Cemetery ~ Thursday’s Doors

Standard

image

This is the back of an 1882
Mausoleum building.
A “house” where the body
had his or her final resting
place. Although I looked
around this “log cabin-like”
building, all I could see were
other smaller family graves.

I am wondering if long ago,
lettering or signage have
been desecrated?

This building has a door
which is part of Norm
Frampton’s Thursday’s
Doors program, you
may be interested
in checking out
a variety of
doors at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

20 responses »

  1. Oh how spooky! An interesting door indeed. So, I read all 3 posts. The got condensed into one email with a 3 by the side so I read each but will just comment here. I wouldn’t want to go into that door for anything! It looks so grand but when you see it from the back it’s actually a kind of small building. Strange how the family’s name isn’t on it. I wonder when it was built and how many bodies are in there. Must cost a fortune!!

    • It was built in 1882, a long time ago. I could not even find many family plots in that same period. There wasn’t any signs to explain it. Kind of spooky to someone on the other post in a comment. I just thought it would be cool. Did you like the Bob Dylan quote, Narissa? It made me smile at the end! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I find it quite nice to be ‘laid to rest’ in a little house, instead of being buried. There are many here in every graveyard, still used. I saw a friend rested in such a way, and I appreciated it. x

    • I like that you see the positive in this place if rest. I am sure in the 1882 year it was a very special designation. I like how you expressed this, Veronica dear! ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

    • They hold quite a lot of stories, I agree. I think that as long as I don’t dwell on their ages, I enjoy the paths, flowers, rocks and the designs on headstones, Colleen. ๐Ÿ™‚
      When I was in college, I used to like to take the names from gravestones and try to create stories about the people.

      • YES! I have a brilliant idea for a book that you kind of just touched on. I told my husband about it last year. He told me to do it.

        I look at the names, and the years of their lives, and go to the time period…imagine it. Imagine them.

  3. This is a pretty one, Robin. Coincidentally my brother called me today and is worried where they will bury my mother many years from now because there doesn’t seem to be room near or even on my father in the national cemetery that he’s in. So now I have to contact some people and find out what the options are because my brother will worry.

    • I hope you find out when in the distant future you need to find a place for your mother, where it will be. I am glad you and your brother are like my 2 brothers and I are, Luanne. We all act like friends and really care about each other. So blessed.โ™ก My youngest will look up medical stuff, like when I had narrow eye glaucoma and needed laser surgery. Then, had cancer and a strip of ear removed abd skin grafted from my neck. Eek! He doesn’t get squeamish. I called him teary eyed since now at 60 I am facing cataract surgery. I worry if my eyes will hold up as long ad I believe I will live. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs for liking this door and cemeteries. โ™ก
      I am so glad you have the post about the national cemetery in Arlington, Luanne. Thought I would say this just in case new to this blog and may go back and see the great photo and story there on your blog.

      • Oh, you are lucky to have that relationship with your brothers! I think I will always be the “big sister” in our family ;). I talked to the cemetery today, which is in Michigan, and I asked about my mother. They said they use the same gravesite and they will replace the headstone and create one with both their names on it. But we needn’t worry for a long time. Mom had a physical yesterday, and the doctor thinks she’ll live until at least 100!!!

  4. One of my first jobs when I moved to Maine was caretaking a cemetery. It was a TON of work, but so very interesting. OLD cemetery – lots of old sea captain graves and such. Mausoleums, too. ;0)

Leave a Reply

