A creek near day’s end

Image

image

The light beamed brightly,
Trying to warm and melt the ice.

All day had its chance to do this,
Shining golden sifting through trees.

Details in snow of pawprints,
Icy creek edges emphasize
Natural forces in play.

Sometimes little details make
the best scenery decorations.

Slivers of sunshine,
White snow dusting,
Limpid water pools,
Tiny animal tracks,
Crooked erosion,
Winding creek.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
winter photo taken by,
Robin O. Cochran,
poetic expression written
by blogger reocochran.

58 responses »

  1. I’m very fond of small burbling creeks and they have a special beauty when they are half frozen. It’s too bad that a photo can never capture the full magic of a flowing creek. Maybe it’s the gentle sound the creek makes that’s missing.

    • Yes, but there are able bloggers who are also videographers who include the sound and movement. I am just “lucky” I know how to do this much. . . ha ha ha! Thanks, Joanne, for adding that the burbling and sound effects do make it very nice setting to be in. It was! πŸ™‚

    • I am thankful for the ability to share this, since it is one of my favorites lately. This is down the road from that little township hall and cemetery. Just happened to be serendipitous, Anneli! πŸ™‚

    • Amy, you are so very sweet to say this! You always have such fantastic photos, this one truly reminded me of the path you hiked and how you expressed you were halfway up, then looking back you could see how far you came. Your photos on that post and others are truly professional, my dear friend! ❀ ❀

    • Now, if I go past this scenery again soon, I will wish I could run into you running along a trail, Kelly! Thank you for such a wonderful comment. Have a great beginning to your week, enjoy a restful and peaceful day today. πŸ™‚

    • It was a serendipitous moment, since I was pulling away from the township hall and cemetery. I chose to head home another direction, passing over a bridge and just thought: “I need to stop here and look beyond the bridge!” Hope you have a wonderful rest of the weekend and beginning of the week, Dan! πŸ™‚

    • It is funny, since I took a few photos and kept coming back to this one, with the glowing sun setting in the distance and its light upon the trees. Thanks, Marissa for seeing that it did have a unique way of including so much in one photograph. ❀

    • Oh, I hope so, Mike! It is true that the week is going to be warmer but there is also possibility of a few more snowfalls before April ends. We are only at the beginning of Ohio’s March weather and it may still go out “Like a Lion!” πŸ™‚

    • I will indeed need to come back for a few different seasons and see how Spring, Summer and Fall look here. I was pleasantly surprised since I normally head the opposite direction to go home from where I was. . . very serendipitous! Sylvia, hope the process of settling in is still going smoothly and will go head over and see if anyone or any thing is creating interest in your scenery views! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I am happy you found something in what I wrote. I have been trying to put into words what my photos evoke. We all tend to think our writing is not “good enough” but I am working on it! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you so much for this lively comment. Coming across a small bridge over a half frozen creek or stream was so instinctive for me to stop. I turned into a driveway and hurried to see this scenery. I am happy to have you share it, dear.

Leave a Reply

