Township Hall gravesite

Image

image

As you may know I like
looking at cemeteries.

I was surprised to find a handful
of graves in a small plot area.

The age of people varied,
The years buried go far back.
1835,
1845,
1853.

The part I really like
the most is the rod
iron ornate fence,
protecting this obelisk.

This post coming 2 days
before Thursday’s Doors
post with front door of
Troy Township Hall.

/ / / / / / /

Photo taken on sunny
winter Saturday,
late afternoon by,
Robin O. Cochran
and information
given by Robin, too.

38 responses »

    • Ooh, I liked the movie they made about 5 to 7 years ago, the policeman and journalist were very focused on solving this famous crime, Juan. Thanks for adding this one here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you sincerely. In the early winter I wrote about being under ground, in a grave.
      I captured crystal thistles with a moody fog moving behind another small gravesite. I have tried to bring it into every winter month. (Like winter is a dead season with little plant life. . .)
      Oh! One grave has a glowing sunset reflected on its smooth surface. Let me know if you ever want me to go search for a title. When I post using a cell phone, I don’t always remember to use tags! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Yes, I would like to read these. If it’s not too much trouble do you remember more or less when you popsted or the titles for me to search for them. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Foggy, ethereal mood post was on January 12th, I am not sure why I was under the ground in this one, then the next one has less excitement but has quotes on January 19th. I will now head off to find the sunset reflection on the headstone. It really was amazing. . . Just lucky I was heading to Mom’s in Cleveland and saw the glowing stone from the road.

    • Thank you for showing interest inmy posts! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I think the crystalline thistle refers to the song, “One,” from the musical, A Chorus Line so its title “may” be A Singular crystal but it would be in January, the icy month.
      January 10th, the Grave Glows post has Shakespeare and Bob Dylan quotes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry, I use a cell phone to blog so I should be able to post links but haven’t learned how yet. I have sent blogs to emails before. Progress! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great rest of the week. Heading off to visit you and others. ~ Robin

  1. We love visiting cemeteries, too. In Glasgow, Scotland, the oldest headstones that were cut from limestone had worn so that the names and numbers had weathered to the point that they were difficult to read. However, the granite or marble headstones, for those who could afford them, looked almost as new as when they were first cut, even after 300-400 years. – Mike

    • Wow, those are old headstones and interesting that the marble and granite don’t seem to “weather” or show wear, from rain, snow and storms. Thank you, Mike for this lovely and historical comment. Glasgow, Scotland would be somewhere to visit my 1/4 heritage and ancestors! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Like you, I like cemeteries. They are quiet, peaceful places and I tend to wonder about the lives of those who are buried there – especially those who died young.
    I’ve heard there are writers who can pull stories together using the names found in cemeteries and the dates they died. Sadly, I don’t have that talent.

    • Joanne, you are a woman of many talents so no sadness necessary! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am happy you enjoy looking at cemeteries and think about the lives led by those long gone.
      There are stories to be told, I am sure. I wrote a bit of poetry, like I was the one buried under the cold early Winter’s ground on one of my first cemetery posts. Probably “creeped” people out, but most were too polite to say so! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Oh, you really brightened this morning when I circled back to yours and Marissa’s comments. I appreciated your feeling that buried under ground post was creative. โ™ก

  3. Our small New England town has a cemetery that I love, odd as that may sound. The headstones are slate instead of granite; therefore the carving is petty much intact. Most are from the 1600’s and 1700’s. The carvings are simply beautiful, and the stories are fascinating. There is one cluster of children in a family who died of distemper. I found that fascinating. Before moving to New England decades ago, I had no idea that gravestones could be such works of art, and be full of information. Art, history, and literature in one place.

    • Jennie, so nice to find another fellow explorer of cemeteries. I don’t believe I have seen slate headstones so this would be a really cool photo post, someday. This is neat that they don’t show the effect of time and haven’t weathered.
      You gave a trio of fine reasons to choose to walk through a cemetery and see the sights which include art, history and literature. I like to look for rare Revolutionary War and Civil War medallions by their graves. I haven’t taken pictures of them but a good guy friend has before. It is especially a unique experience where you live since the earliest settlers, other than Native Americans, came from New England. Thank you for this great comment, Jennie!

      • Thank you, Robin. This was an entirety new discovery when we moved to Massachusetts. Now I understand why a slate roof lasts forever. Yes, there is a trio of learning, and It really does encompass much more than the headstone itself. Glad you liked it.

  4. I share your love. This is a lovely shot of a solitary but fundementally protected grave. Cared for. Respected. As we move forward towards our own inevitable demise – the thing we fear, the thing we cannot escape, I find it moving in the extreme when I see a carefully placed and cherished memorial to those already gone.

    • These are such finely expressed and respectful descriptions of why gazing at the variety of graves and headstones is a fascinating form of passing time. Thank you for the list of attributes of the emotions attached to this, too. โ™ก

  5. I have a good Filipina friend here in Hawaii who thinks my love of old graveyards is nothing short of crazy. Her people believe unsettled spirits live there, and perhaps that is true. But living so long in New England, I loved walking through these quiet places and checking out the epitaphs, much as you are doing! Aloha, Robin!

    • Bela, your gravatar is so beautiful and shines like an angel or shiny “star” upon my eyes. I realized from my trio of Filipino friends, May, Felda and Mary Jane that they feel trepidation and superstitious of examining the graves, headstones and mausoleums. I think New England would have some of the oldest cemeteries because this Eastern seaboard was where most of the first settlers landed. I know you know this, but saying it in the comments to provide explanation for those coming from another country or side of the world.
      I had someone write they were surprised we still had snow coming down the other day. I told them, “It can keep arriving as late as the month of May!” Of course, you and I remember Easter dresses hiding under winter parkas! Lol ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Robin, I didn’t arrive in Maine until I was eighteen, so my memories of Easter dresses and patent leather shoes differs a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sweet memory โค And yes, Maine has old graveyards, filled with sea captains of old. The widow's walks on the tops of mansions in Camden, ME exemplify the longing those women felt for their men at sea.What perilous journeys they took! Have a lovely weekend, my friend.

Leave a Reply

