Looking out at a wonderful 2016. . .

Image

image

This window is one which
hasn’t seen much snow
fall this year yet.

The nut and bon bon trees
are nostalgic reminders
of how we used to
decorate with so
many natural
items.

Grape vine wreaths,
Cranberry circlets,
Candy garlands,
Popcorn strings
and chains of
colored paper
rings.

Bouquets and vases full
of evergreen branches,
potted poinsettias and
holly berry sprigs, resting
on antique tea – colored
doilies and lacy tablecloths.

~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~ ¤ ~

Photo taken inside the
Worthington Inn, by Robin.
Thoughts by Robin also.

As you put away the
decorations. . .

What do you have to
remember
Christmases past?

What do you see in the
new year?

60 responses »

  1. Cheers on penning the thoughts down so beautifully Robin! N the picture is too beautiful to comment on ! I always do and will miss the festive season once it’s gone…awaiting the next year ! Hope you have a cheerful new year 😀

    • Aayusi, I like your new gravatar, so pretty! I wear contacts but just got a good deal on 2 pairs of glasses for under $150. I have a youngest daughter who blogs, she wears glasses sometimes, too. I need to both of us take photos of each other to create new gravatars with glasses. We went to see, “Joy” on Wednesday.
      I am glad you enjoyed the photo of this old inn’s window. It was lovely how each window was decorated. It was hard to decide which window or angle to use! 🙂 Hope you have a special new year with pleasant moments and happy surprises, dear. Thank you for your wish for me to have a cheerful year, too.♡

    • Elizabeth, Thank you for liking my poetic thoughts. ♡ I see both of us trying new things this year, as I consider whether or not I should continue my “wearing” job at the warehouse or “downsize” my income to work at a daycare center. . . I miss working with children but I have 3 weeks vacation and attendance bonuses at present job.
      I liked your goals and I will follow my one word, “Openness” to see where it takes me. Hugs, Robin

    • Your comment really made me smile since you noticed the floating snowflakes! 🙂 I wish people good times hoping for the best, too. Marissa, no predictions here but I would be happy as a clam if we could have a warm winter. . . Skip through the slush, icy and scraping ice. Oh, my girlfriend bought me a shovel which I keep buried in my trunk years ago. Every winter I am grateful for it but would love to not need it. Lol

      • Well, you know, here I am in L.A. and I do miss the snow but not all the clean up that goes with it. I always wished it would snow for one day and then just go away…before it iced up or anyone had to worry about shoveling it and all that…you know?

  2. I only decorated with natural items this year and loved it. Simplified a little as well, which helps with how much I have to put away! Wishing you and your family a wonderful new year, Robin! xo

    • Kelly, thank you so much for your warm comments and replies over the year. I hope to stay better connected to such positive people such as you. ♡ I am happy this idea of natural decorations resonated with your current practices along with how it emotionally feeds our soul to have touches of nature surrounding ourselves. Hugs, Robin xo

      • It does feed the soul – that’s for sure! But I am not relishing the idea of taking down the real tree this year! I know I am in for a mess! But it was worth it 🙂

      • I have a little artificial tree with little colored lights, tiny bird’s nests, rusty bells, gingham burgundy and cream checked ribbons tied on the branches. I bought it when I moved to my apt in 2006 at a school craft sale. 🙂 I liked my son’s live tree but sure my DIL is not excited about taking it down!

  3. That is such a wonderfully warm looking window. I have a vivid memory from Christmas as a child. I received a new shiny bright pink bike with a banana seat. My first trip on it, I took a spill. I walked the bike home and wouldn’t get on it for a while.

