Thursday’s Doors ~ rustic open doors

Image

image

What better way to say to
All who pass by,
“You are welcome to stop in
and shoot the breeze,”
Than a door opening which
has had its barn doors
fallen off?

I could not resist totally
Ignoring any unspoken
“rules”
which clearly reveal a
“blank space”
where doors should
hang on hinges!

This barn or shed was on
my way to Marion, Ohio
on a back road called
the “old route 23” by
most who traverse it.

Why this photograph
where rust and dingy,
unpainted and paint
worn off building,
reign, when there
are plenty of
better ones
around?

You tell me!

๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know!

This door is attempting
to be part of the very
auspicious series
called, Thursday’s Doors.
Please check out other
entries in this program
hosted by Norm Frampton:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

๐Ÿ™‚

19 responses »

    • Roberta, so glad you have a sense of country and enjoyed this! I do believe there are many stories of hard working individuals who could be part of this barn’s stories.

    • Natalie, you are so good to “go with the flow” dear. I hope that this farm had great harvests, wonderful joys and overcame tough times. I picture life and vibrancy, with goats and chickens. ๐Ÿ™‚ Some day maybe you will see my children’s books which have not been published. One waa written for my kids 4H group, “Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer.” Saying you love animals, treating nature and seeing God all around us is a silent prayer. โ™กโ™ก

  1. I love barns. I look at it and wonder what its history is – who built it, when, what has it housesd, so many questions. I totally understand that people can barely keep their homes in good repair and don’t have the extra money to repair these large structure, but it is still sad to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I agree, sad when houses or buildings such as barns are left in disrepair, Judy.
      I like imagining and questioning to find out “back” stories. Thank you for the questions you would like answered. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I think bits of the doors are still there Robin. They are weathered and blend in well, but if you look close at the tracks, some of the panels appear to be hanging. It’s a great shot. It almost disappears on that gray day.

  3. Yes! A fellow rule-breaker! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That’s a threshold I’d be more than reluctant to pass through. Old, tattered buildings make me feel sad for their neglect. It just feels wrong.

Leave a Reply

