Season’s homemade potato soup

Image

image

After Thanksgiving, son shared
homemade potato soup,
chopped potatoes,
creamed flour
and butter,
add milk,
onions,
spices,
celery,
and
ham.
β™‘.

Mom’s old kitchen towel,
her bobbing metal Santa,
seasonal pot holder
and soup spoon.
Dash of salt,
pepper:
Yummy!

I love soup
on chilly
days or
evenings.
Mom says
people like
she, raised
during the
Depression
prefer not to
slurp up soup.

Do you like soup?
What is your favorite
flavor of soup? If you
don’t enjoy soup, what
is your favorite food to
warm you up and keep you
feeling “toasty and warm?”

58 responses »

    • Thanks for saying you are open to any selection of homemade soup, the thicker the better. I agree, I like almost a stew texture and like bread served with it. I enjoy soup mostly in the winter but have enjoyed cold soups in the summer. πŸ™‚

  1. I’m not normally a fan of potato soup but add some ham and I’m there. My wife makes a roasted garlic potato soup that is very good. I prefer clam chowder and I enjoy trying it in new places.

    • Oh, Dan. I love clam chowder, both kinds. The New England kind is my favorite but I had an ex-husband who could make a delicious (“mean”) Manhatten clam chowder.
      Your wife’s roasted garlic potato soup sounds great! πŸ™‚ So yummy! Thanks for adding this to the list of wide variety of soups here in the comments!

  2. You mom’s soup looks delicious. Interesting that she added the comment about not slurping when eating it.
    When it gets nippy outside my wife will cook up a big stock pot of my favorite flavor, chicken vegetable. I like to add hot sauce or diced jalapeΓ±o peppers to mine to give it added zest. – Mike

    • Mike, Florence is amazing. Still baking and cooking. My Mom sort of led me to believe grilling out (which Dad did) and buying things prepared in the deli were ways to relax and not do much work in the kitchen. I do have some bags of frozen veggies in freezer when produce from Farmer’s Market is not open and I will bake in microwave potato or boil whole wheat noodles. I passed all cooking and baking stuff to son and oldest daughter. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for saying chicken and vegetable soup. Great addition to this post, along with spicy additions. My brother took the turkey carcass and made turkey soup with celery, carrots and potatoes. I added red pepper flakes and chili powder. πŸ™‚ Jamie’s potato soup is totally different from Carrie’s. πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE soup! I hardly ever make creamy potato soup, although I used to be famous for it, because it is so labor intensive. I don’t put ham in mine but occasionally grate up sharp cheddar cheese. Yum! I often cook a pot of chicken soup and sometimes cheater soups with canned broth. And sometimes I make a soup creamy by adding a can of evaporated milk and not bother with the butter and corn starch (lumps less than flour). And dumplings! I do the cheater kind of those too, with Jiffy Baking Mix. Now I’m re-thinking my dinner plans…

    • I really like your “short cuts” which yo me are NOT cheating! πŸ™‚ Thanks for telling us some of your secrets. I will buy a couple of cans of evaporated milk since my parents always had these staples on their shelves but I bypass those aisles. Thank you for your great suggestions! πŸ™‚

    • Those are delicious and nutritious soups, so what do we do about this, Sylvia? I rationalize! πŸ™‚ I will say, this is not any worse than a fully loaded baked potato, pot pie or a hamburger. My girlfriends laugh because I do divide food into portions. I was 45 pounds heavier in my 40’s and now, just take smaller portions. It took me 2 years to lose that weight but my doctor was saying I needed to take anticholesterol meds. He gave me a “time limit!” I hated reading the side effects so by losing 20 pounds the first year my number went from 260 total cholesterol reading to 220. The next year, 180! πŸ™‚

      • I don’t have a weight problem, but I do have high cholesterol. The meds as really scary and had a bad effect on me, so I try to control what I eat most of the time. Of course one can’t deprive oneself of delicious fat and carbs all the time. πŸ˜ƒ

      • No, as I mentioned I use a balancing act. Depriving yourself sometimes works against your plans. I think it just naturally is good to enjoy things since we only go through life once! Stress was what brought about my problems but I still think about what is inside our veins, etc. It is not fun getting older but it beats the alternative. πŸ™‚ THANK you, Sylvia.

