Enchanted town

Standard

image

Some people love the movie, “Brigadoon.”
Others enjoy the musical called,
“Camelot.”
There is paradise in many minds,
“Shangri-la.”
James Hilton (1933) wrote “Lost
Paradise ” on this very topic:
Utopia.

These places are legendary
and were dreamed about,
found in creative minds.

This photo taken on a crisp late
Autumn’s night of a pretty town.

One I chose on a map to
bring 3 children to live.

Autumn,
1986.
Next year ~
it will be 30 years!

Nestled on Olentangy River,
Delaware, Ohio.

A place I feel turned
out extra special
for my children,
grandchildren 
and me.

The photograph taken
by reocochran.

Misty eyed thoughts,
pensively shared by
Robin O . Cochran.

~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~

Do you have a magical place?

I really liked Charlevoix, MI.
My friend’s sister owns
a castle named
Castle Farms,
where you
may tour,
or be
wed.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

69 responses »

  1. love the picture, robin. isn’t is funny how our lives are lived where they are? it seems a combination of circumstances, luck and chance. i love living in ann arbor, but didn’t move here until i was 40 and went to grad school. it instantly felt like hime and has been home ever since.

    • It is indeed funny or magical, Beth. Thanks for telling me how you ended up in Ann Arbor.
      I have seen Ann Arbor while a teenager. It is a pretty place. Your stories about the town ~ street festivals, book shop, and on snow covered streets, how you walked to get WiFi reception all enchant me with “your chosen town.” 🙂

  2. That picture does make it seem like a special place. I’m glad it turned out to be that for you and your family. I’ve moved around a lot, or at least it seems so. I try to make every place special.

    • This response is another “side of the coin, ” Dan. To make each place you live become “special” is a part of your positive personality. Thanks for sharing this outlook! 🙂

  3. Nice, Robin. I’ve driven through Ohio, but haven’t spent anytime there. Your slice of heaven I’ll keep in the back of my mind–my home state is Illinois and I’ve often thought Ohio was beautiful driving through it.

    • Thanks, Cindy for saying uour views of Ohio were beautiful. I have a story about my Dad’s favorite experiences in Illinois, (in my saved posts.) We have had nice trips to Chicago, along the way in life. My youngest daughter has more stories than I have, Cindy. We are Midwestern “girls,” good to know! 🙂

  4. Very pretty Robin! I wish I owned a castle. There’s one in Hollywood called the Magic Castle which serves as a hotel and restaurant for the very rich. It looks so beautiful when it’s lit up for Christmas.

    • The Magic Castle would be a cool photo opportunity to share. Maybe I should go see it on the Internet, Marissa.Thanks for sharing this cheery news! 🙂
      Castle Farms is great for children to tour the fairy and elf garden, the owner, Linda’s husband (Richard Mueller) collects toys so there is a big outdoor arrangement of trains, cases of antique toys indoors and three carriage coaches. There is a huge chess set to play and enjoy skipping around. I have photos but they are on a digital camera. Not recent galaxy cell phone photos.

      • Hey Robin, I was just trying to google Magic Castle in Hollywood myself and found out that it’s actually a nightclub for magicians. I never even knew that. Not so far from your Castle Farms I suppose, although the Magic Castle is very exclusive and your place doesn’t seem so much so, which is nice. Hollywood! Go figure! http://www.magiccastle.com/

      • Thanks for the link and excellent news for magicians, Marissa! 🙂 The Magic Castle was awesome! °•☆¤☆•°
        My college pal, Patrice, her sister is Linda who has her castle in Michigan. I have regrettably only been as far West as the East side of the Grand Canyon.

  5. Beautiful photo, Robin. It seems that we have moved a lot. Not that my dad was deployed here or there, we just moved. So….the present home my family is living in is the first house we have lived the longest. I know we will move on because it is way to big for just my husband and I. I will miss it but I have the memories.

    • April, you have made cozy and warm places everywhere you have moved, I am sure! Thank you for sharing about your moves and longest place so far to have stayed. I liked your porch with two Adirondack chairs and table you painted. I love all your pretty homemade pieces you have written about along with your photo with projects. Hope you have a merry, merry Christmas! ♡

  6. You captured the mystique of a magical place. My perfect place(s) to visit have always been high up in the mountains of the wilderness with wizened old trees that grow only a few feet high and a clear stream flowing nearby. If I could have any life’s wish fulfilled, it would be to have my ashes scattered in such a place. – Mike

    • Mike, I am sure that you are going to have plenty of time to visit these high in the mountains locations again and again. Thank you for telling others your favorite place to “be.” I pretty much could have guaranteed this was going to be your response. I appreciate your being here, adding nice labels like “capturing the mystique of a magical place.” Although John Denver sings about other places than Washington state, I can hear his songs where he revels in the beauty of mountains and country, which were to him, “almost Heaven.”

    • It does seem pretty amazing, Colleen. Just happened yo be late at the Mingo Park with the M & M girls. We looked out at the river and both girls exclaimed. Glad they saw it, we talked about the sense of magic found in reality.

    • Misty eyed thoughts and you felt they went with the post? Wow! I am happy you agreed with this meaning I attached to the experience, Maniparna. I also like the idea of a water color painting. I hope you find your happy place or if you have you share it so others know how you feel. 🙂

  7. Beautiful image all round and Autumn is the best of seasons. I liked both Brigadoon and Camelot. Shangri-la is good to but still learning that mythology. I have yet to find such a place to top them all but I have found several. Mostly in the mountains.

    • Nia, I believe the mountains “call” to many people. The opening scene from “The Sound of Music” comes to mind. The grandeur of their height, the layers of trees, plants, birds, wildlife and all that you find in the mountains are amazing reasons to call them your favorite place. I am glad those older movies still are recognizable to some of my fellow bloggers. 🙂

    • Natalie, this is a really good interpretation of how I felt when I wrote this! 🙂 Sharing love in a place you visit or live can make that place feel like you are “home.”

  8. Neat low light image Robin! I’m so happy to hear that the place you are settled in is special, and magical to your children. This place that I live has special, and magical memories for me, and I hope for my children and #1 Grandson too. It’s far from perfect, and not a place I dream of living in for the rest of days, but Home is Where the Heart IS! It’s true! If my loves are here my heart will be here, and I’ll be very happy to be near them. 🙂

    • Thank you for the “neat low light” compliment. I have always felt the same way about being close to family makes our lives and hearts happy. I appreciate this thoughtful comment where you shared how your children and #1 grandson live close to you. Home is where our hearts are, indeed.

  9. That is a unique picture, throwing up many thoughts and fantasies! I am sure it can inspire mystery thrillers! 🙂
    We do have a special place, which we have been visiting quite often, in the Himalayan range.

    • The inspiration for mystery sounds like a great extra dimension to my thoughts, Balroop. I like how you expressed this with fantasies included. 🙂
      I am happy you have found a special place in the Himalayan mountain range. ♡

    • I love historical homes and places with stories to tell, Elizabeth. Castles are cool. In Delaware, Ohio we have a beautiful building where it “houses” the arts. It is called The Arts Castle. My grandson took painting and my own children took dance, jazz and art classes, too. Charlevoix, MI (where Castle Farms is) feels a lot like Camelot. Interesting artist architect built “mushroom” houses there. 🙂

    • I like the idea of mystery. I wrote a 500 page mystery involving a music professor, a student, a clairvoyant homemaker who is an artist who lives in Delaware, Ohio. Too bad it is really not typed. It is all in a plastic bag and handwritten! 🙂 Thanks for liking the photo.

Leave a Reply

