Thursday’s Doors ~ December 17, 2015 (view #3: Christmas Light Arches)

Image

image

This “tunnel” of
Christmas lights,
Arches lead from
South Sandusky Street,
A holiday tradition
for over twenty-five years.

This is Slocum Hall entrance,
Ohio Wesleyan University
campus, warmly greeting
all who pass with the
Spirit of the Holidays
shining brightly.

This post is part of a series
of Slocum Hall photos,
part of Norm Frampton’s
Doors which may be
found at his blog,
where links to
other doors
may be
found:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

59 responses »

    • Thank you, Beth! My kids say they remember it earlier than 25 years ago, but I am not sure about this! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sure is festive! ยคโ˜†โ˜†โ™กโ˜†โ˜†ยค

    • It is one where you may drive north on Sandusky Street and hope you catch the stop light where students walk down through these arches and cross to the other part of campus. While you are paused for a few minutes looking through the hoops, you cannot help feeling bubbles of effervescent joy, Colleen.

      • Oh, this goofy way of saying my thoughts does make me smile, too. It is one of many great Ohio towns and cities.
        By the way, Colleen, did you know the band, (one of my favorites), Chicago is going to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2017? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You have this right, Marissa. The special feeling really works more than once. I like my grandkids holding my hand and they stop and look up which is a priceless expression. The lighting is almost too bright to capture it, though. I will hold it in my memory instead of on film.

      • Well the picture you posted looks great. In a shopping center near us they put up a tree with a passageway you can actually walk through. It reminds me a bit of that.

    • They are pretty magical. It is a beautiful sight while walking under them with grandkids holding hands, D. Thank you for suggesting magical, great word choice. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope this next week has some magic in store for you! โ™ก

    • You are most welcome. I can picture you and Derek walking under the lighted arches holding hands.
      It has been fun looking around more closely at local decorations, Jill. Hope you are having fun and enjoying this holiday season. โ™ก

    • Ooh, there are arches you may drive under at the nearby (8 miles away) Alum Creek “Fantasy of Lights,” Sarah. Great idea for me to use with grandchildren in the car, remind them to put on their invisible space gear and be ready for blasting off once we reach the end of the arches. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Did you once say you keep twinkly lights up around a deck? Someone did, hmm. . . I think the festive white lights could be put up year round, Joey. โ™ก I think that they could create a year round festive mood. I have been known to use all caps in texts since to me, they radiate my excitement! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nope, not me. I have a patio. And of course I neeeeeed twinkly lights running all around it, all 20×30 of it, AHAHAHA! (I would if I could!)

    • Arches seem to be needed in more areas, this is becoming a concensus! ๐Ÿ™‚ Lights could be placed over arbor arches. I have seen one family out in the country outline their gazebo with the white lights. It is really a fantastic idea to keep up through the seasons. Thank you, Joanne!

    • Luanne, a passageway to something magical shows why you are recognized as Arizona’s best, up and coming poetry author. Thanks for sharing this great description. โ™ก Hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

      • Haha, I wouldn’t put it that way about the poetry, but thanks for your support! You definitely shared some magic, Robin! I hope your Christmas and New Year’s are really “sparkley” and soul-sustaining.

      • I need the soul sustaining part but will probably get more of the sparkly, Luanne. You will see your mother like I see mine. I miss having a place to invite everyone to “hang out” but not all the work. ๐Ÿ™‚ I assume you have some healthy recipes which your husband is able to consume and enjoy. Dont forget to put your feet up!

    • Alex, I like how the holidays bring out more fun and brightness. It is nice to have this “next door” to my apartment building. My grandkids enjoy walking over one of three bridges across a stream to explore this area of campus. Hope your family has their own magical places and moments this season. Smiles, Robin

    • Natalie, this would be a great way to decorate the garden using your arbor arches. Perfect idea and lovely image for me to picture. Hugs back to you. *โ˜†ยคยคโ˜†*

    • Tanveer, what sweet wishes you sent me. Thank you so very much. Blessings to you and your loved ones. Hope you have had some happy reasons to celebrate. You don’t live by any flooding, do you? This made me sad recently.

      • Thank you so much dear for your concern and kindness. Karachi, where I live is situated by the Arabian sea. though the land is below the sea lever and a big wave can wash us out but thank God the water flow is in opposite direction ๐Ÿ™‚ search Karachi on goggle. its beautiful metropolitan city. multi culture , all religions, color languages food everything:) fast running life. Karachi is in Pakistan. Which part of the planet are you living in ๐Ÿ™‚ be my guest when you come to Karachi โค

      • Tanveer, thank you for your summary of your country abd area you live in. The photos are lovely on the Internet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you sre safe. I live in a state in the United States of America. Ohio is near a nice Lake Erie. I like being in a medium sized town. Our paths cross from time to time and I thank you for your visits. Smiles, Robin

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. This is nice yo share since I see other people’s homes and decorations. It is a beautiful place yo walk under while my grandkids eyes are aglow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you sre well and enjoying warm weather there. Hugs, Robin

    • Those are great and yet simple reasons for liking this neighboring welcome sight, Sylvia. Hope you have smooth flying and outstanding reception upon disembarking! Airports are such emotional places to “people watch.” ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs, Robin

    • I am inviting you and wife, Kirt. I am happy to tell you, our county courthouse has a manger scene and a Peace tree on its lawn. Probably on the internet, not sure my photo does it justice. The sign talks about freedom of expression and religion. This and the university are great places to see the sights locally. Warm regards to you snd yours for a Merry Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Sandhya. It would be fun to have shared some cookies and coffee, tea or cocoa at a nearby coffee shop. Then head outdoirs, and go through the campus to enjoy so many free lights and warm weather to sit down snd sip our beverage. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

