Chilly day; perfect for a bowl of chili

Image

image

“Another fresh new year is here,
Another year to live.
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!”

~ William Arthur Ward,
American writer,
1921 – 1994.

Big, fire-roasted tomatoes,
Vegetarian chili beans
with soy for protein,
Vitamin C from the
tomatoes.

Mmm. . .

Just perfect for a
chilly Winter’s day.
I like to make
cornbread muffins
and add a salad to
my chili meal.

How do you like
your chili?

Spicy,
Meaty,
Cheesy,
Tomato-y?

What’s cooking in
your kitchen?

119 responses »

    • Hi Sheila! I have been meaning to tell you to please travel back to 12/30/15 where it has Great News in the beginning of the title. I featured 14 fellow bloggers and their books and how to get a hold of them, including Red, of course! πŸ™‚ I knew the holidays were busy so I made it the day before New Year’s book promotion post. Hugs, Robin β™‘

      • Robin, thanks so very much for the shout out on your blog! The Red Man sends his heartfelt thanks, too! Super send off for The Short Side of Time!

      • You are most welcome, Sheila! I tried to wait on a few but knew it would be fun to see people’s comments, too. πŸ™‚
        I love you guys, despite my not always checking your posts out! β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘

    • Hi, Sue. You sre so right! Any day is perfect for chili! πŸ™‚
      Did I remember to send you back to my post on 12/30/15? When you said people say facetious comments like, “You should write a book.” It made me snile but compile a list of 14 fellow bloggers who are also authors.(You, Balroop, Lana, Anneli, Jill, Diana, Sheila. . .) It says “Great News” in the title. You may have seen a few come over and visit then. I hope. β™‘

  1. We’re not ‘spicy’ people, thus not a lot of hot pepper in our chili. However, our Christmas Eve tradition is a big pot of chili and corn bread served around the table for all of our guests (which now means family: daughter and son-in-law and grandkiddies – who aren’t quite sure if they like chili yet. πŸ™‚ Stay warm!!

    • Pam, if I saw you talk about this, I had forgotten this really “warm” Christmas Eve tradition! I like the way it sounds cozy. πŸ™‚ My grandies like tomato soup, chicken or turkey noodle and potato soup; but not chili either.

    • I love guacamole! Thanks for bringing this up! You saw my question!
      I like that places are putting it avacado on sandwiches. My youngest daughter buys them a lot and I have really enjoyed having a slice or two with Triscuit crackers and cheese, Nia.

    • It is a great snack and yet, I do love guacamole! Yes, you are right it IS a fruit. I think of tomatoes and avacado as veggies as I eat them. Not like a strawberry or grapefruit where I add sugar! πŸ™‚

    • You are right, add chili powder or flakes, a pinch should be enough. Is it cold there, Veronica? We will drop down to 11 degrees tonight. Brr-r! Hope you stay warm and cozy, dear.β™‘

      • It’s the mildest winter I’ve known bringing storms, and rain this week instead of the usual frost. Neverless we are enjoying the fireside. x

      • I am picturing you with the fire burning and feet covered with a book, the man and his dog present. So cozy and warm a painting of love.β™‘β™‘

  2. Not a fan of chili for eating purposes, though “chileh” is a running gag on my blog. When something is cooking in my kitchen, though, it’s usually setting off the smoke alarm. That means it’s finally done!

    • Oh, I definitely think you either like or dislike chili. No one is usually “on the fence” about the subject, E.S. πŸ™‚ I bet the expression, “chileh” brings chuckles! It would be hard to not laugh around your crazy sense of humor! πŸ˜€

  3. Happy New Year! Took a spontaneous blogger break but am now back. I’m with you on the veg chill cuz my husband’s a vegan. He’s got this recipe where I don’t miss the meat!

