What’s your favorite Christmas song?

Image

image

Marley says,
“Frosty the Snowman.
(Age 7)

Makyah says,
“Rudolph the Reindeer.”
(Age 4 1/2)

Her cousins list a
variety of selections:

~ “Jingle Bells,”
~ “Deck the Halls,”
(“Especially the “fa la la la la’s”),
~ “Joy to the World,”
~ “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa
Claus.”

The piano is Great Uncle Rich
and Great Aunt Susan’s.
They like the ballet,
“The Nutcracker Suite.”

My two favorite
songs are:

“Chestnuts Roasting on
an Open Fire,”
Also known as,
“The Christmas Song,”
with Nat King Cole or
Michael Buble singing.
(Written in 1945,
Bob Wells and Mel Torme)

“Walking Through a
Winter Wonderland.”
(Felix Bernard and
Richard B. Smith, 1942)
“Sleigh bells ring,
Are you listening?
In the lane,
Snow is glistening.”

Mom’s is a German one,
“Oh, Tannenbaum,
Oh tannebaum.”
or
“Oh, Christmas tree,
Oh, Christmas tree.”
This German Christmas
song, written by
Ernst Anschutz, 1824.
Search farther back,
16th century,
Silesian folksong music
composed by
Melchior Franck.

My youngest brother likes
Bruce Springsteen singing
with his E Street Band,
“Santa Claus is Coming to Town.”

My middle brother, 18 months
younger than I, answered
rather
“Scrooge”- like:
“There is NO Christmas
song I like!”

Come on, don’t be a Scrooge!

Let us know your favorite
Holiday songs ~
Kwanzaa
Hanukkah
Christmas
or
“Bah,
Humbug?”

59 responses »

    • I need after work to stop and listen yo your favorite choice, Derrick. Somehow, I think I will love this one. The name, alone, has me intrigued. Thank you for joining us. Have a great day. Preparations unfurling at your home, as we speak. . . πŸ™‚

    • Juan, everyone has a sentimental attachment to some form of music. I had a good friend who was Jehovah’s Witness. He really liked listing to the song, “Silent Night,” in French. “Joyeaux Noel.” You may say funny things but I don’t feel you are strange. . . Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

      • Well, I was so glad no snow since I had to drive 3 hours up in warm, sunny Christmas Eve weather. It was rather horrible driving back through rain pouring down yesterday (Dec. 27th). I am never fully prepared for snow, sleet nor ice, Juan.

    • My Grandma was born in Germany, liked Oh Tannebaum but she also embraced being an Americanized citizen so sadly did not teach us many words, Juan. I loved her kuchen, sprengele cookies, spaetzle (noodles), and her Wiener Schnitzel. Smiles, Robin

    • I really like this song, too. Thank you for reminding me and I am not sure which version I really like or “know.” Thank you for adding to the Christmas song list! Hugs, Robin

    • Dan, I am happy you added a link. You knew this would be helpful. Good looking out. I like Bing Crosby in his holiday movies. What warn memories I have of television specials. Back then, weren’t so many to choose from and I remember them well. πŸ™‚

    • I needed to listen to the Holly and the Ivy and did enjoy this less known song, (by me.)
      Thank you, Dan. Happy Christmas Eve day. Enjoy!
      Still facing trip to Cleveland but my car is packed and work nearly finished. πŸ™‚

  1. Of the hundreds of Christmas songs I’ve had to listen to at work over the years, I don’t think there’s one I like better than the Glee version of “Let it Snow.” The Lou Monte version of “Dominick the Donkey” also got a lot of play in my early days and is too cute not to like. And as hard as it is to believe, “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer” really doesn’t ever get old…. but it does seem to have vanished from getting December airplay the last few years.

    On the subject of least favorite Christmas songs…. it’s a tossup between “Feliz Navidad” and “All I Want For Christmas Is You.”

    • Well, we each have our favorites which means I am happy to have new ones and also opinions expressed on which ones may quietly exit when not wanted. Ha ha! I happen to like the two you listed but there are reasons for why I do.
      “Let it Snow” and “Dominick the Donkey” are ones which will be listened to by my grandies, Evil Squirrel. Have a merry, joyous holiday season! πŸ™‚

  2. Robin, those two cuties sitting by the piano are so adorable! Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas. We Hindus celebrate Diwali but no songs are sung:) I love many of the Christmas songs listed above.

