Crystals’ Persuasion

Standard

image

Stopping to see intricate details,

crystalline “beads” on weeds,

upon stems of thistles.

Diamonds gilding weeds

make me smile. . .

Diamonds may last forever,

But ice crystals melt!

It appeared eerie, foggy and frosty,

traveling through Delaware County,

up into Marion County on a

brisk Saturday morn.

The roads covered in drifting fog,

the grass had white frosting,

as well as branches of trees.

I took a series of cemetery photos,

graves and headstones with

white “powdered sugar coating”

decorated surfaces.

It may be January post material,

not traditional, cheery holiday fare.

I could not wait to share a few

glimpses of what some may

consider a “hoar” frost.

*  *  *  *  *  *

Photo by reocochran,
seasonal weather
observations
by Robin.

Thank you Tommy James
and the Shondells for
their 1969 song,
“Crystal Blue
Persuasion.”

~~~~~~~

A “hoarfrost” or hoary frost
is the “congelation of dew”
on plants, grass and
nature’s wonders.

~~~~~

Any strange or
delightful
weather
sights
to
r
e
p
o
r
t
?

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

58 responses »

  1. This is a beautiful photo Robin, and I love your desciption/reaction. Thanks too for pointing out the song implied by the title. I thought of a song, but I couldn’t think of the title/band.

    • I am behind in looking back at posts. I hope uou don’t mind a late reply. Your comments about winter and cemeteries were very nice. I agree with frosty weather seems to have an eerie sense of forboding and beauty. πŸ™‚

  2. We witnessed quite a bit of roadside hoar frost last week driving through Oklahoma in the wake of an ice storm. It is pretty alongside the road. Not so much when the road is icy. We lucked out most of the way across the country except for the heavy rain we hit at night between Memphis and Nashville. South Carolina has been jacketless weather for the past few days, so I am not complaining. – Mike

  3. Hoary indeed!
    We’ve had little so far and I hope it keeps up that way.
    I’m dreaming of a green Christmas.
    Beautiful photo to accompany gorgeous words.

    • You know Natalie, I wrote a poem about Jack Frost last year. It was really pretty and creative but at the time I could not figure how to post photos with my poetic thoughts. Love, Robin

    • Thanks for seeing the title and tie-in, Joey. I used to use music to reach my fellow bloggers more. I didn’t have a clue how to connect photos with my simple flip phone. Not until I got the first one stolen did I figure this out! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

