The bittersweet goodbyes. . .

Image

image

T’is bittersweet to say goodbye,

Not always sure of when

next meeting

“in person” or

“greeting over phone.”

Many say with sincerity,

“Hasta la vista, mi amigo.”

Not as the Terminator does,

about to blast away at you.

But in the kindest thoughts,

“Till we see each other again.”

“Vista” is a scene most beautiful

which a dear family member’s

“Visage” or face is to you.

In Spanish it literally means “to see.”

When I see your friendly face

a lightness fills my heart.

When I see a family member’s

whole self moving

towards me,

closer. . .

Results in

hugging tightly

and wrapping warmly

into my arms, fiercely

and defiantly wrapping

in protective body armour.

. . . Until we meet again.

♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

Photo of fading foliage,

possibly bittersweet or

other orange-red berries

inspired my “goodbye”

parting thoughts.

~ reocochran, 3/2016.

=  _  =  _  =  _  =

photo by reocochran,

research with thoughts,

by Robin O. Cochran.

42 responses »

  1. This was a lovely read. The Terminator’s “hasta la vista”, for me, is strong protection from family and friends. We don’t always have to be physically present to take care of them.

    • What a great way to react in both directions. Nia, I am hoping to not bring you to tears! Much rather we laugh together. 😀 I was sentimental while writing this, to tell you the truth. Happy mid-week to you, Nia!

    • Oh, good. It made me feel a bit sad if I “bummed you out!” I am contemplating either candy or wine. . . Cheers to you, my candy sorting friend. I think it was M & M’s. 🙂

    • It was strange while early winter to see the berries still “hanging in there.” I knew that by March, I better save this color photo and try to inject feeling to the bittersweet plant. Thank you for finding the red and brown contrast, “effective,” Anneli. 🙂

    • Oh, so glad you can picture this poem “in action,” Mike! My grandies spring to mind, but a grown, forlorn-feeling child also has needed fortification from my arms. I imagine the same happens with your loved ones, too. ♡

  2. The opening lines reminded me of September 11th here in New York. I know the piece has nothing to do with that, but those opening words reminded me of the stories of the peope who said goodbye to their friends and family not knowing it would be the last goodbye. Life can be tragic like that. We say goodbye to someone not knowing it is the final one. Sorry, for going off on a tangent, but those are the emotions your piece elicited from me. By the way, I thought this was an amazing piece.

    • Oh, I couldn’t possibly be more pleased! Like my brother, an artist, gets excited when someone has a visceral reaction. . . I am honored very much with your thinking of the powerful and moving “goodbyes” on that infamous morning. A sincere thank you, dear.

    • Well, those berries may be from the weed called “bittersweet.” I have some silk leaves with plastic berries that I take out every fall and put away when the first snow falls, Juan. Shakespeare “waxes on” and others about “Parting is such sweet sorrow. . .” When I took the photo it was in early December snd I just “knew” I would want some color in a post, so I just wrote a rather emotional response to saying, “goodbyes.” I hug my friends, brothers, Mom, kids and grandies fiercely with prayers in my head every time I leave them.

  3. Life is a series of hellos and goodbyes…I’m afraid it’s time for goodbye again. It’s the second time I’ve used this quote as a comment on a blog today…must be something in the air. Great words and picture. I love how those orange seeds pop.

    • Marissa, now I am wondering who and why you were already saying “goodbye” today? Happy to know you still will be saying “hello” to me for quite some time. Did I remember to tell you, if you try to “take off,” I will stalk you! Hahahaa!

  4. Your words are like the bittersweet in your photo: bright yet a little melancholic. I dislike saying goodbye also, particularly when I am visiting friends far away. Thank goodness for cell phones and being able to stay connected through photos of love back-and-forth. I do have some friends who refuse to ever use the word ‘goodbye’!

    • Thank you, Pam for recognizing the bright words mixed with the melancholy ones. Nice to know you aren’t crazy about parting moments and saying goodbyes either.
      I have one person who won’t even say goodbye on the phone: my Mom. She has become quite superstitious as she grows older. I appreciate her various and creative alternatives. Recently, a grown, adult child needed comforting words and hair stroked. It really touched me to be still “needed.”

    • You may not know how much your compliment about my writing and use of words meant. I am honored since you are a wordsmith, inspiring me with how you weave your unique words, seems like an ancient language, with the fantasy world your characters live in, Diana.

  5. this brings back memories. I remember the first time I ever saw bittersweet. she, who was also bittersweet, asked me to go look for these berries….and she described them, twice, since I didn’t know what I was looking for the first time…and I finally found them. the berries are bittersweet and so was that time, for that bittersweet is gone, and so too bittersweet who asked me to find them- buried under a mound far from any berries.

  6. I love the last bit “hugging tightly and wrapping warmly into my arms, fiercely and defiantly wrapping in protective body armour.” That’s so eloquent. Reminds me of when The Mister would leave for long periods of time.
    There’s a lot of bittersweet going on around me right now, a lot of changes only the trees could understand.

Leave a Reply

