Nearly winter, fallen leaves

Image

image

Freezing brisk early night,

Walk to clear cobwebs out.

Shivering and wishing,

Never mind.

Stand still and peer deep

into musty – covered past.

The night seems long

until in the final tossing,

Sighs and slumber meld. 

Sometimes dawn brings

Icicles of truth along with

Golden horizon framed in

Indigo violet. . .

I can live with that.

/  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /

× × Tomorrow’s first
day of Winter. × ×

Photo taken on
Ohio Wesleyan campus,
by reocochran.
Regretful thoughts by,
Robin Oldrieve Cochran.
(December 21, 2015)

Veronica Lacroix wrote in my
comments a beautiful sentiment:

“We have to go into the night, to
appreciate the truth of winter
soltice.”
Please check out her recent post
about a beautiful auburn pony in
color and her black and white
atmospheric foggy photographs.
Did you know there is a special
name for the ancient grape vines?
http://33580laborde.wordpress.com

48 responses »

  1. Before leaving Washington, I read a blog story about the habitats that fallen leaves provide. Not only microorganisms that are good for the soil, but micro-ecosystems including snails, insects, worms, and other goodies that birds like.

    If ever I needed a reason to not rake leaves, that was it. Just think – justifying less yard work by providing a healthier environment. It doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂 – Mike

    • I bet this musty layer of fallen leaves holds some of those micro – systems, Mike. I think my parents made us rake to “earn our keep” as well as get the oak leaves up. Some of our neighbors in Bay Village had “oak blight.” Thank you for listing the “goodies” which can be found for birds in leaf piles! 🙂

    • So sorry to inform you Fall has cold days and nights. 😦 We are lucky it has been fairly mild here. I am excited tomorrow winter will officially begin. I could not put up with the suspense!
      As we all know, there are places around the world who already are the 22nd but some like Pauline, have warmer weather. They call it winter around here, on the 22nd, Jill. Do you wish you could go to Hawaii, California or Florida?

    • Oh, you sweet friend! You made this post better with your reasoning,
      “We have to go into the night, to appreciate the truth of winter soltice.” I may have to put this up on my post. Your blog mentioned, too. 🙂

  2. The snapshot is just lovely!! Cheers on capturing the metamorphosis perfectly! And i must admit that your verse sent shivers up my mind!! Winter love ❤ Happy blogging keep smiling 🙂

    • Thank you for liking this, Aayusi. I am glad that you felt the winters cold breeze upon you, distant as you are. Hope you wrap up and are well, dear! The compliments warned me up. 🙂 Happy blogging, keep your cheery thoughts! The article with history and interesting facts about British museum of natural history will be great for people who haven’t researched this. Heading back to comment. Smiles, Robin

    • Maniparna, I was visiting with my youngest daughter tonight, so didn’t get around to writing you. Thank you for looking at my words and letting me know what had meaning for you. I used to write “essays” for almost 31 months of blogging. you for past 5- or so months, I have practiced using my own photos and thoughts in poetry form. I like critiques and helpful comments. Your idea of winter bringing us into a more contemplative and nostalgic mood was great! 🙂 Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

