Homemade Tortellini Bake

Image

image

Oldest daughter was off to shop,
Stopped by with “dinner to go.”

My little apartment stove,
Old kitchen towel shows
Coffee and desserts.

Daughter, Carrie, notes that
This is tortellini found in
Freezer department of
the grocery store.

She defrosts in the fridge.
She opens two large jars,
home-canned tomatoes,
pours into large
Dutch Oven.
(Large cooking pot)

She adds fried onions,
softened in skillet,
a clove of crushed
garlic and light
spices of
oregano,
parsley,
+ basil.

Once ingredients are bubbling,
she dumps unfrozen cheese-
stuffed tortellini into sauce.

To give my “to go dinner”
to me, she placed in a
Tupperware bowl
topped with
mixed shredded
Italian cheeses:
mozzarella +
parmesan.

I reheated in my own
everyday stoneware
bowl. The design is
called ~ “Morocco,”
“Casual Settings
by Oneida.”

Details of items
featured
in photo:

1995:
20 years
passed.

Hershey’s
“Vintage
Edition #3,”
Collectible tin.

Here’s what’s
on the tin’s
bottom:

“The advertisements featured
on this canister appeared in a
variety of promotional materials
beginning around 1920.
This montage is a tribute to all
the quality Hershey chocolate
products people have grown to
love throughout the years.”

“Container made in England.”

The candle holder is not that old.
Found at Pier 1, usually holds a
Taller and “next size bigger” candle.

This is a somewhat typical
Evening at my house.
Only difference was
I didn’t have to run
past Carrie’s
house.
* * β™‘ * *

I added a simple field greens
salad, iced vanilla Chai tea,
and later eat chocolate.

What are you likely to
eat for dinner tonight?

Today is
National
Pearl Harbor
Remembrance Day.

It is also,
First day of
Channukah.

65 responses »

    • Jill, doesn’t adding cheese make everything taste better? I forgot to mention, in my recipe, that my portion was brought over unbaked so I put in microwave, while theirs is transferred into an 8 Γ—11″ baking dish to get that brown crusty edge my grandsons, Sky and Micah so love! πŸ™‚

    • Juan, we go to a coffee and tea exchange so not sure of “my” vanilla chai tea’s “name brand.” It comes in tea bag form. When i get home i put the tea bags in a Zip Loc bag on a dry, cool shelf. Box gors into recycling.
      I boil the tea and then either chill it overnight, in each cup or I pour over ice. I also make my pot of coffee on Sunday, mix in sweetener and flavored cream, pour into 5 coffee cups, chilling on top shelf of fridge. Same with my sandwiches or this week, bought a large pizza and bagged up 5 bags, one slice of pizza a day for lunch. As a single Mom of 3 kids, i learned organizing on Sunday made for much less hectic lives. πŸ™‚
      Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts serve vanilla chai tea but Bigelow and Bolthouse Farms tea companies also produce it. I bet if you peruse your bigger grocery stores you will find this, Juan. πŸ™‚ β™‘

    • Sylvia, I left out the real reason it is called a bake. Lol! πŸ˜€
      My daughter brought me the simmered portion in the Tupperware and then I put in the microwave. She transfers the boys and her portions into a baking dish and outs in oven while they do their homework. The boys like that some of the edges get crunchy snd the cheese turns a golden brown…thanks for thinking this is poetic, dear. πŸ™‚

    • Marissa, I’d we ever meet up, this tin will be yours. I may even write a sticker on the bottom. No kidding, our family is weird but knowing your family’s chocolate fixation, it belongs with y’all. β™‘
      This would be so much more baked looking if you dropped by Carrie’s! She takes the part she doesn’t pack up for me and dumps into a buttered baking dish, puts in oven at 350 degrees until edges are golden brown and some of the tortellini touching the glass gets crispy. Those boys like crunching on the baked edges. Now, isn’t that even more delicious doinding? πŸ™‚

      • The very gesture of giving the tin to me is too kind. I would love it but may have a problem convincing myself I actually deserved it.
        As for the tortellini, yep, hope those boys leave a space at the table for me…with an extra big plate!!

      • I appreciate your declining the tin, but if you saw my closets full of tubs, you may feel you were giving to me, one small part of “space,” Marissa. β™‘

    • Norm, thanks! If I had gone to Carrie’s house, you would like to see her finished product baked dish.
      Since she gives me the Tupperware of simmered tortellini with cheese on top and expects me to turn on my oven and bake it. It does look pretty when golden brown with crunchy edges. I am more of a microwave cook, these days. πŸ™‚

    • Lana, homemade hamburgers are also delicious! Thank you for liking my decorating arrangement. The brown printed towel is covering my blender. In the summer I use it a lot, probably could put in a cabinet since I just don’t make smoothies or margaritas in Fall and Winter. πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed my meal. I miss eating garlic bread which when I had kids would hope it would fill in the spaces between main entree, salad and milk.

    • Hi, sweety! I have been meaning to see how you are doing. Thank you for stopping by. Sure, when you get here, we will drive 10 minutes to Carrie’s since I know she makes enough for leftovers. πŸ™‚ Hers is actually BAKED while my portion, I didn’t have patience to turn oven on and bake. I microwave much more than bake. Maybe more environmentally sound for one person. πŸ™‚

  1. that looks and sounds delicious. All food made/eaten with those you love is automatically more delicious.Tonight, I have not a clue what will be for dinner … most of my nights lately have been like that, but I’ve yet to go hungry.

    • Eli, those girls probably are very helpful in setting the table and may cook for you, if not now, soon! πŸ™‚
      I especially like the thought that “food made/eaten with those you love is automatically more delicious.”
      Even though it sounds silly, I think refrigerator magnets could be mass produced with a simple table with your quote and photo (or drawing) of a family around table and sold for $5 apiece. Smiles, Robin

    • I would love to have you over, Natalie. We would have Carrie make the tortellini simmering in the pot, transfer it into a baking dish and layer cheeses over it and bake in 350 degrees until cheese is golden brown. For company,β™‘ I would offer you salad and we would have whole wheat garlic toast while we waited for the casserole to heat and brown lightly.
      Will you like red wine, sparkling grape juice, tea or coffee?
      She expects me to put my one serving in the oven in my smaller Corelle baking dish. I just usually use the microwave for one dish.:)

    • Thank you so much, Amy. β™‘ I am not a food blogger but I like to cover a variety of subjects. Food is a common denominator and St work, we like to ask each other, “What’s for dinner?” πŸ™‚

    • Pasta bakes are the best “go to” when you want something flavorful and filling. πŸ™‚ Joey, I am going back to check patterns and missed some comments. Thank you!

  2. Robin, I’m sitting here tonight with the beginning of a cold and your pasta bake and beautiful table setting are warm and comforting! I loved the way you described your evening. Warm and loving! Very nice.

Leave a Reply

