The Night Before Christmas

Image

image

There’s a lot to be said
about Home Sweet Home.

So much of the holidays
are spent rushing around.

Heading to Cleveland on
the 24th, to spend time
with Mom, two brothers
and my dear sister in law.

Sharing another angle
on my cozy corner,
an oasis of sorts,
little piece of Heaven.

There’s only two stockings left:

Mine has two cardinals, stitched
with embroidery thread, made of
velveteen material with bells
sewn along the “cuff.”

Felicia’s a homemade (by me,
while she was just “a babe.”)
Hummel pattern, using crewel
stitching of Angel holding an
Advent wreath, five candles on it.
Glitter sequins with clear beads
sewn through to hold each in
place, decorate the stocking.

The others have their homemade
stockings, passed out as each
became part of family.

Examples given,
(I have 7 grandies, so just 2):

To Skyler, deep midnight blue,
with the night sky. A special
Star lighting the Way.

To Micah, Santa Claus on ice
skates, gliding on icy circle,
sewn glittery jewels.

Jamie has his Daddy stocking,
Carrie has her Mommy one,
in their respective homes.

“The stockings were hung by the
chimney with care,
In hopes that St. Nicholas soon
would be there.”
(Clement C. Moore, 1822.)

♡ ☆ ¤ ☆ ♡ ¤ ♡ ☆ ¤ ☆ ♡

Just in case you are wondering,
I have a few holiday toys sitting
on the window seat bench.

There’s. . .
* “Jolly Good,” (Bunnies by the Bay~
Hallmark Christmas bunny)

* Snoopy, (Charles Schulz)

* Clifford (he’s too small to add
the words the “Big Red Dog”)

* A penguin who “sings,” “I Saw
Mommy Kissing Santa Claus”
(Sound & Light Animatronics Co.)

* Coca Cola Polar Bear with tiny
brown plastic bottle of Coke.

* Over 50 plus years old~
Raggedy Andy and
Raggedy Ann.
(Felicia lost Ann’s checked
dress; her sleeve on
“replacement” red checked
dress reads, “Cabbage Patch
Kids.” She wears her original
cream apron)

Up high on the pillow is
who my grandies call,
* “Elf on a Shelf.”
He is not an official
nor “authorized” version.

Many blessings
any way you
dream of ~
Sent your
♡ Way. ♡
. . . x o . . .

41 responses »

    • Thank you for these nearly lost comments, Marissa. I am glad you are a young, modern rock n roll mom who likes old fashioned decorations. I think it is nice to know this. 🙂

      Sorry about late reply. I worked until I drove up to see my Mom on the 24th, Marissa. I had too many posts started and stubbornly kept them all.

    • Thank you, Anneli. ♡ It was a very relaxing and wonderful time and went too quickly! Isn’t this how life goes, slowly when you are waiting for something and quick as a wink, when you wish to savor things and people. Hugs, Robin

    • Thank you for sharing what customs you have in Germany. My mom’s mother, Grandma (Paula Haller was her maiden name) came from Germany as a teenager. Hope you had a wonderful holiday. ♡ Robin

      • I remember your german grandma 🙂 you told me already.
        Guten Rutsch (good slipping/slide) ins neue Jahr (into the new year. This you say in german before new years eve or: rutsch gut rein (slip well down the slide of new year).

      • Thank you for remember wring since I thought you would have many people’s stories to remember. How is Simmi and are things better with your situation? I will come visit now. ♡♡ Thank you for sharing the German phrases. I will show my Mom next time I visit. 🙂 Hugs, Robin

      • Thank you for remember since I thought you would have many people’s stories to remember. How is Simmi and are things better with your situation? I will come visit now. ♡♡ Thank you for sharing the German phrases. I will show my Mom next time I visit. 🙂 Hugs, Robin

    • Oh, how your found comments made me smile! I love your grandparent elves who could probably teach the present Elf on a Shelf “a thing or two!” (I found your comment late in the pending approval wordpress “dungeon”)
      Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and your New Year continues to be fantastic! Smiles, Robin

    • I like the way you expressed this, Danica. Hope yours was everything you hoped for. Thank you very much and I have been happily enjoying a rather lazy holiday. My Mom and I ate so much, just sat, talked, reminisced and watched the Hallmark movies. I was glad my brother invited us over, grilled steaks and we visited awhile there. When he came over to Mom’s apt, we watched two action movies! 🙂

    • Colleen, I am so glad you found this to be comforting, along with being wonderful and joyful. ♡ I think old fashioned ways bring me comfort, too. Familiar traditions bring our past into our present. 🙂

    • I like how you expressed this, Veronica. Humanity includes the “pleasure” of traditions or “rituals.” Customs bring our past into our present, especially at Christmas. Families sometimes carry our rituals into the future. Here’s to you, for a wonderful and happy new year, dear V. ♡

    • Alex, the tiny penguin does make its own fun moment! 🙂 I wish I had a “back up” since the little song is slowing down. Hope you had lots of fun, Alex. Are you getting ready to celebrate the end of the year?
      Last year, I mentioned our little traditions: we open the front and back door, we bang pans to scare the old year out. We put a piece of silver under the front welcome mat, a dime or spoon for each member of the household. This is to bring “prosperity” into the new year! 🙂 On the morning of the first, we gather up the silver so they won’t get tarnished. Just in case you and your family wish to add a new ritual. 🙂

    • Diana, so glad you enjoyed this calm place. I like how you described this, my simple apt. I will head over to remind myself if you liked finding your book on my 12/30 post with my list of 14 authors to check out and read in the new year! 🙂 ♡

      • No problem at all. My computer is so slow that occasionally I don’t give it enough time to register comments and likes before I’m on to the next thing. Technology is a blessing and a bane!

    • Thank you, Brenda. So glad you liked the little toys, which you called perfectly, “buddies.” I gave my Mom the matching “girl elf” and she was so ecstatic.
      I don’t expect everyone to keep up with my busy level of posts. December was a fun month which meant I posted a lot! 🙂

    • I agree, I was pretty excited about the holidays and went a little overboard on my posts, too. Thank you, Jo, for knowing my holidays would be good. Hope your new year will be fantastic with safe travels included. ♡

Leave a Reply

