One Day’s Gone; A New Day Begins

Image

image

There is something mystical in the
way a sky looks like a big paint
brush created bold strokes,
swirls and pockets of color.

There is something sad, sorrowful
in the contemplation to endings.
The mournful camp song with
cornet or trumpet sounding,
“Day is done, gone the sun. . .”
A little weepy as young we go,
hunkering into sleeping bag.

Lovers often leave each other,
not just business trips or for
family gatherings at holidays.
Sometimes, war duty calling~
“Parting is such sweet sorrow,
Until we see each other in the
‘morrow.” Airports bring damp
eyes to people watchers and
participants in life’s separations.

The striated sky made sweeping
thoughts across my mind,
illustrating examples of sunset,
the power of the horizon.

Just as I turn back into my
mother’s apartment a “V” of
geese cross my vision, their
noisy “voices” raised in honks.
It is not “goodbye” but more a
raucous, joyous act of flying
together which raises my spirit,

“Fare thee well.”

56 responses »

  1. Beautiful photo Robin and some very interesting thoughts wrapped around it. Moving on is always important but stopping to notice what we have or have to deal with is equally so.

      • I’m being amazed when I pull in to work in the morning. We’ve always had a wonderful look at the sky from work. And I went out the other night just to see the night sky, I never get to see it as much.

      • I am in work once we clock in at 7 unless Friday which is 6 am. I miss sunrises in Winter but I am glad you have seen some amazing ones, Colleen. They start your day out just right. I like to walk outside at night to see the stars or moon. It is always nice “chatting” with you!

    • To get up in the morning we have to believe in those amazing goals of peace and togetherness, you are SO right, Sylvia! I am happy that you liked the paintbrush strokes in the sky, in words and photo. You have taken amazing photos on your blog of skies. Sending hugs back to you, dear.

    • Thank you for inquiring about my Mom. The last time I spoke to her was on New Year’s Eve. She was happy there was some special snacks and clear cups of champagne being served down in the senior Pub.We had a great time despite only 24th thru 27th. Next visit is the weekend of hers and Dad’s anniversary, the week before Valentine’s day, Pauline.
      I think we both know how to see the “glass half full” and I was hoping you, my artist friend, would like this painting analogy. Not really original; but it got me started on a few ramblings, lol.

    • I had fun but really, the sky spoke for itself! I even considered removing the buildings but the sidewalk is reflecting the sunset’s glow. . . Thanks for your compliments, Marissa.

    • Thank you for liking this and enjoying the sweet sorrow quote, I think was Shakespeare’s. Your post was beautiful with the camel in the photo and the way you handled the end of 2015 and new ship of 2016. May you enjoy your sailing into new adventures, Maniparna.

    • Thank you and this is “easy” to be prolific. *Compared to the 1000’s of words I poured out in the beginning at the library where I was afraid to download photos. πŸ™‚ a picture paints a thousand words, I learned the hard way! It was good practice and I admire writers so much! This was nice of you.

  2. I have said my share of goodbyes, and some are quite difficult, especially those involving family. I know I will miss them, but I also know something new awaits around the next turn. I find optimism and excitement in the anticipation of a new place and a new day. – Mike

    • Oh, yes! I really like the idea of following them. Their have been two Hallmark movies similar to “Fly Away Home.” When I see they will be on, I watch them. There instincts to form the “V” and then, helping the worn leader and changing formation and then, their raucous “honking” show how we should live in a community spiritual way. Thank you, Brenda! β™‘

      • I love Fly Away Home, such a good movie. It must be tough up there in the turbulent air, cold and stiff. But glorious, too, I imagine it. Seeing the patterns of the earth that aren’t visible until you’re far away.

      • I think it would be tough, Brenda. When I once in awhile see a goose flying, circling round and honking, no one returning his calls, I have actually felt that poor goose’s frantic response. I have worried if he didn’t find his comrades. Silent prayers relieve my mind a bit, though.

Leave a Reply

