Little Red Marley in Her “Wigwam”

Image

image

Daddy took Marley

into the woods.

Working together

to build a “house of

branches, leaves with

a few vines and sticks.”

Marley looks like she

is opening her “door,”

saying these friendly words:

“Welcome to my humble home.”

This is a monthly activity

where one of five children

is chosen for a fun and

individualized period

of priceless time.

When talking excitedly,

words like “Indian teepee,”

“wild child nature hut,”

“Natural lean-to,”

and “wigwam”

were mentioned by

Daddy and his oldest girl.

/ / / / /  ^  \ \ \ \ \

Nana asked Marley,

“Did you leave a trail

of bread crumbs to

find your way home?”

○ ● ○ ● ○ ● ○ ● ○ ●

photo by my son
James M. sent to
me for keeping
record of the
adventure,
January, 2016.

70 responses »

  1. Such a great photo. Such a great father! Dedicated time with one of the children is sure to contribute to lifelong memories. Thank you for sharing this precious moment with us readers. – Mike

    • Thank you, Jill. I find most people like to see my grandies and some get a lot of pleasure from their play time photos! I remember playing in the woods and we called this, “Making a fort!” 🙂

    • I imagine Faith and you spent lots of outside play time. In the olden days we called this, “making a fort!” My brothers made me jump off a high branch to join their “boys only” Clubhouse! 😀

  2. This is so cute. What a clever little thing to make! Do you know there is a hotel not too far away where all the rooms are wigwams? There’s an annual concert my son and husband like to go to and that hotel is nearby. Unfortunately, it’s always booked solid.

  3. Robin, I love love this post! What an amazing picture and wonderful adventure. Kudos to Daddy for filling each child up with imagination in such a vivid and memorable way. These are the experiences that create lifelong memories and show kids they are dearly loved. Amazing 🙂

    • Diana, I was hoping this would appeal to you, the master or mistress of Fantasy writing! This comment really shows me how connected you are to “other worlds.” I was blessed with a very creative Dad, so my son learned this from his Grandpa O.

    • Carol, this is so important for kids to get their own moments with each parent. I remember distinct moments which warm my heart with memories flooding back with my Mom or Dad. My Dad took us out on a rowboat in the dark, on to Lake Erie, one at a time to look at the stars or sunset. He was a painter in retirement and showed my kids art techniques. Mom was baking, sewing, music or Spanish lessons. Do you have special memories with your mother or father?

    • I think it is cool that he does this, too. I didn’t do this as much as my parents did. I was a single Mom for almost 9 years. My son was the map reader, navigator, gadget fixer and lawn mower. 🙂 We did cook together since the girls weren’t interested in this activity, Jenny.

    • Exactly, we used to think we were Daniel Boone (brothers) and I was playing “Little House on the Prairie.” Building forts in warmer months and igloo in the snow. Thank you, Eric, for sharing in the fun!

    • Maniparna, each of the kids have fun while they wait for their turn. My DIL has fun painting and making crafts with the kids. Outdoor play is my son’s favorite activity. 🙂

    • Oh, Tonya. I like the name, “woodland house!” My son enjoys outdoors and it is so fun to hear how excited they get when they have their turn. Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      • I’m glad you liked the name. It seemed fitting. 🙂 It’s lovely that your son and family enjoy spending time outdoors working on such fun and creative projects.
        I hope you have a wonderful weekend, too! Thank you, Robin. 🙂

    • Thanks for your warm and creative comments. It warmed up snd is 42 and sunny. My brother and I went out to hear a great. And last night. They performed covers for the Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Allman Brothers plus more! 🙂 Birthday party in park for 7 year old Micah. Anything new or exciting over there? 🙂

      • Sounds like a wonderful day and evening! We’ve had a sunny couple of days here lately ( thank goodness)–temperatures around 68-70. 😊 Yay!! ☀️☀️☀️☀️
        Happy Birthday to Micah! 🎂🎈

  4. Well, how cool is that! I just love the little wigwam they built. I want to go play with them too. They look like they know how to have such fun! And it’s great and so important to spend time with each child if you have more than one. This is a great and charming and delightful post, missy! 🙂 ❤

    • Hi, my dear Natalie. ♡ I read somewhere by having a good and close relationship with your father, it helps build a foundation for loving God or your Higher Power. I was lucky that in their 50s they retired and spent special time with each of my three children. This helped set an example for my son and daughter to spend individual time with their children.
      As a young girl, my Dad taught me woodburning and he was a fisherman so he didn’t just take the boys. Dad took me out on a rowboat in the middle (it seemed like) of Lake Erie. We would look at stars or a sunset. You abd your husband did things like this with your granddaughter, too. ♡♡

    • I just knew you had followed the practice of special moments with your daughter and grandchildren. ♡♡
      Still smiling at your “Missy” comment, Natalie. My grandson turned 7 today so we all had an informal “party” at the park. Hope you are enjoying a great Saturday.:)

  5. Well built and adorable! Sounds like a great activity for both father and daughter too. Love the opening they made and the leaves work perfectly…and most Faery like as well. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

