Why Space, the Moon and Skies are in my blood

Image

image

This is the wording in the
“Fine print” on an award Dad
received when the rocket parts
he worked on,
were used in
Flight:

“This flag was flown aboard the
third flight of the Space Shuttle “Columbia” as it completed
130 revolutions of the Earth
and travelled 3.4 million miles.
It is presented to you in
recognition of the significant
contribution you made to the
success of the mission.”

It was signed by three special
NASA representatives:

~Astronaut,
Jack R. Lousma

~Administrator,
National Aeronautics
snd Space Administration

~Astronaut,
C. Gordon Fullerton

Why I loved the movie,
“The Martian.”

Why I am proud to know
Ohio born
Senator,
Astronaut,
Gentleman,
John Glenn.

Photo of rather poorly
framed document
taken by
reocochran.

You see my maiden name
was Robin Elizabeth Oldrieve.
I still use my Dad’s initials
REO
πŸ™‚

There are many reasons
I wrote this post.

An important movie
came out which has
Space Rover used
on Mars.
Check
out
next
Post.

Article
from
NASA
newsletter
carefully
saved
by
Dad.
He believed in
Space exploration,
particularly Mars!

Β°β€’β—‹ β˜† ● β˜† β—‹β€’Β°

36 responses »

    • My Dad was born into a poor family so my pride is how he started working at age 11 to help his mother. A truck driver picked him up while hitchhiking home and took him on a short side trip to a university above the city he grew up in. This is why I posted not to brag but to encourage everyone to pursue their dreams, Maniparna. Thanks for your nice comments! πŸ™‚

    • Jenny, some have heard bits and pieces, like on Father’s day or when I try to encourage people that we can do amazing things if we “want it a lot.” My Dad’s father was in a mental ward (of Cincinnati, Ohio Veteran’s Hospital). My grandmother worked at Gibson cards where she “colored” cards and as a candy striper in a hospital. My Dad started crossing state lines to sweep out a fast food restaurant to pay rent.
      When Dad hitch hiked, a trucker took him up on a hill and said something like this,”Look down there, you live in the ghetto, boy. If you want to get out of there, you may consider getting good grades and going here, pointing to the University of Cincy. where you can earn scholarship.” He even had us put some of this in his obituary. White Castle was the restaurant and he asked us to include it’s name. My Dad’s great uncle was Alexander Calder through his mother. He is my great grand-uncle. No money passing hands from his heirs. πŸ™‚ The large “numbered”print I have is so boring, looks like balloons, Jenny. I only put it on wall for holidays. It is red, blue, black. . . someday I will take a photo but I am proud of my brother’s artwork, sculptures, paintings and glass pieces. Thanks for cracking me up!! πŸ™‚

    • This is more of a word of encouragement for someone out there who needs to keep on going; pursuing their dreams. My Dad literally had a mother who could not provide for him. He rose from an environment with daily hardship, he started working at age 11, hitchhiking across to Kentucky where there were no child labor laws. My Dad smoked and worked around nuclear energy, died at age 69. He had much of his story put into a short obituary.
      Thanks for your reading this, Cindy and your nice, warm comments.

    • Mom told me to put it up in my grandson’s bedroom. I am not sure that granddaughters and Hendrix should not be able to see it, so I have it. πŸ™‚
      Someone I know who is a fellow blogger may feel encouragement to reach for the stars or their dreams since my Dad literally came from “nothing” to achieve what he did. Starting by hitchhiking to Kentucky to sweep out a White Castle since there were no child labor laws there. A trucker was who showed my Dad possibilities in U of C. He had us include his “back story” in his obit since he wanted us to encourage others.
      Jill, Felicia has a small tattoo with a word that is spelled like my maiden last name, “Believe.” πŸ™‚

    • I have in my car trunk many of his papers from NASA, projects and notes. Test results on metals and alloys for heat resistance to become rocket parts. Thank you for reading this and your kind words. I bet you would have understood his technical descriptions better than I did. My eyes (sadly) would glaze over.
      We liked going out on the lake and talking about the stars and planets. He would have been so excited about the fact that a botanist/biologist was the main character in the Martian movie. He was a nice man, Boy Scout leader, camping bus driver, and Dad.

    • Yes, I am an REO Speedwagon band follower and fan. Sometimes people would call us “Overdrive” not able to pronounce our last name. So then we would joke about being part of BTO. I know you recognize it by initials but will write that out. Bachmann, Turner, Overdrive.
      My Dad’s story is motivating since he had to start working as a boy to help his Mom pay rent. I had someone, a fellow blogger in mind to hope they may reach for the stars and keep on going. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Mike. I realize some of my longer lasting blogging friends already knew this inspiring story about how Dad overcame poverty to get what he dreamed of but there was someone in my mind who needed to hear this.
      Plus, it is really a great movie! Felicia and her boyfriend liked it and Felicia squeezed my hand when I was crying through part of it. β™‘

    • Yes, Dad was on a team who set up nuclear reactors in Oak Ridge, Tennessee and Plum Brook, Sandusky Ohio. They use Plum Brook for scenes in “Avengers” movies. When the Hulk is in a circular clear glassed in room, you can see the NASA flag. John Glenn practiced his anti-gravity, moon walking there in that facility. Dad later worked at the Lewis Research Center in Cleveland, now called Glenn Research Center. His college best friend worked for the super sonic jet project in Washington D.C. My Dad liked to joke that his friend made triple his government paycheck. πŸ™‚

    • I am proud of how he overcame his beginnings and made a great contribution, Beth. It kind of is a “hard act to follow!” :)Thsnks, sweetie. I went over to visit our friend to see if she has had something happen (to Dad/Poppa). Have you heard any news uou may pass on?

    • You are welcome to my Dad’s story. I was sharing it due to someone who is a fellow blogger seemed down and discouraged. My Dad overcame impoverished childhood, which I was hoping to motivate or inspire them to reach for the stars, Natalie. β™‘

    • Joanne, thank you for seeing this as pride. I was just hoping they may find encouragement from his childhood of poverty, setting goals and finding his dreams. There are so many motivating people who have done this. πŸ™‚

    • Judy, oh how I wish this reply to your comment had been given earlier. I was looking for something on a blog and found several loose ends! Thank you for saying how my Dad set goals and reached his dreams gave you goosebumps. This comment was so meaningful to me. Hugs, Robin β™‘

  1. This is so cool! I have known a few of the special men and women working at Pasadena’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory and had the privilege of listening to their excitement at what they contributed to the Mars Rover. What a wonderful honor given to your father, who was obviously someone I would admire as well!

    • Debra, I like how each of us have stories to share. Sometimes blogging allows the story to help motivate or inspire. My Dad’s setting goals led him away from his childhood poverty. His mother lived with us all the way until her death when I was in high school. He truly started helping pay rent before he turned 12. Thank you for mentioning a fantastic group of explorers and creators in Pasadena jet propulsion laboratory. This was a fascinating part about the Mars Rover, Debra.
      I was looking for a post and found some missed comments and “loose ends.” Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

