Thursday’s Doors ~ December 10, 2015 (front doors)

Standard

image

These lighted front doors
are of a very special
“neighbor” of mine.

You may see her
while standing on
my front doorsteps
from apartment building,

Ohio Wesleyan
University’s
Gray Chapel.

The building is made of
blue limestone taken
from nearby old
quarries.

The doors are made of
glass and framed in
steel,
painted
brick red,
found under
an arch-shaped
stone formation.

This building looks like
an American castle.

Classes and concerts
are held within.

A grand organ with tall pipes
resides inside these doors.

This photograph taken,
on evening when
holiday concert
was held.

Many formally dressed
listeners hurrying in,
while I enjoyed
seeing their
attire and
listening to
joyful exchanges.

I have sat on a blanket behind
Gray Chapel for annual lawn
Fourth of July performances by
Central Ohio Symphonic Orchestra.

Also, have paid reasonable prices
taking my children to listen to
performances where students
play beautiful “final recitals”
before they graduate;

Spread their wings.

A past performance attendance,
worth mentioning, was one
my best friend Jenny,
purchased two tickets for
COSO Holiday Concert, 2013.

We listened to lovely music,
Dwight Lenox, singer.
Holiday music lively,
Others nostalgic.

This post is part of
a weekly program,
Host Norm Frampton.
Please check out the
Thursday’s Doors on
his blog and many links
to other doors:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

This is my close up
photograph. Please
check out the eerie
October Harvest Moon
picture of Gray Chapel
and the nearly full view.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

32 responses »

  1. Wonderful doors Robin. I love seeing them backlit by the building and, as I mentioned on the other shot, I love buildings like this and seeing them at night is extra special.

    • Oh, thank you very much with the comments on both posts, Dan. Sometimes the night and dark are wonderful ways to capture something unique in our world. You walk your dog, Maddie and see a wide variety of times of day with her. šŸ™‚

    • Joey, thank you for liking the choice today and the night photograph, too. I took another photo today, from my front porch. The side of Gray Chapel faces my apartment and there is a rod iron bench which faces the lovely towers. šŸ™‚ Really considering another post but realize you get many less views if you overdo posting. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

