The sky shone with pastels over the back of St. Mary’s Catholic Church

Image

image

The focus for my eyes as I walked down

the alley behind my apartment building,

following the pretty pastel clouds.

The aftermath of taking several shots

was to notice belatedly, the stained

glass windows shining from inside

lighting from the inner chapel.

I like the red brick neatly lining window,

the way you don’t expect the back to

have a playground shows up in

another photograph with a view,

distant peaks of Ohio Wesleyan

University, over a stream and fence.

The children have not been

playing on the outdoor equipment,

no little footprints zig-zagging

back and forth, creating patterns.

Pristine snow fall covering

unplayed equipment seem

to carry an abandoned

feeling, echoing sound

of kids giggling and

playing bounce

off brick walls

of Catholic

school.

55 responses »

  1. Have you ever noticed how the Catholic churches tend to be just a bit bigger and contain more elaborate artwork than most of the Protestant churches? Maybe it’s just me, but everywhere I have traveled I have had the impression that the Catholics were the first to build (their churches tend to be older than other churches in the cities), and they must have had more generous construction budgets given how glorious their churches are.

    I expected the Catholic churches (usually designated ‘cathedrals’) to be grand in other countries because they have a lot more Catholics – in Europe, and especially in Latin America. – Mike

    • Yes, Mike! The Catholics have some elaborate and ancient designs in their buildings and intricate details. I remember being in awe of Washington D.C. and other big city Catholic churchrs. The ones in Spain and ones in Mexico out shone their neighbors. It is always nice to think of how the congregation must feel truly proud of their church due yo the awesome construction. Even the impoverished must feel blessed in their pews. I have found Episcopalian diocese churches yo be almost as grand as Catholic with Cleveland holding a Boars Head Festival annually resembling the “pomp and circumstance” of the numerous Catholic Church celebrations, Mike. My Filipino friends have invited me to several Delaware, Ohio celebrations, but the only formal one I have written about was that of Felda’s son’s (Zachary) christening with 7 other “angels.” ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your special comment, Mike. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I really like the composition of this photo. LIke you, I hadn’t noticed the window until you mentioned it. My eye was drawn to the cross on top of the clock tower. It’s crooked. My OCD kind of twitches a bit at that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I like the description of children’s laughter … the sound surrounding the photographer is always missing from a photo ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Joanne, I tried hard as I could to capture a straighter photograph. Even got dizzy a little from shooting several cell phone photos! Lol. I am so glad you felt the laughter and the details in this made it a worthwhile post. Thank you! โ™ก

      • oh – the picture is perfectly straight. It’s the cross on the top that’s not … at some point it decided to lean
        I could walk by that church every day and only notice the cross is crooked! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I do see what you are saying but the cross isn’t crooked in another direction. I am going to try and take this from another direction. Take care and enjoy the beautiful weather, Joanne.

  3. Very nice. Our snow has since vanished, hasn’t it? 66 degrees and sunny here in NE Ohio today. Am loving it. I assume those of you more south in the state have it equally good. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, this is another lovely day! Yesterday, my friend didn’t want to walk due to the wind. I tried to get her to think of it as “resistance training.”
      My youngest daughter and I went to see the movie, “How to Be Single.” It is both hysterical snd poignant. We cried at one part!
      Hope you have a great rest of this beautiful weekend, Carrie. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thank you. Yes, it’s definitely windy! My ponytail looks like I walked into a cyclone. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I haven’t seen ‘How to Be Single’ but would like to. I’m taking my teen sons to ‘The Witch’ today. We always enjoy a good scary movie.

    • If you get a chance tomorrow, let me know how “The Witch” is. Thank you! I love scary movies but grandies are too young for them. We did like the “Goosebumps” movie. Smiles, Robin

    • Thank you, Pauline. I feel very happy about where I live. Sometimes I think that meeting a special man would be nice but wonder if he would adapt to seeing grandies often and also, walking to places and enjoying the simpler life. I would not wish to go back to having so many parties and social gatherings. My ex and I both belonged to social organizations which helped his profession more than mine.
      Hope you are having fun with art, crocheting and creating danglers, while keeping busy with your sweet Siddy and Orlando. ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ก

  4. Oh wow, bam, bam, bam! You hit the mark on so many levels with this one Robin. I love old churches, I love stained glass windows, I love light shining through them, I love steeples, and I loved your photos and words. What a great post, missy! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Leave a Reply

