Thursday’s Doors ~ December 31, 2015

Image

image

On the precipice of
New Year, 2016,
Entertainment
becomes
Possible
Evening
Activity
Event.

Will you see a new film?

Could you imagine going
to see a fantastic band?

Are you thinking about
theatre productions?

Multiple layers of sparks,
The fireworks flare up,
Colored and sizzling,
Crashing and fading,
It will be worth it.

However you choose
to celebrate,
Wherever you
travel,
party,

Let
it
in~
2016

* ¤ * ¤ * ¤ * ¤ *

This door is a beauty
on a building which
is Colonial Revival.
Completed on
September 21, 1896.

After a series of five
Downtown theatre fires,
Years from 1889 -1893,
Destroyed and replaced
finally so the builder
even chose specific
“fire-proof” materials:
Iron,
Tiles,
Steel,
Bricks,
Concrete.

Reminiscent of Chicago,
Schiller Theatre,
Built five years
Earlier in
1891.

Original name,
“The Great Southern
Fireproof
Hotel and
Opera House.”

The U.S. National Register
Of Historic Places, 1982.
“The oldest surviving theatre
In Central, Ohio.”

Seating 933 people in what is
called a “jewel box” type of
theatre with two balconies.

Quote:
“From the “proscenium” opening,
a series of concentric arches,
dotted with incandescent
electic lights radiate into
the (theatre’s) house,
resulting in superior
lighting and
excellent
acoustics.”
* Source: Wikipedia *

One of first famous
performers was,
Sarah Bernhardt.

Here are the beginning
performers at Great
Southern Theatre
and Hotel:

JANUARY, 2016

~16th-
Calidore String  Quartet,
4:00 p.m.

~24th-
Pro Musica presents,
Beethoven’s Symphony
No. 4,
7:00 p.m.

~30th-
Todd Rundgren,
8:00 p.m.

FEBRUARY, 2016

~3rd-
Columbus Jazz
Orchestra,
“Sammy, Dean and a little
bit of Frank.”
7:30 p.m.
~4th-
See above program,
8:00 p.m.
~5th-
See above program,
8:00 p.m.
~6th-
See above program,
8:00 p.m.
~7th-
See above program,
Afternoon at 3:00 p.m.

For day before
♡ Valentines Day ♡
Pro Musica presents
a Soiree with Steep
Canyon Rangers,
8:00 p.m.

~20th-
Imani Winds,
8:00 p.m.

p.s. I did not like the
straight on doors
photograph taken
by myself. You
weren’t able
to see the
great sign.

~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~
~ Happy New Year’s Eve ~

“Another fresh new year is here. . .
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!”

~ Written by William Arthur Ward,
American Writer (1921-1994).

This Thursday’s Doors post
is part of an ongoing
collection of doors,
hosted by Norm
Frampton.
Please check
out more doors
found on Norm’s blog at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

66 responses »

    • It certainly is! I saw Todd Rundgren at Bowling Green, Ohio (BGSU campus) in 1974! It was a great concert and “I saw the light in her (your) eyes” and “Hello, It’s Me” can get me a little teary eyed. The Beethoven’s and Valentines Day Concerta sound wonderful and rather intimate in a “smaller venue” of only 933 people. Thanks for this comment and Happy New Year!! °•¤☆☆¤•°

    • Thanks, Beth. I imagine we both would enjoy Todd Rundgren! 🙂 Also, exploring the building, checking out the antique details. The theater is a place far more interesting than a movie or a larger concert venue. Enjoy your celebrating the new year in, Beth! ♡

    • It has quite a history, Norm. I am glad you named it “majestic” since it fits the antiquity of the building. Thanks for bring me into the doors weekly series, I cannot go hardly anywhere without looking for doors. (On the other hand, sometimes I feel obsessed by doors! Lol) Have a wonderful new year, to you and yours! ☆☆

