Art of balloons filled with Joy

Image

image

This is a print, it has its
proof of authenticity,
glued on the back,
yellowed paper.

My grandmother,
father’s mother,
Eveline Holden,
whose uncle was
artist, sculptor,
creator of balancing acts.

Stabiles = mobiles and sculptures

My friend, who appreciates art,
Encouraging me to share this
Numbered print from my
Great Grand Uncle,
Alexander Calder.

Please check out
Jenny’s posts
about so
much:
http://charactersfromthekitchen.wordpress.com

I have the yellowed,
scribbled on paper,
to follow on same
day:  Proof or
Provenance.

~ * ~  ~ * ~  ~ * ~

Happy,
Joyful
New
Year
to
you
&
yours!

40 responses »

    • Dan, that is a great idea and helps me feel it isn’t too “simple.” I have seen many of Alexander Calder’s sculptures in front of museums which seem so incredibly interesting so I was a little disappointed with this print. I will think of its possible representation of people.

      • The comic strip with the characters catching the sun between 2 trees, does make me smile. The way the black lines bend in my art print does give me the idea, thanks to you Dan, of people walking, little ones (kids) included! Thank you so much!

    • I do this, too. (Reading posts backwards ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Sometimes I wish this were “more” and I take it down and rotate it around my apt. Glad you felt it to be “wonderful,” Beth. Thank you!

    • My family all received the same lithograph design. Rich had his print over his piano a few years ago but this year, when I took the photo of the M &M girls at the piano, my brother’s art was there.

    • I appreciate your kind compliment, Brenda. I like how you added the “extra layer” in your description which does make it more special. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you and yours have a fantastic new year in 2016.

      • Families like yours have art, music, writing and photography which make yours multi-talented, Brenda! ๐Ÿ™‚ I liked your son’s music video which I believe incorporated a story (or fairy tale elements)you wrote. . .
        Happy new year and no accidents or hurt people allowed in either your house or my family!
        Argh! (you had son and you both hurt; while Mom’s two falls, (spring) broken rib and speech problems then (August) the shattered hip)

    • Thank you, Cindy. I have liked it and put it in my son’s bedroom for years, since he liked this. Glad you found it to be “very cool!” Hope you have a wonderful new year, Cindy.

    • So glad you liked it, Marissa. I received it in 1981 so it spent a lot of time in my son’s baby bedroom. He loved staring at the shapes. (Jamie was born in ’81.) I have not fully appreciated it. Someone today mentioned it looks like people so now I have a better idea than balloons! I can “see” adults walking with children.

    • It is so funny since I was just over at your “place” leaving you a message, Pauline! โ™ก
      I left this for years in my son, James Matthew’s room. I received it in 1981 the year he was born and it hung above his crib. I had his room done in red, white and blue with revolutionary soldiers on a border. He loved looking at the “balls” then later he added a syllable, “balloons.” It wasn’t until my blogging friend, Dan Antion, mentioned people, did I see a new possibility. Men and women walking on a busy sidewalk with smaller sized people or children. This helps me to appreciate the print all over again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I am sure your Dad with his sculptures created many pieces which had meaning to you snd your family. I like the way he incorporated fun and found objects into his. I did not fully appreciate this while I was younger, but saw his large sculptures in Washington D.C., New York and Barcelona before I received the gift of a lithograph. The print seemed a little light hearted but as time goes by, I am grateful. My grandmother’s mother’s brother. My grandmother “colored” for Gibson cards but was poor, my Dad really never felt close to those “distant relatives” who didn’t help his mother and him. I am grateful for this now. Thank you, Luanne for your enthusiasm and knowledge of Calder. Hugs, Robin โ™ก

      • You have art in your heritage, Robin! That is not at all surprising. I was so surprised to learn that Calder’s art was so wide-ranging. I grew up knowing about the big metal sculptures that my father so admired, but when I learned about his more folk type and child-oriented creations, I knew that he had the same sensibilities as my father, although the talent that my father didn’t have in such quantity.

      • I was happy to know this about your father. It is nice how we have had overlapping lives in our interests, fairly similar parents and our grandparents with art, writing, sewing and dolls connecting us, Luanne. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Maniparna, you see depth in this and I really am grateful for your view on this. Distance and intelligence are what I believe you have! You saw more than most have from my past friends of your age. Thanks, “humanity” is lovely interpretation. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Oh Robin, this is so exciting! Thanks for the shout out – I feel very honoured to be mentioned in connection with your great artistic relative! There is an exhibition on at our most prestigious modern art gallery showing his work . I’m definitely going before it finishes in April so I’ll report back. I love your print, by the way. What a family heirloom. Happy new year xx

    • Jenny, so happy I was retracing steps backward and found your comments. I cherish your opinion and am much cheered up about the print after you declared you loved it. Sadly, for years I felt it was rather lacking in meaning.
      Did you happen to see Maniparna felt it depicted “Humanity?” Also, Dan thought (stick) people which helps me see knees bent, adults and children.
      The holidays have my time more available to check up on things but like many I am heading backwards in time! I will look forward to a full report on A. Calder art in your wonderful art museum.
      Remember how much fun people had when you demonstrated all sorts of paintings and you asked people yo guess artist’s prices? ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year, dear Jenny and family. xo xo

    • Timi, thank you very much for this kind suggestion of the modern art print’s meaning. It is a great idea! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happiness is one I will appreciate and embrace.
      Hope your family has had fun and will enjoy the close of this year. Much happiness, good health and safe travels wished you in 2016, Timi.

  2. Well that’s amazing — I love Calder! Of course I love the mobiles, but I’ve also long loved the paintings/prints, because of their primary colors and that feeling of happiness they convey. The one dimensional pieces still have that sense of perfect balance and whimsy. Just wonderful, Robin. Just wonderful. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so glad you shared!

    • Joey, thank you so much for your enthusiasm! The “perfect balance” and “whimsy” made me smile in delight.
      I have admitted this was one which we hung straight away in my baby son’s room. Jamie was born in 1981, same year received this. I have always felt it was balloons but several thoughts came up over the time and I feel much better now.
      I am hoping that Happiness will continue to come to you and your family, Joey. Enjoy a Happy New Year! ยฐโ€ขยคโ˜†ยคโ€ขยฐ

Leave a Reply