    • Also, noticed I forgot two important things, Jill. Thanks for thinking my grandies are sweet and I am posting a list on the 30th of fellow bloggers who are authors. Do you know the name that Harlequin will publish your book as?
      Merry Christmas Eve to you and your family! β™‘β™‘

    • The man who won the Voice named Jordan sang this beautifully in the last semi finals. This is a meaningful song and I like it, too. Thank you, Cheryl for adding to this post with a nice comment! πŸ™‚

    • I like the original song, Jenny, too. There were such wonderful singers all gathered for a special purpose. The way they chimed in with their solos was awesome. I got goosebumps the first time I heard it! Peace on Earth and giving to those who need food, shelter and help.

    • Yes, I call Marley and Makyah my M & M girls. My son has five since he “rescued” Trista who had Lara and Landen. She was a single mother, her ex lives in the same town. These are the 2 girls who were at the top of the reservoir and rolled down the hill. “The Hills are Alive” post. πŸ™‚ They all live with the cute new grandue, Hendrix. Maybe I will post the photo in the next 2 days.

      • Thanks, it is calm and peaceful here with Mom. We are watching Hallmark. Heading later over to my painter brother’s grilling steak and just 3 of us spending time together.
        Glad you liked the names with initials. Son has the two girls and a boy so he had the surgery to stop the “madness!” Lol He loves the older children from Trista’s first marriage.
        Oldest daughter sent me a photo of the 2 boys who received bikes from Santa. I miss the kids but will see them on the 27th. πŸ™‚

  3. I like the best rock ‘n’ roll Christmas song of all time – Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) by Darlene Love. She performed on Late Night with David Letterman every Christmas season for many years, and made a final appearance this year. (Last year’s video is the last one available on YouTube.)

    • Darlene Love really can still sing that song! It is quite a cool thing that David Letterman did, starting a tradition which will be hard to forget, Mike!! πŸ™‚ I watched several of the last shows since he was able to “Bring it Home!” Which to me meant he could close the night well.

  4. Oh Robin, I love so many Christmas songs. I guess if I had to pick my favorite it would be “Silent Night.” Every year at the candle light Christmas Eve service, I cry my way through the song. Thanks heavens, they turn the lights off so we can hold up our candles. Another favorite is “Mary, did you know?” especially the acapella version by Pentatonix. Love the photo. Such sweet little faces! Hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

    • The Pentatonix a capella group could make all the sounds to become so beautifully melded I felt an orchestra was backing them. Thank you, Natalie, for helping build a great list here. Your emotions shared here were so heartfelt and moving.
      The sweet song of “Silent Night” gets to me, too. Our church has a midnight and an earlier children’s program. When my three children wore their “Cherubs” choir robes to sing with the other little ones (awhile ago) I got tears no matter what song they sang. β™‘

  5. Merry Christmas Robin! Happy New Year! I must add that I have two favourite Christmas Carols: :Hark The Herald Angels Sing” – in English – and in Croatian “Nations Be joyous, when you hear that Jesus is born”. Brings tears of joy to my eyes every time!

    • Ina, please forgive my belated response to your warm and caring comments! I was looking for a few “missing” people snd found them in my wordpress pending approval area. You and I have been busy but always find time to visit off and on. Not sure why this did not register with the computerized blogging world.
      I hope you know I really liked your songs and sweet, kind words here!
      Happy new year, beginnings and continued friendship, dear friend. Hugs, Robin β™‘

    • I can totally picture why you love the Irish tenors, Colleen. Someday, you will be back to Ireland and I will be still your friends so I can live vicariously through your travels. Your other choices are wonderful and help to make our list of Christmas songs better! πŸ™‚

      • You are so nice Robin!!! Truth be told…I would love to BE IN Ireland but I have no desire to travel there right now.

        But if I ever do go….I will take you in my computer like Viveka takes me on her travels!

  6. My long time favorite is, Angels We Have Heard On High, it doesn’t matter who sings it except myself. My new favorite is, Mary Did You Know? by Pantitonix–extremely beautiful

    • “Mary, Did You Know?” Is such a lovely song. I cannot believe I missed it when it came out awhile ago. . . Cheryl in earlier comment mentioned country roots with Kenny Rogers and Wynonna Judd. I am surprised I did not remember this. The man who won the Voice this month also sang this song. I will listen to the Pentatonix version, April. Merry Christmas to you and your family. β™‘

Leave a Reply