    • My daughters use a lot of Amy’s vegetarian products which the beans had a crumbled soy mixture which “chewed” like hamburger. I can go both directions but this can was on sale and very delicious with addional onions and spices. Separate fire roasted tomatos. I hope you are happy and settling in nicely, Dianne. I remember that you felt different and took some time to adjust. Believe me, I can understand. . . xo hugs

    • Pauline, they were passed down to my oldest daughter. I was over there with my chili pot on Sunday while Carrie worked. The two boys liked the tomato “sauce-y” part before I added the vegetarian beans. I made PB & J sandwiches so they had some protein.
      In the summer, I skip hot meals, too! I like salads of almost any kind. I also enjoy cold soups, especially the sweet potato and squash ones that show up in nice restaurants and magazines. πŸ™‚
      Pauline, your idea of green smoothies sounds delicious! xo

    • Diana, I bet your home will smell delicious, or already does. Time flies through the day. My youngest brother makes corn bread in his bread maker, at Thanksgiving (when he and wife are home: they were in California with son, wife and grandson, Theo). He then turns the delicious bread into stuffing with fruits, nuts and celery plus turkey bastings, adding the “glue.”

    • I am grinning, Diana. I have passed the “cooking aprons” out! πŸ™‚ Probably I have mentioned I passed all my cookie sheets, cutters and sprinkles to my 3 children. They enjoy baking with their children.
      I like board games, flashlight hikes on hot, summer nights and winter nights through freshly fallen snow and parks with my grandies.
      I have a crock pot, a couple good pots and pans and a pizza stone. I like my microwave but don’t mind heating things up in the oven. πŸ™‚

    • This was so nice of you to wish my family and I. I enjoy the word, “divine.” It is just such a unique and less often used expression. Hope you and your family enjoyed the Christmas season and wishing you a wonderful new 2016.

    • Renee, this sounds home cooked and delicious! I have almost always preferred oven fried chicken. The chopped salad sounds yummy, too. Do you have enough to go with the chili. Do you mind sharing? πŸ˜‰ I wish I could come right over. The corn bread would go with the chicken and salad. . .

  4. Looks and sounds soooooo yummy and I love chili bbut not too spicy hot. Sadly my tummy doesn’t like it at all. I used to make it from time to time, but with these arthritic feet of mine, I do very little cooking these days. Enjoy. πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. Sounds and looks like a perfect way to cap off the day – especially when the weather has turned cold – as it has hear – really cold in fact.

    As for myself – I prefer a good hearty chili – not too fussy about the type of beans used – black or kidney or chickpeas – but I love lentils and legumes, so it’s all good; seasonings? – piquant but not too spicy – as this might leave my stomach dicey – so somewhere “middle of the road” πŸ˜‰

    On my stove? at the moment nothing – but since I made a delicious Borscht soup 2 days ago – I have all things hearty and filling enough to keep me pleasantly content. πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a wonderful day and a great meal tonight!

      • There are some pretty simple and easy recipes to be found online – personally I just kept it really simple;

        vegies: carrots, celery, onion, a few potatoes and several beets – all cleaned, and chopped chunky – thrown into a pot – filled with some beef broth and mostly water – salt – and heat. Medium heat until boiling – then slow heat – until the vegies are tender.

        And no, no precise measurements – I never ever cook or bake anything by that way.

        Of course, there are many different ways – if you scan online – you’ll see – and it’s just a question of adapting to what you have on hand – and what you think you’d like. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for such a great list of ingredients. I received a new look on this post and found more replies. Chili is pretty popular. Soup is a really super meal when you add the items you mentioned, Pat. β™‘ Thanks!

    • If you lived closer I would have gladly shared some. I gave son a “to go” container and since I was at oldest daughter’s house she and her boys had some. The more the merrier! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. mmmm – I like my chili spicy regardless of whether it’s meaty or vegetarian. Hot is good!
    Now you have me craving some belly-warming chili. Tomorrow’s dinner has now been planned!

    • Joanne, so glad I could help plan your menu. Did it come out perfectly delicious? Did you have leftovers? “Second day chili” is better, in my tastebuds, than the “first day!” Hugs, Robin β™‘

      • There are certain foods – and chili is one of them – that I make in large batches. Not only are there leftovers, but also at least one meal to freeze for later.
        The frozen meal is my favourite. It means I have an ‘instant’ meal with virtually no effort πŸ™‚ … and that’s today’s chili meal!! It’s a good day πŸ˜‰

  7. Mmm – that looks yummy on a cold day. I like meaty chili, usually ground turkey meat. But the most important thing is hot spice for me. If it is mild, I will chop jalapeΓ±os for my serving. – Mike

    • I knew you would include some spicy peppers, Mike πŸ™‚ Jalepenos are good in cheese dips. I like to taste my chili, just teasing you! Turkey, beef, chicken or vegetarian all are delicious when homemade. Thanks, Mike!