    • Thanks, April. I am glad you liked this theatre door. I found it fascinating piece of history with other theatre’s burning down. I imagine candles tipping over or bad electrical connections. Still, hoping to go inside here. While growing up in Cleveland I went to a few theatres, but have only been to 2 in the Columbus area and none this grand! 🙂 Hope you have a great new year and don’t worry, things will be better for you and for me. 🙂 ♡

    • That movie looks great and enjoy! Mike and Florence, ♡♡ congratulations for your ten year’s anniversary! Felicia and I went to see “Joy” which was a good movie, too. 🙂

  1. This is gorgeous! Love the old timey sign! Is the girl an ad? I kind of like it but don’t think she really fits in the theme. I think they need one of those old time saloon gals, you know? I’ll just be staying in the NYE. I have to work today so I predict being asleep by 10!

    • Marissa, I am sure the girl is one of their December acts which I didn’t check since I wanted this to be my “head into January” post and New Year’s Eve post. We went by back on December 4th or 5th. I didn’t walk over since cars behind me. A man started to walk out, a guard to tell me to pull away from the curb.

      • Oh what a drag, ha, ha! Yeah, probably one of their acts but they should just book cabaret shows or something…you know, just so it looks more cohesive with the building, ha, ha!

    • I do feel the building would be great for a cabaret style performance. I also think your point is well taken. If I ever get down there again in this area, I will see what the top part of the window has decorated as. Smiles, Robin

    • I have never been inside, Colleen. In fact, the guard inside didn’t like my pulling up to the curb to take the photographs. I would love to see Todd Rundgren! ☆☆☆☆ 🙂 This was such a pretty and grand doorway. I also felt the story of other local theatre’s burning photographs in those olden days, gave it an interesting “beginning.” Columbus is lucky such a fantastic building is still being used. It’s renovations and being kept in great shape makes me want to go sometime in the future.

      • I hope you get to go Robin. I love ‘old’ things. Especially if the old things are still being used for what they were intended.

        Makes it even nicer. 🙂

    • Hi dear V. Happy new year! ♡ May you and yours have good health, safe travels and joyful moments.
      Someday, I hope to go inside and I know you are right about red velvet seats and roping. I pulled up in the city by the curb and a guard inside motioned me away. One of my photos has his body and silhouette in one of the doors. 🙂 Do you own a winery? I was showing the Noah old grape vines and my youngest daughter asked me this good question.

      • I’ll have to get back to you for that answer. I don’t think that wine is made from Fox grape alone, anymore, as the taste is ‘foxy’. The grape harvested from this vineyard is mixed with other grape. But I’ll check.x

    • Judy, thanks for finding this doors post to be a great one. I agree, the people coming and going are ones to “imagine.” I would like to see them all dressed up. 🙂 I personally would really enjoy the Beethoven’s abd the rock star, Todd Rundgren. Happy new year, Judy, and may it be a joyous one!

    • I appreciate the happy new year even if you plan on going to bed, Jay. I wanted to tell you that my youngest daughter and I liked the movie, “Joy.” I am glad you didn’t “pan it” since it had its elements of suspense, sadness and hopefulness, too. I could give you a hug!! 🙂

    • Jill, thank you for this special good wish for my family and I! I think it would be nice to see Todd Rundgren in this “smaller venue” since I saw him at BGSU in the big auditorium with many more in the audience than 933. 🙂 I like his “Hello, It’s Me” and “I saw the light in your (her) eyes.” I also would like the Beethoven’s concert. Mainly, I am curious about the interior! 🙂
      Hope you and Derek have a very nice evening and joyful moments, safe travels and good health. Smiles, Robin

    • Thanks, Sandhya. ♡ I really wanted to jump out and look inside the doors, but an interior security guard motioned me to pull out away from the curb. I have been to Broadway and a few nice theaters in Cleveland but the only Columbus theater I have bern inside was The Palace. There are thousands of seats and I have enjoyed musicals there. I would enjoy a concert with Beethoven’s or the rock star, Todd Rundgren. 🙂
      Hope you have a wonderful new year and your year includes fun and nice surprises. 🙂

      • Robin, What a shame that you could not go inside. We went with our children and their friends to Gloucester yesterday . And after we had the huge seafood lunch we drove to the two castles there. It was in the 40s but both the castles were closed and we could not even see beyond the barriers, which was such a shame too 😦
        Hope you had a great time with your family.

