she always, from the time she was very young, treated insects with respect and helped me to understand how beneficial most of them are. Now I am just as respectful of them as I am of animals.

    Nice post. xx

  3. 🙂 I wrote this in August. I actually have a photo – but I am still not adept to show…

    Visitor

    After the storm
    the petrichor rose from the ground
    peppering my noise.
    I could almost taste the dirt of the yard.
    My plastic shoes slip-slided
    as I rounded the back of the house
    to take a photo of the dragonfly
    who was drying its wings
    hugging the screen of the patio door…

    JP/dh

    Your Dragon fly looks stunning. I wonder if the black ‘bags’ are egg sacks?
    http://www.insectidentification.org/dragonflies-and-damselflies.asp
    Ah I think your Dragon is a Black Saddlebag Skimmer!

    Better writer? Just different. New words from Wordle lists help 😉

    Best to you and your family for Gobble Day 🙂

  4. Wow, I didn’t know so much about dragonflies. I sometimes I get scared when I see them but now that you have assured me they do no harm, I will try to be braver around them. They are magical creatures though.

  5. Gosh, great research Robin – I didn’t know most of this! When I lived in England I taught in a school situated on farmland and for a short time every summer the wheat fields would turn a shimmering blue-green with millions of dragon flies hovering over them. It was magical. I used to love to walk among them, they would open a path for me and a very few would brush my skin and settle on me for a brief moment ….

  6. You so frequently open my eyes to new information and ideas, and with poetry no less. I am impressed, and now much better informed about dragonflies, thanks to your research. – Mike

Leave a Reply