    • I thought I wrote a reply. Probably didn’t wait to make sure it got to you. πŸ™‚ I love tomato soup and your adding cabbage is so nutritious, Carol. I like how cabaret tastes so sweet and mild when cooked. Thsnks for this lovely suggestion! πŸ™‚

    • Oh yeah!! I like cook offs, along with learning how to change or enhance chili’s flavorings. I have heard of sweet chili with grape jelly or brown sugar added. I love extra onions and cheddar cheese (like a coney dog without the hot dog.) Thanks,Kay πŸ™‚

  8. Yummy!
    Pretty goblet, Robin πŸ™‚
    I like pretty much all chili. Even that white chili that isn’t very chili-ish is delicious. I make mine in a traditional Midwestern way, probably similar to yours. Mine’s tomato-y and heavy on beans. Mine must also be served with cheese and oyster crackers.
    People who take chili religiously do not like tomatoes in their chili and get very upset when it’s served on or with pasta. I love a chili 3 or 5 way. I love chili on hot dogs. Chili is good. It’s a shame people aren’t more accepting of chilis πŸ˜€ lol

    • Thank you for joining this conversation. I like to think of a wider variety of topics but food comes up here from time to time! Cheers! I would be happy to share my chili and wine.

  9. Robin, this reminded me, we had a soup party last New Year and everyone one brought their favorite recipe. I did not know what what to bring. I brought Turkey Chili to impress everybody. It was my first time to do it. I got the recipe on line. I did good somehow and everybody liked it. πŸ™‚

    • I love the idea of a soup party, Nikki. I am so glad a friend from my own life is here now. Don’t feel you need to write here, unless you like or find time! πŸ™‚ β™‘β™‘

  10. Yum, yum! I like meat and beans in my chilli – thanks for serving us up a warm bowl πŸ˜€ I’ll be over soon with some French bread to sop up the extra sauce! Cheers to a wonderful New Year for you and your family. The photo and your words in the post are so inviting xx

    • Christy, while you were gone for awhile I missed you. I would go to your blog but close it since no new posts. I like the idea of having company so come on over with the French bread to dip in the extra soup in the chili! πŸ™‚
      I am glad you found the photo and words to be inviting, dear Christy! Thank you sincerely.
      I hope you have a wonderful year with moments filled with warmth, caring and a few happy surprises thrown in.

  11. We like a spicy chili and always have cornbread with it. I like to put onions and cheese on top of my chili. I recently made some and it disappeared rather quickly.

    • April, I am sure you are a great cook. When food disappears, you know you are oreparing it right! :)Your including cheese and onions on top of the chili are how I enjoy it, too. I didn’t have cheese so I cooked the onions in the chili. I have even had friends who like spicy chili, add a dollop of sour cream to “cool” it down. It tastes good this way but by myself I would take awhile to use the sour cream up. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, to all of the above. I had a coworker tell me she likes to put a scoop of sour cream on top of her chili. She brought a small container of sour cream, heated her chili up in the microwave at work, then had me taste it mixed in. This was yummy, too. It cooled off the spicy chili. Pretty soon we may need to add cut up chives on top of sour cream. Ha ha! πŸ™‚

      • I almost said that about a dollop! Now the commercials don’t say “a dollop of Daisy;” they show a swirly squeeze. ?? I could do chives, too. You’re making me hungry, and all I have is fruitcake at my desk.

    • Isn’t it funny how commercials do influence our language? I need to look at the swirled sour cream one. Thank you, Kerbey! Got a new comment on this today. Chili is like a universal “food group.” πŸ™‚

    • Yes, the perfect bowl of nutritious and satisfying delicious-ness, Benn. πŸ™‚ I liked your re-blogging of Timi’s post. I did not know her background of moving and how it caused her detachment to any one place. Interesting and thought-provoking post.

Leave a Reply