      • Sandhya, the book is a picture book with beautiful story. I like the author, Robert Mc Closky. It is a Caldecott winner book. My favorite book he writes is “Make Way For Ducklings.”

    • I am not sure of which one, but my Great Grandpa John Mattson, a stone mason, worked on one of those castles. He came over as an immigrant from Sweden. I think it is such a shame that the castle was closed. 😦 I like Ipswich for clams and Rockport for lobsters. Do you associate blueberries with New England, Sandhya? My daughter has a book set near Rockport which is called, “Blueberries for Sal.” If this is wrong I will look it up and contact you.

      • Both the castles are simply spectacular and so romantic! So either way, your Great Grandpa did a fabulous job, Robin.
        This place in Gloucester has baked haddock with stuffing, which is out of this world!
        I have gone blueberry picking in Northern Massachusetts but had not really associated it with New England as such. It is funny that my cousin who lived in Washington State talked of getting blueberries by the tons, so I always associated blueberries with that state. But I could be totally wrong. Good topic to explore.

  2. Aloha, Robin: Sigh, I do love great old architecture, but I have to leave my pastoral existence once in awhile to savor it. Wishing you and yours the very best in 2016. Thanks for your kind connection here on WordPress! Be well.

    • I appreciate your stopping by, dear friend. Hope to be in a pastoral setting once in awhile every year. My friends dad owns a farm with cows and chickens. 🙂 I have been to a bigger theater in Cleveland, Columbus and New York. This smaller venue of only 933 seats interests me since my tickets are usually in the nose bleed section! 🙂 lol Hugs and kisses, Robin ♡

    • So happy you wish this for me, Debby. Did you see your book on my list of fellow bloggers who write books? I was happy to post 14 but there ate many more authors out there. I thought it would be a good way to motivate people to either purchase them or get their local library to purchase them. It was my post called, “Great News: Library Requisition Forms.” Luanne, Balroop, Lana and others were collected. Happy new beginnings to you with hope of good health, adventures and safe travels, D.!

  3. Lovely! Beautiful stone work here.
    When I lived in a small town, briefly, ages 9-12, we had an old theatre of the traditional sort. It was almost exclusively red and gold inside, with a red velvet curtain and all that. A proper stage from an earlier time. Going to the movies there was always a wonderful experience for me, and I have many fond memories of the marquee titles and the popcorn 🙂
    I’ve heard it’s no longer there, but I’m not sure.

    • We have a hundred year old movie theater in Delaware called the Strand theatre. I liked this one since it has an ornate door frame of stone. I realize you noticed this, Joey. Our theater in Delaware has a brick exterior and although it has been redone to carry out the gold filigree, the details are beautiful it is not as grand as this Southern Theatre is. The description on their website and Wikipedia include a jewel box type of double balconies. In the Strand we have a modern style side theater and the balcony is away from the main theater. This allows 3 movies to be shown. We like the cozy element of the balcony and my son’s children and I saw the newest Chipmunks movie there. The M & M girls stood up and danced when there was a dance scene. 🙂 the main theater had the Star Wars movie.

    • I think it would be cool to find out if the childhood theater you remember is still around. Maybe, like our old fashioned small town movie theater, it got “rescued,” Joey! The red and gold decorations and detail of the old style marquee from your childhood memories sound wonderful, Joey!

      • I know, right? I was just thinking, while reading your other comment, sometime I should drive there (bout 90 minutes) and check out my old digs. Bet I could get some groovy doors as well… 😉

      • Oh, maybe a summer road trip with one of your kids to show your old stomping grounds. Is it any closer to my state of Ohio? I think Indianapolis may be 3 1/2 hours away from Delaware, ohio. I would be happy to drive over and see things and leave to come home at around 7 or 8, summertime 🙂

Leave a Reply