    • April, you were the first one ♡ who mentioned a memory from Christmas past. I cherish my memories of a new bike, too. Mine was a purple bike with training wheels and those tassels on the end of each handle bar. I am sorry you took a rather bad “spill” and wish we didn’t have to fall when we need to learn balance on 2 wheels. 😦 Thank you for sharing your Christmas excitement which was dampened with a sad experience. Thank you for liking the window, April. 🙂

    • Sylvia, thank you for liking this photo. Each of the windows in this Worthington Inn had similar old fashioned windows. I liked the silver tea cups with baubles in them. 🙂
      So glad you had a wonderful international experience for Christmas and am hoping to see a few more photos along our rather “boring” path through January! Thank you for special new year’s wish!xo xo

  4. The main memories I have of Christmases past (as a child) is being with family: parents, brother, grandparents and aunt/cousin. Warm happy memories, and a reminder that life changes constantly, but memories keep life still, if only for a brief moment. xo

    • Pam, thank you for holding your memories close but sharing those family members and warm, happy memories with us. Life does move forward, some of my family gone who once were a big part of my past Christmases.
      I do feel the stillness, as you mentioned may be brief, on a holiday comes either in the first part of the day or last thoughts before we slip into sleep. ♡

    • You may have seen my list of 14 authors, including you and your books, on the post December 30, 2015 titled, “Great News: Library Requisition Forms.” I included Balroop, Jill W., Carrie R. And other fellow bloggers who write books. 🙂

    • Juan, in women’s magazines, crafty people look at and sometimes imitate or make these. Some industrious friends may craft these. Taking the toothpicks or tacks and catching an edge of a wrapped candy, in this photo, peppermint balls, get poked into either cardboard or Styrofoam forms. Then, later people may take them off. The other tree has nuts and little apples and I have seen oranges with cloves poked into them, with thin wire picks. I am not sure it is not done in California since I have seen western homes in magazine features and movie stars would have decorators make these. Smiles, Robin

    • I know it is not something you may get to do but when Hunter gets older, crafts are fun to do together. Making ornaments or a special kit you choose to do will last longer (in his memory) than the time you spent, Juan. My Dad did wood-burning and painting with us, wooden shapes like rocking horses he bought pre-cut, so we could give them to my Mom as a surprise. 🙂

  5. I have lovely memories of Christmas as a child, thinking of the excitement and receiving toys that no one has even heard of now! When I describe them to my kids they can’t believe there was nothing electrical or technological among the lot. I was big on dolls. Tressie (not sure about the spelling of that) was one of my favourites. One of the twelve inch dolls that must have been in competition with Barbie and Sindy – and lost. She had a hole at the top of her head where hair went in or out by winding a little dial on her body. I loved that she could have long hair, short hair, in-between. Sounds a bit sad now! Another was a baby doll that I knew I was getting and my mum knitted her a dress before Christmas because she came naked. (The doll, not my mum!) I got to choose her name in advance so that my mum could embroider it on her dress and not have it confused with my sister’s. Ah, good days. Memory lane. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for adding your Christmas past memories, dear. I think since hair may be called “tresses” this doll’s name is completely logical and you probably were spot on in spelling this. I had a Barbie and a Tammy doll plus along the way in life a “Thumbelina” which moved her head and went, “wahh!” I like the sound of a doll coming in her undies or naked and your sweet mum making outfits for her, knitting a dress. My Mom made a lot of my Barbie or baby doll clothes, nightgowns and rompers. The old days meant parents would make more than buy things. My dad made my baby a cradle and high chair. He taught my brothers how to pound nails and they made twin beds for my Barbie and Tammy.
      Did you ever watch the Tammy movies with Sandra Dee playing a backwoods girl? I am still a proud owner of a few dolls up in closet, in cases. This was fun and hope you didn’t get bored with my long response. Lol 🙂

      • Not at all. I enjoy the chat. 🙂 The first time I ever heard of Sandra Dee was in the movie Grease, ‘…look at me, I’m Sandra Dee…’. I still don’t know who she is!
        I’m laughing at the making of doll houses and beds. I remember using shoe boxes, poking holes in the sides and putting string through to create a carry cot. Necessity is the mother of invention, as they say.
        Funnily, I think that making those things had less to do with not having them but more to do with the pleasure of imagination in creating them. My own kids were big on what they called ‘paper people’. I actually bought them a ream of blank paper each one Christmas because they loved to draw people, cut them out and create towns with backdrops and whatnots. Like Sims – with paper. 🙂

