A Golden Winter’s Blanket

Image

image

This is a memorial for
Martin Luther King, Jr.

The image of love being a blanket
needs to start with the concepts
of Love and Hate.

It starts with MLK, Jr. who compared
hate to “an unchecked cancer.”
He further stated, it “corrodes the
personality and eats away it’s
vital unity.”

Unfortunately, the destructive source
of hatred is often evident in nations,
communities, families and churches.

The opposite of hatred is love, of
course. It is not always an easy
emotion to produce but love is the
antidote for hatred.

A translation of Proverbs 10:12
from “The Message” explains~

“Hatred starts fights, but Love pulls
a blanket (or quilt) over bickering.”

The image of a cozy comforter,
blanket or quilt symbolizes the
soothing impact that loving
words and actions can have
on enemies, as well as friends.

This picture my son, James Matthew,
took of a sunset reminds me of a
warm blanket. Social reformer,
Elizabeth Cody Stanton called
sharing the Gospel:

” The ‘Open Sesame’ to every soul.”

May our hearts be open to others, ones
who need to be washed in a flood of
love. No strings attached, shared
with peace and hope for loving
tribute to those we lost who
gave their lives, to
serve brotherly
β™‘  love. β™‘

68 responses »

    • Lynn, so happy you were able to sense the deep meaning. I appreciate all the kind words in your response here. Hoping the world will start working together and wish thinking would go on, in all levels. . . πŸ™‚

    • Okay, maybe I need to amend the word to become, “Tolerance.” I take suggestions seriously, Joanne. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for liking the photograph my son took and sent to me. I will pass this appraisal on to him. He is the jewel between my two daughters, my gems. I used to tease him he was the “thorn” between my roses. I don’t do this anymore!

  1. Martin Luther King Jr is an inspiration for ever since I got introduced to his speeches…this post was hence a lovely read for me…Amazing! ☺☺☺☺

    • Lina, thank you for such an enthusiastic and warm response to Martin Luther King, Jr. He was an amazing man who helped make a difference, along with sadly giving his life up for his beliefs. Big hugs sent to you, Lina! β™‘β™‘

    • Oh, this was special to see you tried another post. I like your giving me a chance. πŸ™‚ Thank you for liking the thoughts here and also, the photo my son took while his wife was driving home over Thanksgiving. I actually saved it for this just shone with golden rays, making me wish to find a reason to use it. MLK, Jr was an inspiration for us all.

      • Your blog is always a pleasure, Robin πŸ™‚ I only wish there was more time for visits! Every sunset is different, so it’s really nice you could share this one with us all! I keep a lot of photos/links in mind for future posts, too. Now after 9 months living inside an iPad, though, all those lists are becoming quite overgrown :-/ ttys πŸ™‚ β™₯ ❀

    • I use my cell phone since I had 2 purses taken, just don’t want to chance losing another cell phone nor go in the library to use the computer to blog (that is where a surveillance tape recorded a man taking my purse which was by my feet).
      So, I do understand how packed a mechanical device can be. Thanks for starting a new friendship! Cheers to a new year, too. πŸ™‚

      • OMGoodness… 2 lost phones + you blog from your phone? Wow, now that’s a tight space! We recently bought a SanDisk USB drive for the iPad. So that ought to help. And… hmmm… hadn’t even thought to blog via the library’s computer. Good ideaβ€”as long as no one steals your stuff, that is :-/ Have a great week ahead, my friend! πŸ™‚ β™₯ ❀

  2. A truly loving and lovely tribute, Robin. How many people would think to do this? And I am glad it posted early as it reminds us all to reflect on MLK’s contribution to this country and the world. Thank you.

    • Beth, so special of you to think it was unique to post about MLK, Jr. I am happy that you enjoyed this piece including some quotes and thoughts. You are most welcome, dear friend.

  3. To serve with brotherly love.
    Ideal.
    I just love this, and the imagery of the blanket from Proverbs with the glowing blanket of the sky at dusk. I mean, that’s perfect stuff, there.
    Love is the answer πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Joey. I was hoping it wasn’t too corny. It just breaks my heart that there is still rampant prejudice of many different groups. I know MLK, Jr. would be disappointed. I am glad you felt the Bible v r rse was appropriate, too. xo
      Love is the answer. . . someday.

      • Right? I often think of how far we’ve come, and in a split second, I think “This is only how far we’ve come?!? IN HOW MANY YEARS?!?” Ugh.

    • I do feel we make progress, two steps forward, one step back. Not original but applies. Ugh.
      This is the back and forth I go with at work. A country singer on tv said that he felt President Obama was “like Hitler.” ( CBS This Morning, on Wed.) I turned around and commented to a coworker, “No matter how you felt the President did during his years of service, he shouldn’t be compared to Hitler!” This man is my age and seems open minded. He shook his head and said, “They aren’t that far apart in their trying to control people.” I was astounded but someone says this guy has guns and is afraid of restricted laws. Joey, it made me nauseous.

  4. MLK is one of my heroes. I find myself pinning quote after quote attributed to this wise and amazingly peaceful man, because I resonate so powerfully to his words as much as I admire how he lived his life.

    I was in Knoxville, TN when he was assassinated – fatally shot at the Lorraine Motel in Memphis, Tennessee, on Thursday, April 4, 1968, at the age of 39.