    • I agree, Progresso is nice change of pace, Marissa. At our Big Lots, which sells things that were over-bought, I like Healthy Choice soups. I found a delicious squash soup from an “un-brand” recently. I need to get back to buy a few more of this kind. I don’t make a lot of homemade soup. Just seems silly being alone. I have the basics for chili soon. Amy’s brand of vegetarian chili beans and fire roasted tomatoes. I may still add ground beef or turkey. One chilly Sunday in January.

      • Yes, Healthy Choice is good too. I do the Campbell’s Healthy Request because there’s less salt. Ah, adventures in soup! You’ll have to let me know how your chili turns out if you decide to make it.

  4. Oooh, I do like soup, and love potato soup!
    My favourites are probably roasted red pepper, and french onion.
    Homemade only: I never eat soup from a can but really love the process of making my own and then having a big pot of leftovers.
    You’re right – it’s very warming and comforting stuff.

    • Jay, I didn’t realize this about you. Since the film fests and other movie reviews don’t feature homemade, I feel lucky I now have an “Inside scoop” on your cooking skills and talent!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing! β™‘ Hope you and the other a-holes, have a fantastic holiday season!

  5. Oh yes! Give me a bowl of soup and some crusty bread and I’m happy!
    Little Moo, who once told me there were too many potatoes in her potato soup, actually asked me to make potato soup for her birthday dinner this year πŸ™‚ So I did. We had a big family dinner. (And that Lalaloopsy cake and ice cream!)
    I’ve grown fond of ham, potato and corn chowder. It seems to be my family’s new favorite thing. It’s easy and keeps well, which explains my fondness.

    • The ham has salt and some natural preservatives which help soup last longer and stay fresher. Or I have read this somewhere. πŸ™‚
      Joey, thank you for this great comment full of fun facts about your family. Sweet Moo once asked for less potatoes but now liked it enough to have for her birthday. I remember us talking about the Lalaloopsy cake and ice cream. Now I won’t forget about the soup. Corn chowder with other additions is a great suggestion and fantastic addition to this soup post. Thank you, Joey!

  6. I love soup! Hearty and warming. Yours looks de-lish! I like to make leek and potato soup, or courgette with Brie cheese is unexpectedly nice. I adore French onion with croutons and cheese but I can’t make it right. Curried parsnip is another favourite. Do you believe me when I say I love soup? πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

    • I believe you, Jenny! I think we are past any deceptions. Thank you for your mouth watering choices. I won’t forget your leeks and potato soup, I need to try courgette with brie. I am not sure if I had heard of this one!
      When I used to go out to eat with my Dad, I learned to enjoy French onion soup with the Swiss or a Muenster cheese over croutons. I have made this with wine in it, too. He liked Reubens with this hearty soup. Dipping it in this. I had an ex who dipped roast beef sandwiches in my French onion soup. Curried parsnip sounds delicious and unique. So far no one has said, Italian wedding soup with spinach and sausage in it. I like this but cannot make it. Thank you for this lively discourse about soups. πŸ™‚

    • Jill, your crock pot full of potato soup with bacon and tons of cheese sounds fabulous. I like how you know what you like and cheese is something we conversed about on that tortellini Carrie made. . .
      Chicken tortilla soup is great but I usually order it or eat Healthy Choice canned. I need to try making this. πŸ™‚
      My son had made the potato soup on Wed. before Thanksgiving and just knew his kids were not going to eat the leftovers. It was great since we were hanging out in Mom’s apartment. Randy, Mom and I ate this potato bacon soup. It was buttery and creamy. It didn’t have cheese but still tasty. Next time I would send someone to go get the cheddar or Colby cheese! Thanks, Jill. Always fun to chat with you, friend.

