Holiday Green Effects

Standard

image

Sometimes dreaming
of hanging of the greens,

Leads me to whimsical
wishes and thoughts.

Creme de menthe
served over ice.

Irish cream
poured in
coffee cup
decorated in
green ivy and
red holly berries.

Me:
Green velvet skirt
with cream satin
blouse and black boots.

You:
Green corduroy jacket
with plaid shirt in
pair of jeans,
no shoes,
socks,
feet
up.

“Why don’t you relax?”

Implications of this:

“Come here and cuddle,
in the warmth of my arms.”

Green Christmas lights
shine green glow onto
neighboring house.

White twinkle lights,
golden candles glow:

Beautiful changes from
multiple colored lights
or icicles in white.

The stereo plays,
“Evergreen,”
sung sweetly
by Barbra
Streisand.

~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤~

Night photo of
green Christmas
melody of lights
taken by reocochran.
“Memories of the
Way We Were,”
by Robin.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

38 responses »

      • They make me feel hopeful, for some reason, Kelly. ♡ It is a really nice way to show how happy and still in love you are with your husband. It’s never too late for me, either. 🙂
        Thanks for the warm wishes sent my family’s way. xo

    • You are most kind, V. I was enjoying driving around and seeing the lights with only one grandchild in the car. He and I thought this was a cozy cottage with rare green bulbs. Around here, houses are usually decorated with multi-colored, white or blue lights.
      I like your addition of “reflections of warm green” on your face, V. ♡

    • Thank you, Marissa for this compliment for the cozy cottage thoughts. It is rare to see just green lights. 🙂 Here it is white, blue or multi-colored lights. This one had candles in the windows with a few white light accents. I could not get enough light even on the night setting to get the house.

      • It’s very difficult. You have to have a very good camera and then, I would imagine, the right kind of lens too. You captured the mood well though. Yes, just green lights are rare.

    • Thanks, Diana. This cozy cottage reminded me of one winter night with a husband, at the time. We are still friends (he is married to a nice person, we all go to birthday parties) but nostalgia hits from time to time. My grandson helped me pick the few houses which will be sprinkled into my posts this month. It is rare around here to see mainly green lights. 🙂

    • Yes, Juan. misty eyed too, from time to time. They do “light the corners of our minds.”
      Hope you have a great holiday and soon, you will be off to see Hunter! 🙂
      I also like “Evergreen” song from her movie with Kris Kristofferson, “The Rose.”

    • Thank you, Sylvia. This cozy cottage reminded me of a cabin my first husband and I rented, complete with fireplace and we were dressed up to go out to eat dinner. I may get nostalgic but I am happy of how our lives are at peace, his present wife is a lot like I used to be! 🙂 We all get together for the grandchildren’s concerts and birthdays.
      Not for the holidays, though. Which may be “too much of a good thing!” Lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

