Thursday’s Doors: Nana’s special case

Image

image

While visiting overnight,

M & M girls request

another peek into small

antique black

wooden case.

I have told my

grandies how my

parents gave my 2

brothers and me

small amount of money

spent in shops,

at flea markets

and auctions.

Five dollars bought one

brother porcelain animals:

His “dream” was to become

a Veterinarian.

Other brother thought his

career would be as

a Pharmacist.

He collected all sorts of

wooden, glass and ceramic

mortar and pestles.

We had to look these up

in Nana’s dictionary which

happily showed illustration.

We would accompany my

parents to these activities,

sometimes eating at

restaurant or from

food cart.

Here, girls hold my

“Glass Menagerie”

with dogs, cats,

porcelain place card

holders, angels,

Hummel figurines,

and characters

from Beatrix Potter.

Each one is delicate

and only once, have

we had to glue one

back together.

What are your

treasures and

do you share

them with your

smaller family

members?

Just letting

you know,

this creates

Trust,

shows

History,

and

Love.

♡   ♡   ♡   ♡

  ◇  ◇  ◇

Just my perspective

plus my parents’

philosophy on

sharing

precious items

with precious children.

69 responses »

  1. Ah, this is great Robin. I share your philosophy. As children, we grew up in a house that was filled with antiques in transit – Dad was an antique dealer. We learned to appreciate beautiful things and treat them with respect. Interestingly, because it was a profession, Mum and Dad didn’t really collect precious stuff themselves – it was enough to have things passing through. They did collect other things as you will see when you visit me. Coincidentally, I’ve written about collecting this week!

    • Great minds and Jenny. ♡ I didn’t even get to my Wed. post due to 3 hour concert at high school. My grandson is 11 and they held a Strings Spring gathering. From 4th grade to seniors in H.S. 🙂

  2. I don’t think of myself as a collector of anything that might be potentially interesting to a child … except for perhaps the Royal Doulton figurines I’ve been given over the years.

    I remember my Italian grandmother had a couple of figurines that I was fascinated with as a young child. I was never allowed to touch them and I have no idea what happened to them after my grandparents passed away when I was only 10.
    None of my siblings or cousins remembered the figurines and suggested I imagined them … until one day a few years ago I happened to find a very old photo with the figurines in the background. I felt vindicated! … children remember!!

    • You are one who has an amazing memory, Joanne. I am the oldest but truthfully the 3 of us were born in 4 years; so why don’t my brothers remember details? I can recite scenes from our lives. This started my writing my parents’, grandparents’ and great grandparents’ love stories. It was something I did my first year of blogging. Maybe you are also the Family Scribe!

      • It’s funny you should say that because recently my younger sister called me the Family Historian.
        After my parents passed away I started to write about their lives. So much of our family history is unknown and I didn’t want to lose what little we have left. In the course of writing this *book*, I learned so much! It is a source of much conversation when I’m together with my siblings 🙂

    • I am glad this was true about your carrying the stories in your family, Joanne. I am happy you are writing them down as a tribute to your family. I also meant to say I admire Royal Doulton figurines. I have several Lladro figurines since back in high school I went to Spain with my Spanish Club who joined my Mom’s Spanish Club. We sold our blue jeans there and bought porcelain pale faced and graceful figures with light blue tinged details. 🙂

  3. And there they are with their treasures! I don’t really have anything like this to share with my kids and it’s probably a good thing since they would be broken now. My jewelry box is the closest thing.

    • Marissa, your jewelry box sounds great! I found out many special items my Mom saved and purchased, including Princess Diana and Duchess (?) Kate dolls don’t bring even what she paid for them. Some sold only for 1/4 amount! She thought unfortunately they were her “investments.” My girls saved 2 or 3 of them but we put the rest of the money in her bank account.
      I chose favorites to put in her glass cabinet in her apt. We sold 2 other cabinets full of stuff and 100 dolls in boxes! 🙂
      I didn’t keep any of her stuff since my brothers already said what we put in her apt. goes to my children eventually. Long answer to your kind comments about my 2 inquisitive grandies, Marissa.
      I will be over soon to read your latest post. ♡

      • Oh yeah, I sell on Ebay a lot and usually do pretty well but once in a while I’m disappointed. I guess the truth is that while some things ‘should’ be worth a lot of money, the reality is, they are only worth as much as what people are willing to pay for them.