    • Chicken noodle needs to be mild while sick and nursing colds. Sarah, you can “step it up” when you are healthy. πŸ™‚ I have been enjoying reading about soups I have never tried making. Fun times!

    • Natalie, sweetheart, my son made this soup so buttery and creamy. We will have to make an appointment at their busy house. Hendrix is the baby but there are 4 older siblings there. πŸ™‚
      I am sure if I asked him, he would make this for us and no need to bring a side dish. I am “good” at making salads and would make sure we had dessert. . . β™‘
      Jamie brought turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole for Thanksgiving while he had made potato soup for his gang on the day before, Wednesday. He knew we might like to have this on Friday. My brother, Randy, Mom and I enjoyed soup while lounging around watching movies. πŸ™‚

    • Colleen, I haven’t had a “bad” potato soup yet! People all seem to know how to make this! (Even I used to when I had a bunch of babysitting kids plus my own.) I would have liked to try your mother’s. Yummy! Glad you “felt” how our time together transpired. Mom, my brother, Randy and I were lounging around watching movies, nibbling on snacks and bowls of soup.

  7. I love soup, especially homemade, but usually just have the canned variety since I’m the only one who eats it now. This potato soup sounds truly delicious. I’m thinking about turkey soup as a solution to Xmas leftovers.

    • Lana, I used to like making turkey soup but my son taught me to layer a cheese, mayonnaise and butter mixture layer over turkey and broccoli. I used whole wheat bread crumbs mixed with the cheesy layer which crisps up in the oven. I cover with tin foil first and then let the top get golden brown.
      Someone told me they make a layer of turkey, then broccoli and then stuffing and the cheesy layer. Their family calls it “turkey divine.”

  8. Too hot for soup here right now but I love a spicy pumpkin and sweet potato soup in winter and especially if the pumpkins come fresh from my garden. I sprinkle some sage, cumin, chopped onions whilst roasting the pumpkin and potato, before adding it all to the pot with stock and top with a dash of sour cream and cracked pepper when served. Tastes even better the second day when the flavours intensify. Sadly I have to stay away from creamy soups now due to my cholesterol. I’m hungry now.
    Kath.

    • Kath, this spicy pumpkin and sweet potato soup sounds amazing! I like your ingredients, too. Serving with sour cream and cracked pepper while serving really makes special touches.
      I was wondering what part of the soup is “bad” for cholesterol? I went through a lot in my forties, where I was given a chance to lose weight or go on anti-cholesterol medicine. My doctor gave me a year to lose 20 lbs then the next year, 25 lbs. I ate almost a vegetarian diet and your soup might have fit in with my diet. πŸ™‚

  9. I do not remember celebrating the New Year or holidays with potato soup. But my younger Son’s fiancee has made potato soup for us when we celebrate with them. Though she is kind enough to make two batches. One without meat. Because milk or cream is used in the soup. I was trying to find one peoples that uses potato soup as a tradition, but there seem to be several.

    Best wished to you and your family for the holidays and the New Year!
    Thanks for your visits πŸ™‚

    • My son made this for the day before Thanksgiving for his children. He was busy making turkey, stuffing, green bean casserole and mashed potatoes. Once he had those prepared, all we had to do was warm it all up when he and his wife arrived on Thanksgiving. When he brought it up for Thanksgiving it was for the next day, while Mom, my brother and I were just hanging out. Randy actually made turkey soup for us to eat on Saturday. He used the turkey carcass.

      I had Mom’s Christmas wreath, poinsettia welcome mat outside her apartment, and her shelf with Christmas decorations. I chose to “decorate” Mom’s kitchen and added the soup, Jules. πŸ™‚ β™‘

      • Our younger one cooks more than the elder. But I think once the Elder’s little ones settle a bit he’ll hopefully have them helping in the kitchen πŸ˜‰

    • My Mom is not crazy about soup but liked this. I enticed her with a plate of leftover shrimp and crackers and cheese. She is funny since while people here suffered from an economical Depression, they ate a lot of soup! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

