A deal on raspberries takes the cake!

Image

image

When you clearly want

a donut,
a slice of cake,
a frosted cookie.

As you pass rows of
barbecue chips,
tortilla chips,
and pasta.

Make a fresh choice:
☆ juicy tangerine,
♡ red raspberries,
○ pink grapefruit,
◇ or a tart apple.

What is your weakness
at the grocery store?

Do you “fold” and
give in to your
temptation?

Happy Groundhog’s Day!
Hope it is cloudy and
Overcast so he stays
Out of his hole to
Eat a snack.

Less time
to wait
for
Spring!

 

x  o  x  o  x  o

Here are two new friends of mine I wish to share my

delicious fruit with and hope they won’t give me the

“raspberry” which in the U.S. means a tongue stuck

out and a little spit action. It is hard to explain but

I am rather bad at finding people caught in what I

call the wordpress penitentiary. These nice people

were there and have a lot to offer those who would

check out their posts in writing and knowledge.

One~

Ellen Hawley, published author.

http://notesfromtheuk.com

 

Two~

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC, counselor and

has special subject of ADD “and so much more” on her posts.

http://addandsomuchmore.com

 

 

72 responses »

    • Fruit is a great splurge since it satisfies my sweet and sour taste buds, Colleen. Now, if only 8 could rid myself of the salty urge. When I dieted, I would eat a cup of cottage cheese or a salad with a salty dressing. 🙂 I had to lose almost 45 pounds during the end of my forties to stay off anti-cholesterol meds. I know I bring this up from time yo time, but somehow by changing my food intake and choices, it allowed my overall numbers to go from 265 down to 220 the first year and then, 190 at end of second year. My teaching asst and I did this together. 🙂 Both of us were able to keep it and she is now 61 and I turned 60 last fall. I now moderate my salty foods because they usually have the “bad” fat. 😦

      • That’s a good plan Robin. I wonder if my current food changes will help also. I’m starting my day with salads, and LOVE it! And having smoothies in the afternoon. Making sure I have protein on the salad and greens in the smoothies. 🙂

    • I love salads and now, wish I had one, Colleen. I am behind with visiting first, my data is almost used up and my cell phone “cycle” ends on February 7th. I had my out of town older brother visit Sunday, watched Sky and Micah on Sunday and lucky me! My youngest brother is here on way to conference tomorrow in Virginia. We walked to see if we could find the 5 planets lined up in the late sky. Some say early morning is better. 🙂

      • Did you find the planets????

        And I am really enjoying eating the salads as my first meal. It hasn’t made a difference weight wise but I think the more I eat them, the more I crave that freshness and it will carry on for what I want to eat later too.

    • We found three of five planets but Venus and Saturn are rising at nearly morning time. 🙂
      Salads quench both our thirst and appetite. Good choice for breakfast, Colleen. ♡

  1. I’m not sure I would trust the raspberries we can buy these days to have any flavor. I think I’ll wait until there are some local (or close to local) ones available. They do look good though…maybe…

    • I found ours to be great, not sure where they get them, Dan. Definitely suggest frozen berries for best taste if no fresh tasty ones available. I happen to like Smuckers Just (Simply) Fruit preserves on my morning whole wheat or oatmeal toast, too. 🙂

    • The preserves are extra fresh tasting without the gummy, syrupy “stuff” included on the Smuckers recipe, Dan. I am home but library closed so see you tomorrow. Being only on my blog uses less data, whereas visiting others opens pictures and uses more data. It is like a puzzle which I feel ultimately I will figure this out! 🙂

  2. I moved from the Washington State county that harvests 75% of the raspberries for the U.S. The agriculture-based town of Lynden (a Canadian Border town) has an annual Raspberry Festival which I attended last summer. Their busiest booth at the street fair was the raspberries and ice cream stand, especially since it was hot last July.

    If I were still living there, I would visit one of the U-Pick farms, and take my grandsons. They could experience picking and probably eating more than they save.

    I guess I should write about that and post a photo or two, huh? 🙂 – Mike

    • Oh, if you have photographs, Mike, go for writing and posting about it! I think when you wrote about Mexican foods, everyone read and was interested! I know all about your affinity for spicy peppers, including jalapeño! 🙂

  3. With the new year we have yet another new health program via hubby’s work.
    Bit intrusive with the questions they ask… and well I am trying to be healthier…
    But according to ‘them’ I’m 6 years older than I am. I treat that with the same raspberry I give the BMI index which is so far off and wrong that it really isn’t funny.

    Anyway our winter was so late starting… and even with the blizzard…I think when ever spring does arrive it will be welcome. We have dueling groundhogs here. They never seem to agree so I hold little stock in their predictions. 🙂

    • Jules, my BMI and health assessment gave me a lower rating this year. Everyone is heavier than they are supposed to be!
      It asked if I had any illnesses and I had part of my ear lobbed off, a part of my neck grafted to ear, since I had skin cancer on it. Well, I took care of it, for Pete’s sake. . . They don’t ask good questions, I feel. 😦
      Thank you for giving me a picture of your weather and groundhog report as well. ♡♡ Hugs, Robin

  4. I too have a sweet-tooth — that tendency to reach for the not so healthy stuff. But I’ve been trying a little harder lately to keep those items out of the house as not to sabotage my fitness goals.

