My November porcelain doll

Image

image

I was “sweet sixteen”
and understood finally
why Mom collected dolls.

She had only two she
Remembered. . .

The German baby,
Rosie sucked on
doll baby’s hands
made of
paper mache,
composition.

All of pink paint
was consumed.

Her other doll,
a Victorian black-
coiffed, porcelain
doll had one arm
which got ripped
off “accidentally”
her cloth body.

She explained
“All about the
Depression”
during my
younger years.

My childish
self-centered
position of
daughter
had only
“half listened.”

Sent to my room for,
“Eye-rolling.”

“Special-Ordered”
doll was made by
Vermilion, Ohio
artist who
hand-painted
ceramic
“bisque”
dolls.

I turned 16,
my young heart
innocent and happy.
Kissed a few weeks
before birthday by a
Boy Scout.

I treasured this doll,
Put on my bed from
Age 16 until 22.

She sat on my bed
while away at college.

Only marriage sent her
into a suitcase,

One of those blue
metal ones,

Decorated
with tiny
white stars,
lined in pink,
cardboard interior.

She shares her space
with twin Ginny’s.

Their dresses made by
Vogue company  in
Medford, Massachusetts,

An Asian Barbie,

The Effanbee Rebecca,

and my first

“Beach Blonde Barbie.”

What
Memories
Do you have~

Lurking in boxes,
In plastic tubs,
Suitcases or
A trunk?

♡ ¤ ° ¤ ♡

There is a special poet and
Published author, fellow
“mid-westerner,”
from Michigan.
She wrote,
“Doll God”
Please check
out my friend,
Luanne Castle:

http://writersite.org

Photo of doll and
two “Sweet 16”
cards, one from
Dad and Mom,
other from 2 brothers,
taken by reocochran.

68 responses »

    • Thanks so much, Colleen. I was a “Tom boy” in many respects. My brothers and I had a woods behind us. We built forts, dragged rocks to build things near the creek and they taught me to hang jump from a tree branch, almost 8 feet up! Mom did her best trying to also instill “how to be a young lady” wearing dresses she made for school and church. 🙂

      • My brothers and I did the same kinds of things. And more so. I think mom gave up on trying to make me act girly when she had more girls. 😉

  1. Oh gosh, I had so many special dolls including the a first edition Ken (with real hair somewhat like astroturf) and second edition Barbie (with a beehive) that my mother passed on to me. I also had a Cher doll. Sadly, I never took good care of my things. A shame, I’m sure they would have been worth a fortune today. This one is a beauty. So delicate and love the dress.

    • Thanks, Marissa! I had a friend who had one of those Ken dolls! You described the hair perfectly! 🙂 You are so right about the hair style of the 2nd edition Barbie, it did look like a dark brown “beehive” Lol
      Don’t feel bad, none of my dolls would bring $20, now. You had to keep the boxes! How many parents threw them out on Christmas morning or after birthdays? Cher would have been so cool! 🙂

      • My Barbie had a blonde beehive. She looked older than the other, newer Barbies so we always pretended she was their mother, LOL. Yes, the Cher was cool but she was a total wreck thanks to all the damage my sister and I did. I think if the actual Cher had seen her she would have recommended some plastic surgery!!

    • Oh, this is a unique perspective, Anneli. I always felt she was “shy” and spending her days, “daydreaming.” Her dress is a simple plain cotton and not taffeta nor satin. I named my doll, “Elizabeth,” from Jane Austen’s, “Pride and Prejudice” and my middle name. 🙂
      I am always surprised at how people project different perspectives on things. Thanks for sharing this, Anneli.
      The woman who painted the features before her head, arms and legs were put into a kiln was a local artist who my Mom asked her to use auburn hair for mine. My Dad saw that my Mom admired my doll and went back to the store and ordered one for my Mom whose “Rebecca” wore a cotton dress with pink roses. She still has her doll in her senior living apartment in her bottom dresser drawer. They are not worth any amount of money since they don’t have a “brand name.” Special to us, though. ♡

    • Lina, your sweet comments show how you immerse into people’s stories. This is truly a wonderful gift. Thank you, dear! Do you have something from your childhood to share that is special to your past? ♡

      • 😊…my kitchen sets! I was in love with cooking even then…difference is I used imaginary ingredients then, now I use real ones 😂

    • Lina, those kitchen sets were nice to have.:) My Mom came up with a way to have a “pretend” kitchen pantry in the basement play set. The cardboard boxes from appliances were used and a half wall of a box became a place to look into the kitchen. She would retape Jello boxes and give me empty spice bottles. When we went on trips, they would buy the small boxes of cereal in a multi-pack. We ate them as snacks in the car. My favorite was Apple Jacks. She would save them for my “kitchen.” Now, I have a small area for the grandkids with empty creamers, spice bottles and dishes to prepare meals. I even have a waitress pad and tray for them to play “server.”

