Nature’s Wonders

Image

image

This reminds me of a painting.
American and English
artists from the
late Nineteenth century,
early Twentieth century,
used visual art in their
“Luminism,”
“Romanticism”
portraits and
landscapes.

Two artist examples,
Hudson River School,
New York City, NY:

Thomas Cole ~ (1801 – 1848)

Albert Bierstadt ~ (1830 – 1902)

I like nature portrayed in
photographs, paintings,
drawings, textiles,
ceramics and
sculptures.

How do you
Like your art?

* * * * *
Photo by reocochran,
Thoughts by robin

62 responses »

  1. What a lovely photo! Wow! I like art in all kinds of ways from folk art like shadow boxes to rare paintings in a museum. I like textiles and ceramics and pen and ink drawings of architecture. Pretty much everything haha.

    • Thanks for the compliment for the photo, Sandhya. I am glad you love art in all forms. There are only a few artistic and creative pieces which I did not like but would never censor or judge other’s tastes. πŸ™‚

  2. This is a great shot Robin. Could be a painting for sure. I love nature in art but probably my favorite is of people, particularly women and children. I love looking at their expressions and trying to figure out what the artist is trying to convey.

    • Marissa, sorry that I wrote the wrong name in my earlier reply. I just came back and saw my mistake. I really like how you mentioned your loving looking at people’s photos, especially women and children. I like old photos and family ones, too. They “tell stories,” through their expressions.
      I think your response was interesting, I didn’t even think of the point of view of the artist or photographer, Marissa.

    • Yes, I probably should say this on my post, Dianne! πŸ™‚ I like lifelike but usually like the softness of impressionism. Just each preference makes me smile to hear how different people choose art. This was fun! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, Dianne.β™‘

  3. Art is so subjective isn’t it Robin – what anyone chooses to hang on their wall says a lot about the person – and their age πŸ™‚ I love the Pre-Raphaelites for some reason [deeply hidden,unbridled romantic probably] but also the old masters, those from the Renaissance, the greats from the early 20th century and even a few of today’s artists……… I love a good photograph, though I hang none, I prefer original to copies on my wall. Have a lovely week Robin xo

    • I am glad I didn’t try to respond to everyone at once. You can tell when I feel rushed, Pauline. You are a friend who would notice this, too. Thank you for listing specifics in styles and periods of art you prefer.
      It is interesting to find out individual interests.
      I like how you respect and enjoy the old Masters. I don’t think I would have expected the romantic Pre-Raphaelites. I like this period for the depiction and details of the characters, as if they were telling a story in each painting. I could imagine dramatic opera music playing, too.
      Over the years, a few friends, my daughter and a couple of men I have known, all have been wonderful at spending hours looking and examining splendid art in different city museums and galleries. If this were possible, I could imagine us discussing paintings and art pieces and sitting on a bench to really take in what we were seeing.
      Your taking classes to work on techniques is what I hope to do when I retire one day. πŸ™‚

    • Wow, this choice as my best photo makes me smile! πŸ™‚ Thanks, Maniparna. You capture beautiful photographs, then write in disciplined forms like Haiku and poems that actually rhyme. I admire your ability to do so. β™‘

    • Or the natural setting that a great artist would make their own. πŸ™‚ The lighting was really unique when I took this. I had not taken a picture with these tones before.
      You find rain or other interesting ways to “change up” your photos to make them really stand out, Beth.

  4. I like nature in art also. In addition, I like crazy colorful art, individual interpretations of Van Gogh’s sunflowers, impressionist’s drawings and paintings. I actually like quite a bit of art, ha ha! Great post, Robin!

