Thursday’s Doors ~ side door of Gray Chapel

Image

image

The door on another
Ohio Wesleyan University
building showed a red interior.
It was not on Gray Chapel but
Sturges Hall, posted Dec. 3rd.

This side door, on a busy winter’s
night, was well lighted and lively
heart beat of music was flowing
out the seams, walls and doors.

The stone is called
blue limestone.

The arch is almost
pointed to a peak.

Double metal doors,
painted a sandy beige
color with the unique
way the architect or
stone mason chose
to stack the stones
in their mortar or
clay moulding,
attracts my
eyes to two
beams of
light on
either
side.
X x X

This door is part of a series
called Norm Frampton’s
Thursday’s Doors
which you may
wish to check
other doors
and links
at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

77 responses »

    • Thank you, Derrick. “The Castle” in snow is Gray Chapel, as is the Christmas concert building and place kids take college courses. They are all one and the same building. πŸ™‚ I took a bunch of photos on three separate occasions.

  1. I saw the date thing too and thought crap, today’s moms birthday and I haven’t gotten her a card yet. Strange dates on some posts….silly WP. We ask for more time, and they cut off dates that haven’t happened yet, compression…scary.

    • I may have to rustle up a new door for two Thursday’s in a row, Anneli. This was scheduled for 5 am my time on 1/21/16. Not sure why it keeps pulling out my scheduled posts and publishing them “out of synch?” I wish I had a phone number, I hate emailing a company! πŸ™‚

      • Do you think you could have misread the date for scheduling? I know I have sometimes mistaken the date and year or month (just the way it’s laid out), and then there is the time zone factor.

  2. I held this one aside to read on Thursday. I love the arch and the stonework of this doorway. I like that you included the brick walk leading up to the door in your photo. Nice touch.

    • Thank you, Dan. The details you noticed created ibterest for me, too. Good idea to take your time on responding. I like that Thursday is close to the weekend so I have a chance now to respond to comments like yours. Then, head over to see your door (s)! πŸ™‚
      Have a relaxing weekend, Dan.

    • Thank you for noticing, Beth. I got upset last week but now, am trying to see the humor of it all. Beth
      I think I am wearing out from explaining WP took 4 to 5 of my carefully planned posts and published them before the “scheduled” date and time. It started last week on Tuesday. Several people joked or commented as they said, you may be ahead of my country in time but not this early.:)
      Dont worry, it jusr seemed like a virus had struck my account! It is okay that you were busy as I am often busy and would not notice. Except people got them all at once! The WordPress “machine” turned against me! Ha ha! People read them or waited depending on their proclivity, Beth.

  3. Robin … What a gorgeous view. It leaves me wondering just what is beyond those doors. I also love the prose and its structure. Yes, the date is a bit off. Now you have me wondering what date is on my post today. πŸ˜‰

    • Judy, it was a strange glitch, my carefully scheduled posts, one every day or every other occasionally all arrived last Tuesday! πŸ™‚ A good friend in Australia commented, I realize there is a time difference but your posts for January up to the 21st arrived! At first I was upset but now I laugh about it. Somehow, it stopped the “madness” and I am breathing normally.
      I am happy you enjoyed this picture of Gray Chapel. I included a Christmas shot before a concert and recently a winter snow fall day photo. It is right next door to my apartment building.
      Don’t worry, I don’t think anyone else had a gremlin invade their WP! πŸ™‚

  4. I have many photos and paintings with doors in them around my house. Wasn’t purposeful but I realized I am drawn to the possibility on the other side of that door. The one you took is particularly inviting:).

    • I am really sure your doors in paintings and photos would be wonderful to see, K. I like looking beyond the door in my imagination, too. Thank you for liking this one. My favorite door is on a small cafe in a tiny town. (Magnetic Springs) In fact, the cafe was featured one week, the following week, the tiny post office was featured.
      There is a group of people who post weekly with Doors, which we all include the link should you ever wish to check out others, Kristine. Oh, I am thinking I should just say dear K. (My memory is a little faulty with bloggers given names. πŸ˜‰ )
      I started my blog in 2012 using only words, so my first series of doors I used words to describe them. Starting with pink doors my Mom had my Dad paint the front door to our new house in the 60’s, then my best friend’s front door which was orange taking the hint that it was “Groovy” from my Mom! πŸ˜€
      I finally am using pictures, only since last summer, 2015. Just a quick update… hope you didn’t fall asleep. Lol

  5. I love pictures of doors. They always make me wonder what’s on the other side. The first line from one of my favorite books is, “I get the willies when I see closed doors.”

    • Benn, thank you for sharing this first line of a book. It sounds like Mark Twain but let me know, so it won’t drive me crazy!
      Would you go back to Monday and please check out my MLK, Jr. post? I was hoping you would stop by to see this. It is called “A Golden Winter’s Blanket.” I may add it is a tribute in the title, too. Just for future readers who may wish to check it out.
      Thank you for coming to visit, my friend.

    • You are so lovely in your description, Maniparna. Medieval is a wonderful comparison.
      I admire your story and hope you are working on more mysteries with the same detective. . .:)
      The pinkish tone is really interesting and don’t have an answer for the green reflections above the lights.

  6. What a gorgeous arch! I also love the mixture of the brick and stone along the sides. The lights fan out in a wonderful manner that it almost seems to mimic candlelight on a medieval castle. I like the brick walkway also. In my town, there are a few brick streets left from the olden days. They really aren’t too wonderful to drive on but the character and the historical reference to the past is super neat. Great post…I love doors, a bit of mystery as to where they lead πŸ™‚

    • Lana, your town with brick streets reminds me of the post with German Village cobblestones in Columbus! πŸ™‚ I had a door dated 1/14/16. It was of a restaurant called simply, “The Sycamore.”
      Thank you for expanding on the description of the Gray Chapel side door. It is a lovely university building which the front doors (leading to a Christmas concert) were featured on December post and then I captured a snowy photograph of it looking like a castle. So, you weren’t far off in your imagination of the building, Lana. Although it was built in the 1850’s, it is made of blue limestone taken from a quarry here in Delaware, Ohio. Hugs, Robin xo

  7. Hello hello I’m finally caught up at work and wanted to take come time to visit. I love this and the entire presentation it’s so beautiful!
    I hope all is well with you! I see you are keeping busy as usual. Time is flying quickly. Sending warm hugs and love! πŸ˜€

    • Michelle Marie! β™‘ Thank you for stopping by and leaving stardust behind, shimmering and sparkling from your glowing self. Time does seem to fly too quickly. I will come over and bask in your happy vibrations. πŸ™‚

  8. I love unique doors Robin, this is a beauty. Here some folks are using limestone for counter tops etc. A lovely poem and pic!

    • Holly, limestone would definitely hold up for some remarkable counter tops. Thank you for adding this great fact! We have what us called “blue limestone quarries” here. Long since used as such, now are 3 fishing (deep) ponds. Limestone looks blue along the cliffs. In the fall I caught the lavender asters on a post where the blue-purple tone was evident. This building looks brown at night and cobalt blue- gray during day. πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: The sunshine bloggers award!!!!!! | Being ME !

    • The blue limestone is such a really beautiful stone work on buildings around our town. πŸ™‚ It is a happy place to sit and listen to music or even birds in the trees. I go there to read a book on a bench there. Just to get out of our apt building, Sylvia. β™‘

Leave a Reply

