Cemetery ~ Thursday’s Doors

Image

image

This 1882 “door” is locked by
a fence. Behind the heavy
metal bars is metal door
preventing entry or
destruction.

This simple, stone building
may house one or more
bodies of a family.

Surrounded by old stoned
mausoleum which from
a distance resembled
a log cabin.

The family name interestingly
enough, is not easily found
of the person whose final
resting place has been.

One the the Seven Wonders
of the World is the 353 B.C.
Mausoleum of Halicarnassus.
This was created in Persia,
but has been unfortunately
destroyed by earthquakes.

The next two photos
on posts will show
the back of this
door and a full
front view.

This Thursday’s Doors post
is part of a collection led
by host, Norm Frampton.

Please check out other
doors and if you wish
to join, add your door
and post link on:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

19 responses »

    • It was a beautiful day while traveling to Cleveland. Thus is in Westlake where my Mom lives. I stopped for this, could see it from the road. Thanks, Dan. Smiles, Robin

  1. Strange as it may seem, there are always great photographic opportunities in cemeteries – I had just never thought of them as a place for doors though. Hmmm thanks for the idea šŸ˜‰

  2. This is making me think of doors in a new way- to what once was, to what no longer is, to the end- the entry way where we can visit with our loved ones still. And the care and effortless that went into selecting said door.

    • I love your zen like state of mind, sweet Diahann. I like that people choose family sites “to be together in the after life,” Native Americans choose burial above ground so wild animals don’t bother them and Indians choose funeral pyres where they float along a river. My Dad’s ashes are still in an urn and his plaque we arranged in a cemetery has nothing below it nor do 2 of 3 siblings have a clue where said plaque is. šŸ™‚

    • Judy you were about my age when my Grandpa died. He was in Arizona and I was 25 years old with a 6 month old baby. His 2nd wife happened to be from the town I lived with baby and husband. So I was in charge of the funeral arrangements of time, service and flowers. His second wife paid and shipped his body to Ohio in November, but ground apparently was fine. We saw casket lovered.
      We laughed a little since my Grandma was already in heaven. So, his 2nd wife had to “share” him at the time and now they are all 3 together, or however heaven handles such things. šŸ˜‰

    • I empathize with you, truly I do. It was funny since, from a distance, driving along the main road where my Mom’s senior living apts. are, I spied a “log cabin.” Even though there is a gate, I wasn’t “creeped out,” Luanne. You know how I do get this way and am sensitive to the spirits I feel in some circumstances. I didn’t get goosebumps in this particular area. I did beyond the cemetery where a white tarp was piled over lumpy things and weeds and trees blocked my view. I posted the back of the cemetery but didn’t mention the location. Thank you for your interesting “take” on this 1882 mausoleum. Hugs, Robin xo

      • I started a Pinterest board (did I tell you this already?) with headstones from my family in it. It’s only started so I haven’t had time to put much in it, but I want to fill it up!

  3. That is an interesting mausoleum. I wonder how many in the family are there? I find cemeteries to be fascinating and these kinds of structures are partly why.

Leave a Reply