    • I appreciate your letting us in on your art interests, Lana.
      Nature seems to connect many of us here.Your suggestions of having individuals interpret famous artists is a great one. Sunflowers and Van Gogh would bring beautiful results. πŸ™‚
      Marc Chagall, Monet, Gauguin (who painted Island women) and other bold artists do attract my eyes while looking at art works on museum walls. I like how you call your interest – crazy colorful art. πŸ™‚
      Art works well with writing. Even with preschoolers, I would find magazine photographs and ask them to find one they liked and tell me a story about it. The parents always enjoyed this section of their Portfolios st parent teacher conferences, Lana. They make good story starters for writers, too. πŸ™‚

      • That sounds like a great activity, and I might try that some time. Yes I love fun, colorful, not always serious art. One of my favorite YouTube artists is Art Sherpa. I have been practicing, ha ha, but I am lacking terribly. It is fun and relaxing to have “craft time.”

  5. Oh I love art. Love love love. In all its splendor…rarely post-modern tho…
    I love most the impressionists the symbolists, the surrealists. Give me the guys who painted from 1850-1950 and maybe a few women as well, but just a few. (sexist art lover) (partial to the French)
    But oh, then I love Baroque and Rococo and well…
    I’ve got to stop. I love art.

    • Yeah, Joey! Art is something which connects so much of us. We may write but some things like art just need to Be in our lives. We may create art, our kids do well with homemade art and then, yes the Impressionists, Baroque and Rococo. I am not sure if I were as able to specify dates, but you know which ones “apply” to your tastes. Thank you for being the last thing I read tonight. πŸ™‚ I will be by tmrrw, Joey. β™‘

  6. All sorts of art gets my vote! Particularly love sculpture – modern, preferably. Picasso, Matisse, Van Gogh – the Pre-Raphs, the Impressionists, Modigliani…the list goes on. Not thrilled by dreary ancient religious stuff, much of which is displayed in our National Gallery. But always ready to waft around any art gallery anywhere…bliss!

    • Someday, maybe will be seeing sane sculptures abd admiring then in a museum. Well, this is a dream of mine, to visit England and a fee other parts over there. I went the high school Spanish Spring Break route, I lived Picasso museum and the National Mueums in Spain. I like Salvador Dali, too. The French impressionism period is beautiful in my mind. . . I agree, “All sorts of Art gets my vote,” Jenny! πŸ™‚
      The only ancient stuff I like is primitive cave drawing or knights armour. . . King Arthur and his Round Table, the shields, mesh and metal “stuff.” I am up late and need to say, “Fare thee well, dear Jenny.” β™‘

  7. Nature in herself is a superb art form. She has been inspiring millions of painters, photographers and poets. Nothing can match her hues and moods. This beautiful picture bears a testimony to the fact that the best art master is around us all the time!
    I love art in its most raw form.
    Love and hugs dear Robin.

    • Love and hugs sent back to you, Balroop. You might just take these lovely words and make them part of your next nature post. They hold such a deep respect for nature’s beauty and light. Thank you, sincerely.

  8. I don’t think I have a favorite art form. Something may strike me that I really enjoy (painting, photo, drawing, sculpture) and nothing else really does from the same art form. It’s the piece that gets to me, not really the style.

    It would be interesting to take this photo and have different artists paint it, and see what their different interpretation/representation of it would be.

    • I am glad you like art because I like the art you draw and share with us, Colleen. I like the idea of people attempting to paint this gilded scenery. I love the setting sun’s golden lights on it. I don’t mess with my photos. I just am grateful they come out. Hugs, Robin

    • Thank you, Karin. I really hope to see your posts and read more. I spent an hour tonight (it is nearly midnight here) trying to respond to 40 plus people found in Mt awaiting spprov as l area of wordpress. I realize I am ultimately responsible but they are people I write on their blogs intermittently. Thus, my visit to see your new west post will be tmrrw night. Peace and gratitude for your liking my post and POV. πŸ™‚

    • Autumn sunsets are really golden or on fire, Kirt. This natural setting was where I was eating a sandwich in my car for dinner, about to go to book club at the working farm. The golden rays were brilliant and I didn’t dare enhance or change it. Don’t mess with Mother Nature, unless you know what you are doing! (Which you do, πŸ™‚ but I dont!)

  9. Beautiful photo! I love all the things you mentioned- my personal obsession right now is of tree scenes carved in wood- and also I loveee close-up photography of insects just doing their own little thing- it’s like a secret pass into another world.

Leave a Reply

