Side of Troy Township Hall, Thursday’s Doors ~ 3/3/16

Standard

image

The roadside graves are open,
Weathered stones,holding facts,
Who lived and died around
Troy Township area?
When and what dates?

This strange location to bury
deceased in grassy area was
examined and studied by me.

Next to a building for meetings,
where township members walk
right on by, only one street lamp
nearby, another located in parking
lot. The busy north – south Rte. 23
runs by this gravesite, small place
for select 18th century population.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

40 responses »

    • I am also glad how they are still preserved, Dan. As someone (outside blogging world) mentioned, the side where lettering is written, the sunset’s rays fall upon them. It made me smile!
      This place (along with local diners) is where presidential candidates used to come versus the Columbus international airport where Donald Trump landed his jet and spoke in the hangar this week. The venue of “stomping grounds” from local town halls is a’changing. Just seems heading the “wrong direction!”

    • First, I keep forgetting that I want to say, I really like your green dress and new look on your gravatar, Jill. 🙂
      I enjoyed going this simpler direction for my Doors post, when I think of how local town halls, diners, and small town people were the ones whose votes “counted.” The Donald arrived in Columbus this week and campaigned from the airport with his personal jet behind him.

    • Diane, thanks, sweetie! I am happy to know that your husband wouldn’t think this was odd; this is more “normal” where settlers had family plots. Tennessee is a beautiful state with the Appalachian foothills and mountains. 🙂 My parents lived in Oak Ridge when I was a baby, tell him, since Dad was on the NASA team that set up the nuclear reactor there. Hopefully, that worked out well and he won’t hold it against me.

      • OMG, oldest son is an engineer in nuclear security and goes to Oak Ridge sometimes. He is fascinated with it. That is very cool! We go to the different cemeteries searching for family members when we’re down there but I’ve never done pictures. I will next time we go.

    • Carrie, I can hear the wheels of your creative mind cranking. 😉 I had a focus in my mind, Donald Trump came to Columbus to speak this week, at the airport hanger with all the photographs featuring his personal jet in the background. The contrast just struck me from recent past presidential candidates visiting local diners, coffee shops and shaking the “locals’ hands.” They used to hold town hall “meet and greets” . . . 🙂

  1. I suspect, in the days before automation, that people didn’t want to wander off too far or find earth too difficult in which to dig for burying the dead. It makes sense that a grassy piece of ground near a gathering place would be as good as any for a burial ground, although it does seem odd to see it like this many years later. – Mike

    • Mike, I really am happy to hear a valid explanation for the burial grounds being close to a public place. Nice flat area, too. I have a friend and coworker who pointed out the front of the headstones isn’t facing where I stood to take pictures of the township hall. Instead, they are facing the sun setting. This was a pleasant thought and it did help my taking the photos featured earlier in the week. 🙂 I was thinking if I weren’t going to be cremated, I would choose to have my headstone facing West, too.

    • Oh, this is really cool! Thank you for mentioning this small cemetery in front of a local church. You might feature your cemetery close to Halloween with the idea of it being haunted. I would enjoy if there is local tales and folklore. . . 🙂

      • I actually wrote a blog post about it on Fourth of July of all days. It is on Herkimer’s Historic Four Corners, which all have some haunting legends which I must find out more about.

    • It is nice of you to find this peaceful and it would be a nice place to contemplate in, Maniparna. I liked how the sun fell as you faced the lettering on the headstone. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SOUNDS LIKE THEY MADE UP THEIR OWN MINDS! In our town, several of these odd-looking centers exist, when each village center hoped to be the main center many yes later. Although one is officially a church’s front lawn, many people think Douglas, Mass. has two Commons. Interesting!

    • Thank you so much for the re-blogging, Jonathan. The word you meant to be “years” turned out to be “yes.”
      Churches sometimes do have small family plots or local cemeteries. Douglas, Massachusetts sounds like it is very uncommon. 🙂

      • “Uncommon…!” Sorry—typos happen when I’m tired!. Douglas does have 5 cemeteries, each with their enclosure. can’t think of any private ones here.

  3. When you said …”the graves are open…” I wondered how! the area where the graves ae—that area around them is open and unfenced! “A TIASKET A TASKET, WE FOUND AN OPEN CASKET…THE ONE IN THERE IS HIGHLY SENSED—SO DON’T YOU EVEN ASK IT!” 😀

Leave a Reply

