Baby Hendrix, age 3 months

Image

image

I have started calling him,
“Little guy”
or
“Little man.”
He has amazing giggles
Funny wrinkled brow
Expressions,
Studying the world
Through new, fresh
Pair of eyes.

If you could go back,
Would you wish to
Be childlike and
Stay innocent,
or Be aware,
Informed about the
World and it’s
Beauty and Tragedy?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photo taken by
Hendrix’s Daddy,
My son
James Matthew.
October 31, 2015.
Notes on the experience
by reocochran,
~ November, 2015 ~

59 responses »

  1. Being a grandmother opens the mind to the world in amazing ways, as your poem shows. When we’re the parent, we’re too involved in the ‘doing’ of parenting. But as a grandparent, we can observe and note the amazing innocence and beauty of new life. I’d like to be able to re-experience that innocence, unaware of evil and fear, for at least a little while each day. I think it would help us discover pure joy.

    • It would certainly be a great wish to have answered, Pam. You would like to have just a little time each day, to be “child like” with all the wonders of innocence, joy, curiosity, purity. . .
      It might also keep our hope alive.
      I apologize, on break at work, I rushed through yours and Jen’s replies back. Tonight, I am so glad I didn’t make too many mistakes to correct. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I appreciate the time you took to contemplate the question and sharing how it feels to be a grandparent. You were “spot on” with describing how I rushed around “doing” parental responsibilities and as a Nana, have the time to pay attention and truly absorb the details.

    • I think keeping childlike qualities is a great idea, Dan. I like being “grown up” and yet explore and enjoy much of life, with moments of wonderment. Thanks for yhe “cutie” comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • He is 16 pounds already! ๐Ÿ™‚ Beth, thanks for being here. Wish I had known your “grandies” as bsbies. They are still precious and young, though.โ™กโ™กโ™ก

    • Jill, I hesitated to post this one. So solemn, but Trista sends me these monthly photos. He weighed 16 pounds, which he is only breastfeeding fed so this really impressed me.
      I have one he is studying a hanging bird on his car seat which I took at a double birthday party. Landen turned 10 and Marley turned 7. (It amuses me, so I may post.) Trying not to flood the posts, though, with baby photos.

    • My daughter in law sends me monthly photos, Balroop. This one to me is rather solemn and mostly posted to show how quickly he is chsnging. Thanks so much for your sweet words. Do you have grandchildren, Balroop? Just getting to know you more. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yes Robin I have 4 lovely grandchildren and I take care of 2 of them as I stay near by. They are 2.8 years and 1 year old. The youngest ones are twins but they are far away at the east coast, just 6 months, met them just once when they were born.

    • I am glad to hear of the little children in your life, Balroop. This is too bad you have not seen the 6 month old babies (twins) but once. Still young and time will tell, Balroop.
      The two children you see more often are so lucky to have you there to watch them. I hope that your two grandchildren will always have the chance to stay close to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • They would be coming to meet their grandparents next summer. We are looking forward to that. The monsters who came into my life as blessings are always around me and we hope they would continue to.

    • Jenny, thanks for telling me your son’s name. ๐Ÿ™‚ My oldest daughter is Caroline Marie and I felt she and her brother had British sounding names. My Dad’s family had English-Scottish roots. Then, wanted to call my last daughter, “Gretchen,” she looked German (which my Grandma was) and my husband came into the room and saw the name on her bassinet. He took the name book out, we were listening to music and “Feliz Navidad” was playing and so now Felicia is happy not named Gretchen. I had a dear Girl Scout friend with this beautiful name. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sylvia, your great heron is a fantastic bird you feature. I am trying to not go overboard on posting baby pics! :)you it makes me feel better when such nice comments are posted. Thank you for using little guy in your comment, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hendrix’s Mommy takes monthly photos and I would like the smiles I see him make, to be in all of the posts. This is nice of you to call him cute, Natalie. He is a calm and sweet baby. I am excited they are driving up nearly 3 hours (and driving back equalky far since son works on Friday.) to see my Mom for Thanksgiving and even, since my son cooks, bringing turkey and all the “fixings.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I cannot wait for my Mom yo see him.
      Happy Thanksgiving, Natalie. โ™ก

  2. Robin, This is such a cute little guy with the most gorgeous eyes! He is so alert at 3 months too, posing for the picture:) Give him an extra hug from me the next time you see him.
    Enjoy all your grandchildren!

    • Sandhya, this was a special Thanksgiving with Mom meeting Hendrix and also, seeing the little girls, his sisters again. She could not stop smiling the next 2 days and talking about them. My son and brother cooked but was proud of son sitting snd listening to his dear grandma. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope yours was lovely holiday, too.

  3. Hendrix is a treasure. Look at those ‘Kiss Me Cheeks’! Such a great addition to your family legacy.

    I would not wish to go back to any stage of my life unless it was on a condition that I could return immediately to the present. In that case, there are a couple of people I would go back to visit in order to apologize. – Mike

Leave a Reply

