Fraternity Circle lights entry # 1

Image

image

This post will be one of three

fraternities that are in a large

circle. The men compete in

gathering “pledges” but they

also are known to come

to First Friday’s in Delaware.

Helping play with the kids,

donating can goods for food

drives and building for our local

chapter of Habitat for Humanity.

Here is the first entry of three

I chose to take pictures of,

featuring our local university

Holiday Spirit: “Hurray for

Christmas lights displays!”

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

This photo taken of
Sigma Phi Epsilon
fraternity house by
Robin O. Cochran.

What are some of your local

charities which are keeping

the Season merry and bright?

34 responses »

  1. I’m not sure why I am surprised you live in Delaware, Robin – clearly I don’t spend enough time with my Reader! The lights are lovely!
    Enjoy your holiday season with your family – I like to think of you with your grandchildren at the end of 2015! I hope it’s a special time for all of you.
    The Red Man and Casa de Canterbury send all of you Paw Snaps and Twirls! πŸ™‚

    • Sheila, I appreciate the lovely holiday wishes and although Dec. 24 -27th, I will be with my Mom, I plan on seeing everyone here and trying to fit the zoo in, too. The grandkids want me to take them to the Chipmunks movie. πŸ™‚
      Do you live in Ohio?
      With your casa y inhabitants y peros, you have lots of love β™‘β™‘ surrounding you. I detect a “southern charm” about you, dear. πŸ™‚ I am heading over to see how Red Man and all are doing. See you there and then my greetings will be more personal.

    • The generosity and lights warm our hearts, Beth. I liked the coats drive (tied on lampposts in Copenhagen, or a special place on Europe) mentioned on your blog. The ones you mentioned sound really meaningful and I like children to benefit directly from our donations. Great ones to list!

    • It certainly is a beautiful house. It sits on a circle with fraternities who compete in Christmas light decorating. The sororities are spread out in a different area of town, Jill. They are mixed into an older neighborhood.

    • This is known to be a very reliable charity, Mike. I cannot resist their cheery bell ringing and around here, they occasionally sing Christmas carols. A real bonus for your giving. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, really gorgeous lighting and such a stately building. With all the charity work these young men are doing, I see fraternities in a whole new light. As for over here, there are so many charities asking for something during the holiday season, I lose track. I want to give to almost all of them, especially when there are sick children involved.

    • Marissa, the fraternities are a far cry from “Animal House!” They seem to have good manners but probably “party” when we aren’t looking! πŸ™‚
      I donate to a local place called P.I.N. (people in need) and then mail charities, like March of Dimes. I like children’s hospitals, too. You have a similar giving source. β™‘

      • I guess I shouldn’t be surprised about the fraternities. So may kids these days are hipsters or nerds that actually care about the environment and are anti bullying. Don’t tell anyone but I kind of miss the old day…well, you know, just for certain reasons.
        Sounds like your charities are well worth the donations.

    • I am glad you feel like there is a possibility for Christmas there. Are things any better in the prevailing mood after the flood? I was shocked to hear of so many deaths. It really upset me that I had not heard about this too much on the news. I was overwhelmed by sadness when you outlined the horrific tragedy, Rashmi.

    • I do care how the young University men and women act. Thank you for liking this reason.
      I follow this fraternity more closely since my first husband, brother Randy and my Dad were once “Sig Ep’s.” (Not at OWU though) I spent a lot of time at BGSU helping the men out and they were “okay” with projects but their money raising included charging money for Hairy Buffalo parties, open to non-frat students. 😦

    • Thank you, Sylvia! I could not resist taking pictures, while out walking with grandchildren who are attracted to Christmas lights. Their favorite is either #2 or #3. I cannot remember. . . Until I see it!
      When do you leave for England? So I may send a prayer for safe travel mercies for you and husband. xo

    • I am excited! Carolers are such rare commodities in neighborhoods these days. When our church goes we visit nursing homes.
      I am not sure why when we live in the same time zone it says 1:45 pm, Colleen?! Is this possible? I think it must be night time to have carolers. Hope you had them stop by and sing for you and your husband. πŸ™‚
      We will be in touch before Christmas but Merry Christmas and enjoy the season of rejoicing. β™‘

      • We are in the same time zone. I have no idea how WP processes our comments and such. Nothing I do on WP matches up with our time zone.

        And no, the carolers didn’t stop. BUT! We did sing to an older lady we took presents to today. πŸ™‚

  3. Love the house and the lights. My soroity as are most, if not all fraternities and sororities, did things like that. And it always felt so good to be involved with such things. Hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I feel being young, it is always good to present friends or special someone’s with a “way to give.” When my grandchildren get a little “greedy,” I offer them chances to be kind to others. They jump at the chance. So, really they aren’t greedy, just normal kids taking advantage of their Nana! β™‘

    • Thank you, Natalie for sharing your experiences with sororities where giving and charity were considered ways to give back. I felt good being part of clubs where we would collect can goods, blankets, donate new gloves and scarves, . . . I like when people share things which were involved in their own lives. Knowing where you came from in those times gives me hope of how to be a better person, Natalie. β™‘

Leave a Reply

