Thursday’s Doors ~ February 18, 2016 * Peering into the Past *

Image

image

  Peering into the Past

A favorite monthly

activity which

Marley and

Makyah enjoy,

is changing around

Seasonal decorations.

We took down Christmas,

added snowmen, polar bear

and birds with snow caps on.

They like to stand on a

crate to look into my

“special collection chest.”

I found this when I was

Eight years old.

Normally given only

five dollars per outing,

I negotiated a deal with

Two democratic parents:

I would dust their bedroom

and make their bed daily

for two weeks to earn

three extra dollars.

I “finessed” the deal

and my Daddy carried

this black treasure case

to the back of our old

wood paneled

station wagon.

Yes, you may picture

the deals we made to

get cash where we felt

we “won” the situation.

By empowering us,

we had foundation

laid for feeling

we were not

“Entitled to money.”

Instead we were shown

how to earn our extra

spending money and

we felt proud of our

purchases.

This door today is a

black wooden framed

and hinged glass door.

It could be also

considered a door

of maturity and

opportunities.

Thanks to our weekly

Host and friend,

Fellow blogger,

Norm Frampton.

Check out the various

interpretations of doors at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Thank you for~
*Peering into my past*
and
*Peering upon my future collectors.*

41 responses »

  1. This is a lovely story. How amazing that you kept your black box. I had a collection of miniture china and glass ornaments that I carried with me until I was somewhere in my late teens then in a rash moment I discarded them. Lovely photo of your grandaughters.

    • Oh no, Veronica! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We do rash things while growing up, as teens and young twenty year olds. I sold my grandmother’s silver coffee serving set for $75! Yikes!
      Thank you for liking the photograph and story, V. โ™ก

    • This is a nice compliment for my parents. I appreciated how they raised us. Many stories and examples run through my head. One other way was our taking our toys (trucks, kitchen set, puzzles, books) to share in the old days where Head Start teachers were volunteers. We did this for 3 summers, 5 half-days a week until lunch was over. Money was given to my Mom to buy and make the meals. I really liked the summer I “taught” a color blind boy how to know and see the red, yellow and green lights on the stop lights.

    • Thank you, I think somewhere along the way I wrote about this. I liked that my parents taught us to act as a team and I think my own 3 kids think like this. 2 of 3 live here in same town, all grandkids go to city schools but there are 5 elementary schools, they live by 2 separate schools by 5 or 6 miles apart.
      I sm glad you have JP living on your house with parents while their house is being built. โ™ก
      The 3rd child is youngest, 30 and never married and no kids. She is getting serious with an “older man.” I think 15 years older but don’t ask this.

      • Hubby is 12 years older than me, married more than 30 years now ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love having the kids with us but their house is almost ready. Justin tells me, Nana, you can visit anytime you want! They’ll still be close by and I’ll still babysit twice a week

    • Justin is a cutie and I left out the word like in my comment! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like the photo of you and Justin. โ™ก
      I like learning about my fellow bloggers so very nice of you to share! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thirty years of marriage is a great landmark.

      • Oh, thanks, I love him to pieces ( well, Justin and hubby ๐Ÿ™‚ ) he’s my only grand but hubby shares his other six with me (aged 26 to 9) and a 7 month old great grandson. If you see us all together, it’s hard to tell who belongs to whom, lol. I know I’ll miss the commotion when they move out!

    • Diane, thank you for the nice family story told here. I have my son who married a woman with 2 young children neatly 8 years ago. When I first tell people my son and wife have 5 kids, mouths drop open. I an not sure why but I tell them Jamie “rescued” a single Mom and defend his right to have added the 2 girls and baby son to the mix. He has had surgery to prevent anymore. Anyway, I can breathe a sigh of relief because you have a combination family and fully understand! โ™ก

  2. That’s a very cool story, a wonderful box and, somewhere in there, you parents taught you a lesson about working for the things we want. Thanks for the peek into your past Robin.

    • You are one fantastic teacher and Peaches, who doesn’t think twice to allow all her materials to be fully utilized, Beth. I remember how all those sticky post it’s were everywhere on your miniature desk! โ™ก

    • Marissa, thank you for wonderful memories shared in your childhood, digging through your mother’s jewelry box. This warms my heart, that you treasure the memories and hoping this won’t fade in my granddaughters memories with all the “flash” and “glitter” of the current world. Everything is so “big” these days…

  3. What a wonderful memory and memento Robin! My culture doesn’t do seasonal decorations in the way you Americans do – which discombobulates some Americans I’ve met here, who came to live complete with their collections of seasonal treasures ๐Ÿ™‚ But I think it is such a lovely way to pay attention to the passing of the year. Perhaps one of those girls might inherit that ‘door’ in years to come and the story will be passed on down the generations ………..

    • I was telling them that when my son (their Daddy) was young, his Uncle Chuck, my ex’s brother, was a sculptor and creator of fantasy figurines called “Ral Partha.” So, I packed my little things away and this cabinet was in his bedroom. With one shelf having pewter figurines of dragons, gargoyles and wizards and another those metal Revolutionary war figurines.

  4. We have been sorting my mother’s things and it is amazing how the past comes back as we sort them. A memory flash of a bygone era and people in my life long gone will come back at seeing the strangest of things. Someytimes the little things are as important as the big things.

    • Elizabeth, this is such a meaningful comment. I like how you were saying that you were sifting or “sorting” through your mother’s things. Perfect pairing of the little things you feel are “as important as the little things!” ๐Ÿ™‚ The old and weathered thimble, little dress or coat pin, what kinds of things were you remembering, Elizabeth? โ™ก

      • yes, things like that. knitting needles and crochet hooks, and lace doilies and embroidered tablecloths and silver tea-sets. SO many other things we do not seem to use anymore. It has inspired another post for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m most impressed with the maturity of such a purchase by an 8-year-old!! It’s significance is apparent in the fact that you still have it and treasure it … as do your grandies ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I wanted to have somewhere to put my special items where I wouldn’t have to dust them, Joanne! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did all the dusting in our house and before I turned 10, I learned how to use vinegar and newspaper to clean windows and mirrors. My grandma who lived with us supervised with very quiet and gentle comments. My dad’s soft spoken mother was with us from when I was 4 until I was 15. โ™กโ™ก

      • It sounds like we may have some similar experiences from our childhood. I too had a list of household things I was responsible for as a child.
        By the time I was 10, I was cooking meals while my mother was working.

    • Oh, this was part of how my parents raised us, too. My Dad didn’t want us to be like the “spoiled brats” who tormented him when he was a poor, inner city boy of Cincinnati. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. That’s a darling photo and a charming acquisition story! And you still have it — I just love that! Clearly it’s a big hit with the M’s ๐Ÿ™‚
    I had to earn spending money as well, so my kids do/did also. Much as I handle it all the same, Sassy and Bubba are much less likely to earn money from chores and more likely to pout, whereas Sissy and Moo would take any job for any reward. Interesting isn’t it? I hope their life choices agree ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol

Leave a Reply

