Strings of crystalline weeds

Image

image

Layers of colors,
Golden weeds,
Green grass
Resilient to
Winter weather.

Thistles frozen,
Diamond crystals
Cling to stems
with drifting
veils of heavy
fog in the
background .

X. X. X. X.

When you work in the restaurant

business, as a server, busboy, cook,

or dishwasher, you often hear the

slang expression found in the States:

“I’m in the weeds. . .”

Instead of me telling you what this

means, I am calling all chefs and

bottle washers to explain meaning

to those who have not worked

in this “field” or line of work.

38 responses »

  1. That is a lovely image, and lovely poetry too. Layers of colours can sometimes uplift us in the dead and dark of winter 🙂 I don’t know what “in the weeds” means, but perhaps it might mean being stuck in your job day in and day out and it could be a tad boring 😀

    • This is a really good guess but In the Weeds means up to your elbows in work, in the restaurant business you have a lot of “tickets” or orders to take into the chef and he will say, “Hey, somebody help me, I am in the weeds!” Boring wwork is what I do in a warehouse filling orders that stores make for car products. Advance Auto Distribution Center is very tedious and hard on my 60 year old body, Mabel. I hope you can have moments of joy this weekend, dear!

  2. That’s an expression we often used too in my job – but I was an accountant. We used it to mean being buried in the minutiae of details and losing the big picture of what we were trying to achieve. I curious if other professions used the expression the same way.

  3. Love the photo. But those burrs are the worst ones for dogs running through a field. They are so hard and the prickles chafe their skin raw as they run, especially if they get the burrs in their “armpits.”

    • You are so right about poor dogs and how this cafes and scratches their skin! Burrs are lower and smaller than thistles. Hoping dogs stay out of the tall thistles or bramble bushes! 🙂

    • Jill, you really are so nice to say you felt this photo was beautiful! I was thinking it was another messy shot!
      My son is a cook/chef and he uses the expression “in the weeds” often. . . Will reveal tomorrow if no one suggests it, Jill. ♡

    • Marissa, it was okay to look this up. Joanne really is describing one definition and is “close” to the kitchen one. I was happy she provided a nice alternative. I was looking for the cook/restaurant’s definition. 🙂

    • Diana, yes I did take this photograph. I am glad you asked because usually I give myself credit or my DIL or son. . .
      Thank you for liking this picture. I felt my words flowing out once I posted the photo. I am more a “poetic thoughts” kind of writer. Glad you liked them anyway! 🙂

    • Dan, thank you for mentioning being “mired in details!” I think the kitchen, restaurant or cook term is a little bit like it but just another version of being over-whelmed.
      I will wait till tomorrow and let everyone know! I cannot believe that it is another Thursday’s Doors post time! 🙂

    • Is where you lived nicknamed Oz? 🙂
      I just have heard it in restaurants but Joanne mentioned a version used in accounting and Dan wrote about being “mired in details” as equivalent to “in the weeds.”
      When I served in restaurants and my son is a chef/cook being up to our elbows with food orders we would call out for help: “I’m in the weeds!”

  4. I’ve worked in several server jobs, and too many in retail… but I never did hear that phrase.
    Maybe a ‘mid-west’ thing? But I guess bogged down in any job can be disappointing.

    Best to all plodding through this cold snap of an honest winter, even though it started late.
    And Happy Hearts day too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