    • So true, only worth as much as others value and pay for. . . This is a cool fact about you. If you were here we would go thrift store shops and the best 70’s and 80’s shop here is called Rag O’ Rama in Columbus!

    • I think you make cookies and create things with your granddaughters, right?
      These two lucky girls (and the others in their crew) have a Mommy who does crafts but we make “books.” Their Mommy collects giraffes and African animals, so I am able to offer other choices. I love their Mommy’s (and my son’s) cooking and baking. They made their own tiered wedding cake now 8 years ago with that thick paste, what is that called where you make it and cut a circle and lay it down upon the cake? It molds to the shape. Enough rambling. . . These days are indeed so special, Elizabeth. ♡

    • Alok, thank you so much for seeing that “sharing is caring.” It isn’t really about “things” since most of this is just little items I chose and spent little on, as a child.
      We have a few things from one generation back but they are still in my 87 year old Mom’s apt. 🙂

  4. Getting a chance to see and hold those special things is very important to little kids. I remember going through my grandmothers desk. All the little compartments had stuff in them. I could look in thos little drawers every time I visited her. You’re very nice to indulge them Robin.

    • Oh, how I really like when someone says what I am doing will be remembered. Thank you for sharing this desk with its different compartments, Dan. It sounds like just the right place to spend time exploring.

    • Thank you for the “sweeties!” I think you are a sweetheart, Shanna. ♡ Glad somehow your blog is back on my reader! 🙂 It is so easy to lose track of people in blogging.

  5. Nikki always loved little trinkets like that and had a little shelf that she liked to keep them on. Your granddaughters are such sweet little girls and you can tell they are holding ever so carefully onto the ones in their hands. 🙂 ❤

  6. Beautiful treasures right there Robin!

    My little treasures come in and help themselves to what they can reach. Mostly books. And their own little treasures that are tucked in to nooks and crannies for them to refind.

    • Your treasures are so bright they know where they left things and trust you to keep them hidden, Colleen. I like my little apt and am glad (so far: Knock on wood!) There seems to be “enough” to keep them happy to come over.
      I like your “help yourselves,” open door policy at your house! ♡♡

  7. I’m so glad you shared this post. It’s so true and important. First I saved their best toys; the Fisher Price farm, Legos from the 80’s, beloved stuffed animals, Cabbage Patch dolls. My children couldn’t believe I kept them for their children. Then, I showed my grandchildren Grammy’s treasures; jewelry with family stories, her original Barbie doll, an antique collection of open salt dishes, and more. This sharing connects generations in such a special way, more than old photos can do. You describe it beautifully!

    • Jennie, so happy you enjoyed this. I am smiling and nodding my head. I could take a photo of the Cabbage Patch newborn, the Fisher Price barn with farm animals, Barbies and I have two sizes of Strawberry Shortcake dolls with Raspberry, Lemon Meringue, . . . We are very similar. Thank you for getting as excited about my post as I am your choices that you saved from your own children. I was going to tell you a great storage for Legos is a large fishing tackle box. 🙂

    • Carol, thank you for such a wonderful response. Were you the one I remember baking during Christmas with granddaughters? That is something I don’t do since my daughter, DIL and son like to bake. 🙂

      • That wasn’t me but I can imagine how baking with your grand-daughters must be a very sacred activity. I love all the photos you post of your grandchildren. They always make me smile. Have a Happy Sunday, Robin.

  8. I don’t have much in the way of small trinkets. The girls have miniatures though, from a friend in South Africa. She’d always include them in her care packages when they were wee and now there’s quite a collection. In our case, it’s probably more adults wanting to look at the kids’ trinkets 🙂
    We’ve never had a hands-off house. There are things I tell them to be careful with, but nothing like this.
    This reminds me of my mother’s mother, and the variation of toys she had for us…I think you’ve inspired me this morning, Robin — thank you!

  9. Pingback: Toys with the Cousin-nest of Cousins | joeyfullystated

  10. What a lovely grandma you are to your M&M girls. I imagine they love visiting you and feeling trusted. A pleasure to touch something porcelain after so much plastic has been given kids. I always like the feel of precious things when I was little — silk, satin, glossy wood, china cups. Gave me expensive tastes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