  6. That’s a lovely photo Robin – and the thoughts are ones I concur with too. I like to see items that are natural and or hand made any time of the year. When I had a bigger home and younger children in it, I used to make Mid Winter wreathes of fir branches and pine cones and our native bits and pieces for the table setting – remember that would be in June when you are enjoying high Summer 🙂 We would make lanterns to place candles in and go walking with them – and enjoy having lots of candle-light about the house too, nowadays it is all LED which is not the same. I still love my antique doilies and lacy tablecloths 🙂

    • I like your lacy tablecloths and your having antique dollies, too, Pauline. I do remember Mom going outside with us as children, gathering pine cones and nuts. One’s we had to pound the outside shells with hammers on the cement basement floor. 🙂 My Mom and Dad also liked lighting candles, including the Mexican custom (Mom was Spanish H.S. teacher) of putting sand into paper bags and little glass votive with 35 cent candles lit down the driveway and porch. We all were little “pyromaniacs” so we would ask to take matches and light these. One year she managed to get neighbors to add their own “Luminaries” to their drives. 🙂

  7. Beautiful thoughts Robin! I can clearly see sunshine, new hopes, love and peace all around us in 2016. And yes, more such posts from my lovely friends around the globe 🙂

    • Balroop, I admire your ability to keep up with your own posts and comments while still going around visiting, too. 🙂 I like your positive perspective and hopeful view of sunshine, new hopes, love and peace.♡ It would help bless so many people in much worse places than where I live. I will pray this, too. 🙂

    • Joanne, I was hoping people would enjoy this as much as I did! 🙂 Each window in this Worthington Inn was equally beautiful. I had been inside once for a drink at the bar with a friend in the summer but only admired it from afar, as I drove past it in the winter time. Thank you for your nice wishes and hope you have a lovely and healthy new year, Joanne!

    • Thank you, Debby. I am honored to have you visit. I like the way you thought I was bringing a sense of wonder into this post. Smiles, Robin
      Did you get a chance to see the 12/30/15 post with a list of fellow bloggers who,are talented like yourself and write books? 🙂 You were on my list of 14.

      • Hi Robin. Of course I visited that post, amongst others. I left comment there, maybe you didn’t see it? I was honoured to be in such great company.And thanks again for including me. 🙂

    • I had one I took of this window from an angle where it wasn’t so glare like from the white lights. This one just seemed more cheerful. All the windows in this Inn had beautiful and decorative items, Natalie. Thank you for enjoying the descriptions of Christmases past.♡
      I had been inside once during the summer one time and driven past to see it all lit up for Christmas before. Truly a lovely experience and hope to make it an annual event. 🙂

  8. Such a beautiful photo. I remember decorating with natural materials, and now I’m inspired to do that again. It is wonderful to bring nature indoors. As for the new year, I take them as them come and try to remain optimistic. I hope your new year is wonderful!

    • You have had new beginnings since the fall with changing jobs and subbing in different buildings. Change is sometimes not something I do as well with these days, Lana. I admire your spunk and interest in young people. I hope you have one school ask you to take over a classrrom, if this would be your favored choice. 🙂

      • Change is usually not something we do well as time goes on, but luckily we can adapt if the need arises. Yes every day is a different “job” in a different place, at least I’m learning my way around 🙂 I was hoping for a teaching position, but it is very difficult to be hired permanently in this district so I will most likely have to remain flexible. I do teach at some schools on a fairly regular basis so that is good at least.

  9. That is a wonderful photo! I can feel the warmth 🙂 Yes, Christmases past! We didn’t have much when I was growing up and it was an entirely different world. Not necessarily worse, for sure! 🙂

    Reading your title, I thought you were playing 6 words, Robin! Am I becoming obsessive? (what am I saying- I’ve always been an obsessive 🙂 ) I love your observations on life! A very happy 2016 to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

