Christmas Lights

Standard

image

The angel in the decorations
arrangement has an upraised
trumpet, sounding exuberant,
celebrating a birth.

The lights are almost like day-glo,
causing my grandkids to
exclaim excitedly,
“Look, Nana!”

I pull over and we look and talk
about this house with its yard
full with rainbow colored lights.

When the girls place the
pretty baby Jesus in old
plaster of Paris
manger scene,
they use a hushed
tone in their voice,
whispering to each other~

“The Daddy (Joseph)
goes here on this side.”

“The Mommy (Mary)
kneels here so she can
watch her baby sleeping.”

“The three wise men come
from this direction.”

“The sheep herders come
from over here.”
(Older one says this,
age 7).

They then open the
white envelope,
sprinkle straw
on the floor
of the
wooden
barn.

X O X O

Here is a wonderful
perspective
From a writer named
Marlo Schalesky.
She was setting up
her pale caucasian
Nativity scene and
she wrote:

“I set the (Precious Moments) Mary

there beside the sleeping Jesus,

knowing that we have it all wrong.

It isn’t in the sweet pastels of life

that we find Jesus, that we

encounter Him in a new way.

He isn’t born in our sterile

birthing rooms.

He isn’t wrapped in soft,

sweet-smelling fleece.

He isn’t in the carefully structured,

pleasantly perfect place we

like to create for Him.

Instead, we find Him in the stink,

in the noise, in the out-of-the-way,

hard, sticky, smelly places of life.

No, Jesus is not born in our palaces

or even in our guest rooms.

He’s born in our life-barns.

He’s born in the place where nothing

seems right, where nothing is as we

think it should be.

That’s the real Jesus.”

Merry Christmas to you
and your loved ones.

If you don’t celebrate,
please consider this a
beloved family story.

X O X O X O

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

30 responses »

    • I am happy you enjoyed this. I hope you believe in the philosophy of, “better late than never.” I found some lovely comments of yours waiting for me to appeove. We will be connected better, I promise! πŸ™‚

  1. I used to have a nativity scene when I was a child. I used to like playing with the cows and the sheep. Perhaps I hadn’t quite grasped the point at that age. Anyway, Merry Christmas to you! πŸ™‚

      • Thank you too, Sugar. BTw, I turn 60 in Feb and I feel no different. However, Christmas is the new Scrooge and provisions, including the brass ring, before it is too later. Happy New Years.

      • Not sure how to reply to Foghorn, I have the box within the box problem. . . Thanks for saying you turned 60 in February. I will never feel cynical about Christmas since the looks on children’s and elderly people’s faces, when they revive the simplest of gifts is well worth celebrating. Hope you had a little joy or pleasant surprises, Foghorn the Ikonclast. Smiles, Robin

    • Veronica, thank you for liking this story of how the baby Jesus was born in a rather sparse and basic country manger. I re-painted my grandmother’s creche figurines in a little more realistic way with my grandson 5 years ago. You are a blessing to my blogging. I appreciate your thoughtful posts and comments. Merry Christmas to your family, V. πŸ™‚ β™‘ β™‘

    • Happy holidays to you, Lynn. I was busy and rather side tracked at my Mom’s and missed a few comments! πŸ™‚ Hope you have a special new year of 2016. *Β€β˜†Β€*

      • I still have all the kids and grandchildren’s gifts here. I got back from my Mom’s to find out one household (son’s) are sick so I will stay home, rainy and chilly. Catching up on blogs and hoping to relax and nap, too. Thank you, Lynn! How did yours go? πŸ™‚

    • I am so glad you enjoyed Marlo Schalesky’s story about the manger scene. It was a messy but beautiful birth, love her words! Beth, hope you have fantastic moments, rest of the year and even more in the new year! πŸ™‚ β™‘

  2. Somehow I found your blog, and this Christmas post really resonates with me. Thank you for taking me back to that place and time. It always blows me away of that setting of the original Christmas. The trust both Mary and Joseph had in each other and God of the divine miracle that took place, and of course the manger scene. Such humble beginnings that really show how much this birth identifies with the common man.

    Had a quick glance of your blog and am now following. It has got to be such a tough world out there to start over in the dating world. After now 27 years of a great marriage for myself (thanks to God), I would not have a clue if I were to start over.

    Merry Christmas, and may God grant you His strength in 2016!

    • Maybe our mutual friend I’d Natalie Scarsberry or Amy Rose. My brother, Rich, loves to run and I admire the fact you have has a long standing marriage where love and faith keep your family close. Such a blessing! My two grown children, who are parents of a “yours, mine and ours” group of 7 grandkids keeps my life happy and God gives me love and strength. Smiles, Robin

    • The story gives us a realistic picture, Maniparna. It mentioned how there probably was a messy, unusual birth but still a beautiful story. I like the author, Marlo Schalesky, how she named the manger a “Life barn.” πŸ™‚ Thank you for so many nice comments this year! Happy New Year, 2016! *Β€β˜†β—‡β˜†Β€*

    • I appreciate your looking back at a few of my posts, Ellen. I let a week go by accidentally not checking that pending approval part of wordpress. I wish it would register that I had been there and you had been here. πŸ™‚ Hugs, Robin

    • I am blessed with good friends and family but am constantly enjoying the level of conversation and interesting subjects that stimulate my mind here in blogging land. Thank you very much, Diana, for your being moved by Marlo S’s. message and enjoying the girls who were playing with my recently darkened figurines in my manger set. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

