Thursday’s Doors ~ Branch Rickey sculpture

Image

image

The great man who discovered
and sponsored Jackie Robinson
was a subject of a movie,
“42” and with Delaware
being a place Branch
coached and taught,
seems appropriate
to take a photo
of his head
sculpture.

The movie, “42”
came out in 2013.

The famous event occurred

in 1946, when the manager

for the Brooklyn Dodgers,

Branch Rickey signed the

late baseball great,

Jackie Robinson.

This was known as

“Breaking the color lines.”

The film is outstanding

with not only sports,

challenges and prejudice

depicted but a fantastic,

warm love story between

~ Rachel and Jackie ~

who married 1946,

the year this event happened.

This sculpture may

be found inside the

Branch Rickey building,

OWU campus where

Rickey finished his career

Coaching and teaching

sportsmanship to students.

This is part of what is called

” Thursday’s Doors” post,

featuring the doors and

what was behind my door

today. The weekly doors

posts are hosted by

Norm Frampton.

If you head over to Norm’s post,

you will find a wide variety of

doors which include interesting

locations and features found at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

* * * * * * * * * *

photo by reocochran,
notes on movie, “42”
and both Branch Rickey
and Jackie Robinson
by Robin O. Cochran.

48 responses »

  1. ooh, i didn’t know this story, about branch. there are so many amazing people in the world, and i’m always happy when someone brings there stories to light. thanks, robin )

    • Beth, it is a little rough in the movie due to racial slurs but I allowed Skyler to see, “42.” Guess who they had play Branch? Harrison Ford! πŸ™‚ My grandson’s (Skyler) middle name is Harrison carrying on my ex-husband’s family name. He was glad to see the happy ending shout Jackie but sad to see so much vitriol aimed at J. Robinson. Micah is 1/4 black and his Grandpa is black. He is only 6 almost 7; someday I plan to show him this film, too. Hugs!

    • Hi Amy! I think this is a very inspiring movie, one where today we can see how far we have come. Yet, still need to get closer together as people of the world. Not individual and separate countries like we sometimes see. The love story caught my interest the most because she was college educated and a calming spirit on Jackie Robinson. Oh yes, doesn’t hurt that Harrison Ford is in this film! πŸ˜‰

    • I have seen a lot of true story movies in recent years. The Stephen Hawking story(Theory of Everything), Alan Turing story (The Imagination Game with Keira Knightley and Benedict Cumberbatch, from PBS “Sherlock” and “Dr. Who” fame.) Have uou seen “Joy” about the woman who invented a mop, memory foam pillows and those velvet covered hangers. She is inspiring. I wish they had an Eleanor Roosevelt film since I admire her so much.β™‘β™‘
      Oh, I don’t really like war movies but the Unbroken movie and Saving Private Ryan movies are good. I just cry a lot when I see them.
      Amy, did you like “Selma?” It also made me cry. I got at the library a great movie, the back story of Coretta and Malcolm X’s friendship. I will look up the title and come back, dear. β™‘

    • A Lifetime movie you may find on Netflix or at your library, called “Betty and Coretta” was my recent favorite and inspiring movie lately. It shows about friendship and encouragement overcoming backgrounds. Amy, this is a great movie. β™‘

  2. I did not know there was a local connection with Branch Rickey and Delaware. What a great claim to fame! I’m glad you shared this. Branch Rickey is a legend in Major League Baseball lore. Without Branch Rickey, who knows how long it would have been before African Americans were allowed in the ranks of the Majors. – Mike

    • The premiere opening of this movie was really exciting, Mike. I still have the program and tickets. Jackie R. and Branch R. had family members at our local Strand Movie Thestre. I am so glad you already knew the Big story, it’s impact on sports and baseball! πŸ™‚

  3. I immediately asked my husband if he knew who Branch Rickey was (without any clues). “Wasn’t he a manager of the Dodgers?” He knew the man, but not the story. Thank you!

    • Jennie, so happy you referred to this post to your husband. Also, it warms my heart to share a lesson or background about someone. Thank you for letting me know you don’t mind my adding what is found beyond the doors or behind the man, in this case. πŸ™‚

  4. A wonderful sculpture honoring a good man. I loved the movie, 42 finding it to hold up a mirror on racial issues of that time. Wonderful acting also. My guy is a big baseball fan, he goes for the Orioles and the Astros. Have a great weekend, Robin πŸ™‚

    • Do Happy Your Guy Likes athletics, enjoying 42 and understanding the racial tensions and dynamics of 1946, Lana. Such a nice and encouraging comment. Enjoy your weekend, good friend! β™‘

  5. So interesting, Robin. I bought one of my brothers-in-law a book about Branch Rickey a few years ago. I had seen a review on PBS and had known nothing about him. A very forward thinker. I will have to look for that movie. I miss so many since I don’t like going to theaters. It is probably available on one of the many streaming sites. Thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

