Industrial portrait

Image

image

The pink cast on
equipment;
small display
of pastel sky
from setting sun.

This company makes concrete
paving stones and displays
outdoor circle patio, with
pattern intricately inlaid
and designed.

A half mile from where
I work, as I pass this
daily, think about
how this display
could be used
by a large
family.

Fire circle
with copper
kettle appearance
to warm up by, on
this outdoor oasis.

Honey colored stone
wall has built in
deluxe gas grill
surrounded
by the tall
pampas
grass.

This side
view of the
company office
brick building with
this industrial funnel
“Thingy” will be my
introduction to the
Men in my Life.

I am sure they
will inform us
what the
heck is
this?

If it were on a farm,
I may be able to
figure this out.
It is . . .
on the
side of
a stone
and slab
cement
company.

Which has a
lovely display
which circles
back to the
patio setting.

42 responses »

    • There was an artist who specialized in taking photos of industrial areas, but I did not look him up. It may have made more sense to include him. There also was a “plein air” artist who liked industrial art and I included him on a post once. Probably don’t have the tag for it. . . thanks for liking the pink glow, Anneli. Hope you are having a nice beginning of the week. It is in the 50’s today and nice and sunny! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Kirt. This was about a week ago before it started to get warmer. Hope you are having a sunny day like we have and temps in the 50’s. I will take winter any day if it were like today! Smiles, Robin

      • We had sunny and mid 70’s yesterday…..then during the night high winds….thunderstorms and heavy rain….today cloudy and cold (for usπŸ˜€) mid 50’s….brrrr…😎

    • Those 70’s temps sound lovely but the windy reaction to the warm front meeting a colder one sounds dangerous, Kirt. We like 50’s but do understand you live south and expect warmer temps! πŸ™‚
      Hope you have a blessed beginning of the week. In our faith, we celebrate Fat Tuesday and then, Ash Wednesday. Take care!

    • Maniparna, you are a good friend πŸ™‚ to think it is good poetry, but I do try to make things interesting. There is a rather famous photographer who liked industrial settings and then we had the man who painted, “plein air” would sit by buildings and bridges, for a period of time, and he graduated from the Ohio Wesleyan University where I live by. (I did not attend this rather expensive college.)

    • No one has a clue or suggestion for its function. I see them by buildings and wonder do they have water like a water tower, fuel oil for necessary heat?? Oh well, I was just trying to be a little “odd,” when I took the photo. Changing things up a bit. Thank you for puzzling about it with me, Marissa and thinking the pink cast is cool! Hugs, Robin

  1. The pale pink cast on this “industrial funnel” does give it a soft, warm glow. You noted the color was the result of a setting sun. It reminds me of a morning when I looked out the window and the whole countryside was cast in a golden glow (just like Robert Frost’s “Nothing Gold Can Stay). I loved that image and hated to see it disappear as the sun rose. πŸ˜‰

    • Judy, thank you for this great comment which included a lovely Robert Frost poem. The golden glow is always special making us feel “richer” having been able to see the view. Countryside field with a golden glow casts a really nice picture of how the “amber fields of grain” were that inspired the song. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, Will of Heart. Your comment was so kind and now, I need to check out your post! This is Valentine’s Day weekend and I hope you are having a lovely time! ❀

  2. It looks like a chimney of sorts but I’m trying to think of the company’s need for a chimney in their line of business. Maybe concete slabs have to be sprayed or washed down and it’s a vent? I’m guessing. πŸ™‚ I love the similarity in construction of your poem. πŸ™‚

    • You noticed all the parts I wished to share. I am glad you contemplated the slabs and washing them. There is a tube coming away from this storage or useful tower. . . Thanks for contemplating this! πŸ™‚

    • Well, I am so glad you noticed I have a sense of humor in this! Joey, thank you for seeing the layers of this and maybe, one of these days we will have the answer. I could always go the front of building and brazenly enter and ask! πŸ™‚

      • OH! I didn’t realize you were looking for what it is! It’s a hopper. It is a funnel that goes on the silo and then the seed can be fed into the seeder, or dumped into a truck and sold. It’s just a different kind of silo door.

    • This is by the side of a concrete paving stones company called Obermyers, in Delaware, Ohio. Thanks for explaining what may be a cement hoppee which feeds the bigger container which mixes up the concrete. We may just find this to be the only possible answer, Joey! Thanks! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Nia. I like the idea of being able to look at something and try to find an interesting way to present it. You made me smile with the idea of “humanizing” this Thingy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

