Finger foods are delicious!

Image

image

Healthy food to nibble on,
Ready to blog and listen
to birds outside.

Sunny day in the apartment.

The ducks squabbled at
4 am, much to my chagrin.

Still sleepy, after one cup
of coffee and oatmeal.

Miniature cucumbers,
orange slices,
sugared pecans
and cubed
chicken pieces
designed and
presented by
me, for my lunch.

The geese are making
beautiful “V’s” in the sky,
still traveling south,
(I think!)

Our robin birds are
chirping cheerily,
as are the wrens
and sparrows.

The day makes life
splendid and full of
unexpected wonders.

Are you open for
the ways which
present themselves?

Consider treating
yourself to a pretty
Colorful and healthy
plate of delicious food.

You are a gift,
deserving to
unwrap the
presents
around
you.

56 responses »

    • Your foods are always delicious looking and so happy you stopped by to look at my humble plate. I made one for my grandson who wasn’t feeling very well and decided I would enjoy the same food, too. Smiles, Robin

  1. What a perfect post to read on a slow Sunday morning as I considered how good a couple of chocolate cookies would be to finish breakfast.
    Thank you for saving me from myself πŸ˜‰

    • Joanne, just be dramatic and call me a “lifesaver!” Ha ha πŸ˜€
      My grandson, Micah, had an earache in the middle of Sat. night and then, his Mommy, my oldest daughter took him to the “minute clinic.” Being on antibiotics, he wasn’t very hungry. Something I thought I would save in my comments to share for another reason for finger foods. πŸ™‚

  2. That looks very good. I started with chocolate milk and cookies (good, but not so healthy, I guess). I like that you surround yourself with birds, even if they aren’t outside.

    • Thank you, Dan. Glad you sometimes drink chocolate milk and eat cookies. I bought donuts the other morning so I am definitely not a perfect nor healthy eater! Birds have been given to me over the years. . . πŸ™‚

    • Some may even say the food I choose to eat is like “bird food,” Sylvia. πŸ™‚ You are blessed because you have live birds to see. I hear my outside birds in trees out my window.

    • Oh, sorry you are facing rain (or were) this am, dear Pauline.
      I had my grandson, Micah, over on his third dose of antibiotics and was a little whiny and clingy. Didn’t wish to capture this look on permanent film, though! πŸ™‚ Finger foods suited him just fine. We played cards, “Jenga” (a stacking game) and Trouble. Hugs, Robin β™‘

  3. We laid in supplies for the weekend, partly in preparation for the winter storm, and partly in anticipation of NFL football playoffs on Sunday. Finger foods are not only yummy, but also a good option if/when the power goes out (although I cannot claim that all the finger foods were the most nutritious). – Mike

    • No problem, Mike, with healthy since movies (in my book) need buttery popcorn and chocolate candy. While football games need hot wings, blue cheese and celery sticks, among other not so healthy snacks. πŸ™‚ Hope your storm isn’t too bad and your favorite football teams Win!

    • It was a really nice and sunny day today. I listened to the weather report and managed to post this appropriately for a day I had my grandson, Micah. He had an earache, was on antibiotics and rather clingy. We played games and wore pajamas all day, Luanne. β™‘
      I received birds all my life and keep the ones I enjoy the most. It is interesting that Goebel created an English robin in porcelain. Isn’t he like Hummel’s protΓ©gΓ©? Hope you have a wonderful week ahead.

      • Micah will always remember that day with you. It seems simple, but it’s so special. I also love birds, although my name is not a bird! You too have a beautiful week!

    • You are correct, although I managed to sell and give a lot of my birds away when my ex lost his job in 2005 and we nearly had our house repossessed. It just barely sold for $45,000 less than it was worth. My credit stayed intact. πŸ™‚
      My simple one bedrm apt and lifestyle has allowed me to make choices. My very favorite birds live here and other items like porcelain birds, silver plated coffee set, antiques and dolls were sold to defray bills.
      Anneli, I am happy we share a love of nature, beauty, art and birds.β™‘

  4. That’s exactly what I like to eat! Many of my lunches are lil a this, lil a that combos, although I go for veggies, olives, and cheese mainly. But you know, I like fruit and a lil pickle, maybe a boiled egg, a pretzel, and some nuts. One of my things lately has been celery with peanut butter and golden raisins — Gosh that’s good! Ooh! And radishes with dill yogurt and chia seeds. Anyway, I agree, I love finger food πŸ™‚ I eat a lot of plates that look like that πŸ™‚

    • Joey, I like the special choices you listed!! They sound like an antipasto dish, olives, veggies and cheese chunks or slices of a few cheeses. I like mozzarella, provolone and cheddar cheese. My Mom loves sharp cheddar cheese on crackers. Ooh, pickles and veggies (including small fresh radishes) are delicious! We both need protein like a boiled egg, nuts or peanut butter. They call this brain food! πŸ™‚ Adding dried fruits and golden raisins really makes a sweet treat. I like dates and dried cranberries ( sweet and sour), do you?
      I have not tried dill yogurt but like dill in sour cream. I have flaxseeds, need to get Chia seeds, Joey! πŸ™‚

  5. Robin,
    Love the picture ! The decor and the snacks both look fabulous! And as usual beautifully written! Your writing creates such a vivid picture in front of my eyes!

Leave a Reply