    • Diana, thank you for mentioning this brought up memories of past dolls from your childhood. I am sure Mom went to a school function, Holiday Craft Sale, so this doll wasn’t even as expensive as it should have been. Being the only girl, she tried fairly hard to help me become a “young lady” rather than my impulse to hang with my brothers and playing like a, “tom boy.” 🙂

    • Jill, in an above comment, Anneli thought this doll’s nose makes her look “snooty.” Porcelain dolls have a wide variety of faces so to some maybe they are “scary” and to others, “snobby” or intimidating. I can see why you might be scared of porcelain dolls.
      I always called her “Elizabeth” like Jane Austen’s independent character. (My middle name, as you may have heard me say before.)

      I felt my doll was “shy” and a “daydreamer.” It is funny because her gaze (to me) looks like she has focused or is concentrating on a thought.
      I scared my youngest brother by hiding in his closet when he was a boy. He, much to his wife’s consternation, keeps all closets open in his house. Childhood fears come sometimes from things from nightmare or actual event.
      My artist/ middle brother hates elevators, caves and tight spaces. Mom finally said she left him in the playpen longer than either of the other of us. When she was cooking or cleaning, I was playing in my room by myself. She felt by telling him, it might help to get his fear of tight places to pass.

  2. What an exquisitely beautiful doll, Robin! She is a dreamer, gazing off into the stars as she is. Such a sweetheart. And so are you–thank you so much for mentioning my book and our midwestern roots!! xo

  3. Lovely Robin! I had a doll that was gifted to me by my favourite aunt on my third birthday. It sat on my bed for years and then on top of a chest of drawers when I married. My eldest daughter loved it and was allowed to hold it now and again. On her nineth Christmas it was redressed and gifted on to her. She still has it, sitting atop a chest of drawers in her bedroom.

    • I love to hear of cherished gifts being passed down to the next generation, Pauline. You were a mature 3 year old to take good care of the doll, even as you grew older, too. Sweet story! 🙂

  4. She has such a lovely fresh face, Robin. I’m afraid I have none of my childhood memories in boxes. For some inexplicable reason, my dad threw out all my treasured possessions when I went off to college. I think he was cross because I’d chosen to study teaching rather than work in a factory and earn money straightaway. He was a very strange man. 😕

    • Oh, Sylvia. I am sorry to hear of this rash action or reaction to your leaving to head off to college. I hope you may write some kind of memory story to look back upon your childhood treasures. One day you will read it to remember. Plus, grown children may like the nostalgic notes. 🙂

  5. Oh, Robin! What a gorgeous dollie! She’s absolutely perfect! Aren’t you blessed to sill have her? And in such lovely condition!
    My Mommie was a collector of dolls, and I remember “half listening” to how special the all were but being more focused on being allowed to play with them. Especially the old 50s and 60s Barbies!
    What a precious gift our moms gave us. Not just dollies, but the love of dollies. ❤

    • I am sorry to be rather late in replying, Robyn. My grandson is 11, uses a tablet I bought him. He used ten gigabytes of data in one day! I was trying to stay off my phone and get his tablet “limited” so may be slowly visiting everyone when I go to library. I am on free Wi-Fi for short time. Thank you for your reaaly sweet and cute comment! 🙂

    • Eric, I am at my son’s house using their Wi-Fi. I will go to library to visit friends who have commented here and other posts. I was able to write a post awhile back about how that first kiss got initiated by G.S. friends who said I was going to be 16 and never kissed. Glad to know you may have known of such things. . . 🙂

  6. I’m afraid that the toys and dolls I had as a child got played with extensively – very hard. There were no survivors.

    I remember my mom had a porcelain doll for years and years, but I don’t know what happened to it. Quite frankly, it freaked me out a little.

    • I have heard of such fears of dolls. Someone else said they were creeped out by porcelain dolls, Joanne.
      I liked this idea of no survivors among your toys. This could make a cool poem or humorous short story of how they were each destroyed by fun, naughty and adventurous children! 😉

    • I really liked this comment and may have replied or not. . .
      Your using “no survivors” from your personal collection of toys and memorabilia made me smile! A humorous poem or short story could include this phrase. It is an inspired one! 🙂

  7. I’m going through my boxes of goodies that I haven’t seen in 10 years. I’m trying to decide what is special to me and if my kids would feel bad getting rid of the items when I’m gone. So far….I haven’t found too much I am all that attached to any more. Just the little things from when my kids were babies.

    • The things you received from your children are great mementos, April. I would keep a few of your things just in case you have grandchildren who wish to explore. I cannot believe how my little girl “grandies” love stuff from the past! 🙂

    • Thank you, Tonya. Hope to get around and visit. I had a grandson accidentally use most of a month’s worth of data we share in one day! I gave him a tablet when he turned 11 in November and usually uses 4 to 5 gigabytes but he used 10. I blog via cell phone and don’t have WiFi. So, relying on getting to library after work and getting caught up is a little crazy. Lol 😀

  8. It is a beautiful doll. It speaks of history as well in a good way. 🙂 Hidden treasures that I have…somewhere a book collection my mother holds…and of course Barbie dolls.

Leave a Reply