    Then just a few days ago my little one said, “mommy, we need to go to the store, there are NO cookies in the house!” I laughed, knowing just what she meant. Sure fruits are great and good for you, but every once in a while a cookie just hits the spot!

    Will definitely look for some raspberries this week!

    • Oh, great that you are working on this, too. 🙂 Yes, cookies and treats are good to allow children to have. My grandies like oatmeal raisin cookies, fruit cups and yogurt but my oldest daughter makes her granola wuth blue agave nectar or honey, whichever is cheaper.

  5. I stand at the entrance to the candy aisle and focus on moving onto the produce aisle. I’m not sure if there is anything I can’t resist, but I sure have to put a lot of effort into avoiding the candy.

    • April, don’t you get spice drops sometimes? Can you count out 15 or 20 and bag them up and just eat what is in bag? I understand all about having trouble with this. I cannot give you what will “work” for you, sometimes celery sticks and peanut butter works or cashews are sweet, natuurally. . . Sending you hugs for your major efforts! ♡♡

  6. Raspberries seem to be so mouth-watering but I don’t like them for a sharp feeling they give in the mouth…cant eat more than two at a time! That picture seems so enticing!

  7. I love raspberries Robin, the after taste is what I enjoy most. I still feel it on my tongue several hours later. I love the picture! 🙂
    Now, I must get me some raspberries!
    🙂

    • So good that you enjoy raspberries and can still taste them in your mouth later, Seyi. I was hoping they would entice a few people. 🙂 I like defrosting a handful of frozen blueberries when raspberries are expensive. Making whole wheat french toast or one multigrain pancake with blueberries makes it a “treat” but at least not too “bad” in amount of calories. Very satisfying that sweet tooth and avoiding what magazines call “empty calories.” Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

      • You’re welcome my friend. I’ve lost the battle on counting the calories I consume, what I do instead is increase my jogging by an extra mile. Hope you’ll enjoy the rest of this week. It’s almost Friday! 🙂

    • I would have to exercise more once my physical labor job ends. I agree we should not concentrate on calories, just fresh and healthy choices. Good reminder to increase exercise to offset intake. 🙂

  8. Pears. Oh pears.
    I must admit, when berries are on sale, I never pass them by — which means I eat them all summer, but pears are it for me in winter. Oh pears. There’s something comforting about their sweet grainy goodness. They’re winter’s best for me!

    • Oh, yes! I like pears but am not always good at finding the in between ripe and mushy. Can you put pears out to get ripened, Joey? I like buying firm but haven’t found best way to get soft. Maybe paper bag? I will check back if you have solution for this. I guess buying one soft one each store visit may work. . . 🙂

      • I buy them in shifts, like kiwi and avocado. I often put them in the china cabinet until they’re perfect, then shift them to the fridge. (But see, I have three other people eating them…)

    • Winter’s best pears will be on my list of shopping produce next week. I will try shifting them. Thanks for sharing how to get them ripened, Joey. Heading to Cleveland after work tmrrw. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    • Well, I thought so, too, Anneli. There was one who cannot find them, too expensive and would be overseas. Then, another who unfortunately gets a tongue tingling almost like an allergic reaction. Other fruits recommended to such discrepancies. 🙂 So happy you love raspberries! ♡

    • Ellen, so glad you have your freedom to express your opinion or disgruntled feelings! 🙂 Thank you for coming over and hope we have more visits soon. 8 let many newcomers know I am working in an auto parts warehouse usually 9 hours a day. I get to comments but usually visit over weekends. I like making new connections and am interested in your blog. Smiles, Robin

    • Thank you for letting me know you like raspberries, Maniparna. Do you have them available only certain times of year? Hope you have tasty fruit year round. What is another kind of common fruit there? Don’t hurry since I have to leave library and eat dinner soon. My phone has been not my main source of blogging so I am more limited in time. Thank you for stopping by, dear.♡

      • We have a variety of fruits here. Bananas, Mango, Guava, Starfruit, Strawberry, Blackberry, Raspberry, Litchi, pineapples, apples, watermelons…the list goes on and on… I love fruits ..an essential part of my diet… 🙂

  9. Oh, I love raspberries. I’ve even thought about trying to grow them in my yard, but I think it’s too hot for them here. We’ve had very little real winter here and it looks like we’re not going to have any which means it will be even hotter this summer. I enjoyed your post, missy. 🙂 ❤

  10. Those raspberries look rather festive! I like my fruits, but I have a notorious sweet tooth. I’d be okay if I by-passed the sweets and started with the fruits (I need to remind myself 🙂 My favorite berries are blueberries and blackberries. My grandmother had a small blackberry orchard. Great post, Robin!

  11. We eat a lot of raspberries mixed with blueberries. I’m on a lots of fruit campaign and no biscuits or chocolate for a while. I always cut down after Christmas and can usually last till Easter. Sets me up feeling smug for the year. At Easter I’m ready for some chocolate.

Leave a Reply