    It rocked my young world and began my life-long fascination for his life’s work. As a brand new college student, I wondered about the implications for our world – and how it would change race relations at the U. of T. I recall it as if it were yesterday.

    Thank you for this sensitive tribute.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    -ADD Coach Training Field founder/ADD Coaching co-founder-
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    PS. Reading the comments, I see several from some of my favorite bloggers. That lets me know that you and I are likely to be kindred spirits. So I guess you have a brand new follower in me as well.

    • Madelyn, I had a couple people waiting to be approved to comment and I apologize profusely. I think you may wonder what happened to such a lovely and thoughtful post comment! I also agree, we have some common commenters and friends here in blogging land. Don’t give up on my friendship. I will add you and another very thoughtful person to a new post where they will see your blog and be able to know we are kindred spirits. My Mom in 1963 marched in the Washington D.C. march, she also paid for several special black students to further their careers. We took our toys and were unpaid “minions” for Head Start for three summers of our lives, my two brothers and I. She also was a volunteer. My Mom taught H.S. English and Spanish, her heart was for helping those who were oppressed, belittled or had racial slurs sent their way. She was a big advocate for students in her 30 years of teaching. I have to admit I have taught middle school language arts and preschool special education. Both areas I did not have as many integrated classes. Just the rural areas I was teaching in, I guess. Thank you very much for telling me where you were in 1968. I was 13 and it feels like yesterday when JFK, RFK, Malcolm X and MLK, Jr. were all assassinated. I wondered if you ever had a chance to see a Lifetime movie about the wives of Malcolm X and MLK, Jr. Coretta encouraged M. X’s wife to go to college and speak about how he was also a pacifist although people associated him more with rebellion. When I explained about this to my Junior High students I would compare Malcolm X to the Revolutionary War founders, Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin and Paul Revere. They just wanted FREEDOM!! Smiles, Robin

      • BOY do I understand the time constraints of blogging! During several points in my life, It has also taken me considerable time to approve comments – for various reasons. I try not to personalize when it happens to me, and am usually successful. πŸ™‚ I appreciate your thoughtful apology nonetheless — and your sharing of your background.

        I have not yet seen the movie you mentioned, but I have seen others that sound similar (on Hulu and Netflix). I applaud the way you presented the notables of “black history” to your young students. Interesting distinction, yes? I believe it points up the reality that there are various versions of what happened when, depending on political biases and who’s doing the retelling.

        I also believe that it is a symptom of continued racism in America that so many individuals and groups seek to demonize so-called “black radicals.” (Truth to tell, I’m not sure how I escaped growing up racist, as a straight, White-Anglo-Saxon-Protestant – and doubt I will ever be sure I bear no remnant still).

        Not meaning to dilute the issue of your MLK post, the same dynamic seems also to be a part of the continued struggle for acceptance in the gay and lesbian community. As a former theatre professional whose best friend was gay, I was keenly aware of their “radical” issues, watching as friends of mine became early members of ACT-UP — and I have also been keenly aware of the grossly negligent treatment of the AIDS Epidemic since the beginning.

        I watched in horror as Reagan refused to listen to Koop, his Surgeon General (who subsequently tendered his resignation). Only when AIDS eventually became an epidemic – as predicted – killing the young, white, straight population, were sufficient research dollars designated to *begin* addressing the problem in any significant manner.

        There continue to be attempts to “rewrite history” – but I was there, aware, and remember clearly. So many horrible things happened during those years.

        I witnessed seven of my dear friends sicken horribly and ultimately die. My only friends who survived were those who were diagnosed later – once the problem was taken seriously – relatively healthy today, by the way. It makes me furious – as well as grief-stricken – still that the deaths of some of my closest friends could and SHOULD have been prevented (and I rarely use that “S” word). It strikes me as pure evil to ignore professional/medical advice and withhold funding, simply because the epidemic appeared first in a demongraphic that was politically unpopular.

        Another of my favorite quotes is by Edmund Burke: “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” There may be little we CAN do, individually. But we *can* – folks like you and me and others like us – do SOMETHING when we see injustices and travesties, by speaking out and leaving a record, even if we inspire few others to do the same.

        We can also pray that, bit by bit, we will make a difference, even if we are no longer alive to see things change.

        “We must all hang together, or assuredly we shall all hang separately.” ~ Benjamin Franklin

        xx,
        mgh

    • Cherrie Ali, I am so happy you stopped by this post and enjoyed it. I apologize for my not getting this posted quickly. Do you have people end up waiting approval? I don’t usually have wordpress people such as yourself have to wait for me to notice them. Hope we can still connect and be friends. Smiles, Robin

  5. Hi. Ive seen you! The blog world is so small. The opposite of hate or love is indifference. Indifference lacks feeling. That said…I love tbis post and I thank Robert for the reblog.

    • Thank you for liking my post about Martin Luther King, Jr. I am so glad you enjoyed it and yes, Rob is a very nice man to re-blog this on his own post. You are so right, we comment on similar posts and follow similar people. I will need to get back and visit you! πŸ™‚

  6. Very beautiful Robin. Here is a love quote for you: Love is that condition in the human spirit so profound that it empowers us to develop courage; to trust that courage and build bridges with it;
    to trust those bridges and cross over them so we can attempt to reach each other.”
    Maya Angelou

    Peace and Love to you Robin

    Benn

Leave a Reply

