Joys

Standard

image

What joys will you find
when you come for a
visit to my little place?

Sheer joys,
Listed
in order
of importance.

~one~
My daughter in law sewed
a delightful pillow for me.
Upon it, no truer words:
“My greatest joys in life,
Call me, Nana.”

~two~
My youngest daughter
gave to me this perfect
shade of orchid.
The tints reflect the
colors found in my
third “joyful” item.
To me, the flower
reflects thankfulness
for my
children:
Caroline ~
James ~
Felicia.
Another gift from the
flowers reflects God’s
creations, found in nature.

~three~
My Dad was not only a
scientist and engineer,
he was a painter.
Most of my Dad’s artwork
included bold, broad strokes
of storms and ships
upon angry seas.
A few interesting pieces
included his vision of
Futuristic nuclear flying
forms of transportation.
Another area focused upon
his thoughts on
ancient
astronauts.
One summer in 1987,
my Dad painted this
placid painting of
Point Light,
Rockport, Massachusetts.
(Located in the upper
right corner.)

~four~
I rotate art, special
to different seasons.
Mom was a teacher,
often changed her
classroom and home
to fit the Four Seasons:

Usually, robin’s come out
in the Spring on end table.
I brought this out again for
your view and visit today.
The larger example of
one of Mom’s friend
and potter’s work,
Mama robin and
her fledgling.

In Summer, a mason jar of
beach glass sits on table.
It holds memories
of Lake Erie
beach walks.

In Autumn, I have pumpkins
made of pottery and
a little scarecrow.

For Winter, I have a pretty
Mexican porcelain piece,
two light blue and cream
sledders on a sleigh.
It reminds me of Spanish
Lladro and Nao artisans.

What items of joy
are ones which
hold messages?

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

52 responses »

  1. i love these very special things, robin. i have a few sprinkled around my cottage as well. the older i’ve gotten , the more i only keep the things that have meaning for me or just because i enjoy them for their beauty.

  2. So many special things. I’m glad that you take the time to note their importance and share them with us. I had to go back up and look at the painting. When I first looked at the photo, I was focused on the pillow. the painitng seemed ordinary until you told us who painted it. Have a great day Robin.

    • Thanks, V. for saying this was beautiful. β™‘ This may seem a little like a superficial type of post but Thanksgiving is coming and “I was counting my blessings.” They are not so much things but the thoughtful, loving family who were my real focus.

    • April, I have been amused at some of your knitting projects (one you said is like “morphing” or something out of control πŸ™‚ ) but I do see the passion you feel for your craft. It takes talent and patience to knit! There are many people who fund it soothing, too. β™‘

      • I find it very soothing. It’s how I worked through grief. It’s my yarn hoard. I have way too many skeins of yarn, but I’m working to deplete my supply.

  3. Joy is often the result of love, and I can see where your joy comes from. Your collection of keepsakes is like having members of your family sitting quietly with you even while you sit alone.

    We have not held on to a lot of sentimental items. When we downsized so that we could travel, we offered the most valuable of our possessions that we could not carry to family. What they didn’t want got sold or donated including must hanging artwork and other collectibles. Our living space is almost Spartan now by comparison. However, I do have photographs of family. Those are easy to pack, sans frames.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Robin. I hope you have good weather and make it to the zoo! – Mike

    • Mike, you were catching my “drift” all along. When I sit here in the sun I am warm, feel cozy and read. I may glance up and have the company of those who showed their caring to give me special items. Thanksgiving means “counting our blessings” and your having photos and Florence by your side, you also find contentment. β™‘

  4. I already feel right at home. How about a cup of tea? Ha, ha! Seriously Robin, how nice it is that you have such wonderful people in your life and some terrific reminders of them in your home.

    • Marissa, it is fine with me if you would like one of 3 kinds of tea. There is “Tazo” spearmint/mint/pinch of tarragon herbal to relax, almost like Celestial Seasonings “Sleepy Time” tea, a black pekoe tea with orange spice and there is regular Lipton’s. I have medium bold coffee with French vanilla creamer in the fridge. You could put your feet up on my chaise lounging sofa part. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! that pillow is so beautiful, brimming with love! You are truly blessed to have such loving persons around you. Love that precious painting too by your dad. Hope you are having a wonderful Thanksgiving week. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Balroop for warm comments and thoughtful wishes. I work 2 more long days at an auto part warehouse but will be off then for 4 days spent with my Mom. I am looking forward to Thanksgiving.
      Hope you have something special to look forward to, dear Balroop.
      My son and his wife are coming up and sharing their kids with us. Mom will love 3 month old baby boy. I will get photos on my phone. πŸ™‚

    • Colleen, this was my way of counting my blessings out loud. Thank you for enjoying my sunny corner and I meant to be inviting to any who would like to visit. So happy “you got me.” πŸ™‚

    • I am blessed, as you are in your artist’s haven, inside warm and colorful while outside comfy with more cheery colors, Pauline. I like how you make the most of your spaces, too. β™‘

  6. Every item I choose to keep in our home holds memories of some sort or another. Gifts from the kids, from friends, from us to us. Not attached to our ‘stuff’ means we enjoy, for whatever time we are able, those reminders of tender times and thoughts of dear ones. Aloha, Robin!

  7. Oh, I love it, Robin. I have little treasures all around my house too. I keep some in every room so that when I see them, they give me joy and lift me up. One in particular is in my bathroom. It is a picture of my maternal grandmother and grandfather on their wedding day. My mom always said I reminded her of her mom and apparently her dad was quite smitten with me from the stories mom would tell. He died when I was young and so I don’t remember him, and since we lived in California and my grandmother lived here in Texas we didn’t see her too often, and she died when I was 12. But I remembering loving her a lot. And my daughter who has never looked much like me looks so much like Nanny in her wedding picture. Lots of times when I walk by, I reach out and touch the photo and blow them a kiss. I couldn’t begin to name all the treasures like that. My sister brought a friend to my house to visit one day and she wanted me to show her my house and garden. As she left she said you have angels everywhere! And I do, inside and outside. I love angels and like that think they watch over me. Thanks for sharing this and reminding me how much our treasures add to our joys and daily lives. Hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. Our special things… I don’t have room for anything that isn’t special. My space has only what is functional and what is special.
    I very much enjoy old things, cherished heirlooms, precious art the children make, souvenirs from trips, gifts.
    One of my friends had an enormous purge and she took a photo of pretty much everything she owned, narrated their stories, and then passed them on.
    I love the way your space is just like you, Robin. It’s warm, feminine, comfortable. It’s a safe place, I can tell. I see your colors. Lovely, just like you.

  9. Pingback: Joys | Peace, love and patchouli

    • My dear friend, guess what? I was out of town and missed this lovely addition to my post. Your mentioning the baby grandson made me smile, too.I write on your post and we have followed each other for quite some time! Darn wordpress, I found you in the awaiting approval “holding cell.” Please know I really liked this “shout out.” Thank you! β™‘

  10. Oh, that is a nice painting. Can you post the nuclear ones? My son is going to invent new forms of transport, he says. That would be cool to see.

Leave a Reply

