Five Geese Flying Back

Image

image

Instead of “5 little monkeys
Jumping on the bed” . . .

You know the tune.

Hope I got the syllables
and rhythm right . . .

Five little geese
Flying back home.
One craved a snack,
flew down to catch some bugs.

Mama called out to him,
“Get back in formation or
you’ll get left behind!”

Four little geese
Flying back home.
One needed to stop
her tummy from tumbling.

Daddy called to her,
“Get back in formation or
you’ll get left behind!”

Three little geese
Flying back home.
One decided to stop
and get a little shut eye.

Mama called the little guy,
“You better hurry up or you’ll
be stuck in Delaware, Ohio!”

Two little geese
Flying back home.
The girl thought she’d
do a few somersaults.

Daddy called to his favorite,
“You better catch up or you’ll
miss tasty baby frogs!”

One little goose
Flying back home.
He felt lonely and
wanted to cry.

“No more goofing around
for cross country geese!”

(Alternative ending)

“No more dilly-dallying
for long distance geese!”

When some grandies and I
were at Delaware State Park,
we saw geese. Another gaggle
of geese were spied in the
Olentangy River, winding by
Mingo Park. We started a
song to get the geese all
into their triangular pattern.

One of the girls wanted a
gymnastic girl goose who
could do somersaults. An
older boy wanted them to
scoop baby frogs up and
eat them! “Ewww, gross!”
Nana and another grandie
wanted the geese to eat
bugs. The youngest boy
yawned  and said,  “One
goose needs to take a nap!”

Photo taken by Nana/ Robin,
Verses compiled together on 2
fantastic and warm weekends,
original composition.

88 responses »

      • Well, Robin, thank you πŸ™‚ She is growing up to be a mix of brat and sweetness… don’t know which one I like better haha..
        As for blogging, I have been away for a long time. Health issues are worse now, then a few other things as well. So I wasn’t very active for a long time.. But, yes, it is always nice to meet an old friend and greet like there never was a separation ever.. that, it seems to me, is what friendship should be like.. Thanks, Robin., I hope you are well.. take care.. πŸ™‚

    • So sorry about poor health conditions setting you back, T. The daughter may be practicing her confidence and I think she will change back to her sweet disposition, in the future! πŸ™‚

    • Inese, such a kind commenter you are. I have to laugh when things fall into place, it leaves me pleased. I was happy to pass on the blissful afternoon and hope to brighten someone else’s day. hugs xo

    • When you comment, I always am so grateful. Your superb photography leaves me in awe, often speechless. Your compliment is “high praise” to my ears. Thank you!

    • I am glad you liked this one, Jill. πŸ™‚ I like paths in woods, but the bridge and scene below of dozens of geese on the river just happened to allow my capturing this “quintet.” The road away from the bridge was cool how it curved. . .

    • I am not positive but you may try their own original song. Your kinders have had plenty of inspiration over their months with you. Let me know if they want to write their own version. . . πŸ™‚

  1. YAY the geese are back!!! Here too, Robin! We saw some flying in yesterday and a few had awkward landings in a body of water. It was quite the show and it is too bad I did not have my camera. Thank you for this post. It made me smile. ❀

    • I love when they accidentally have awkward landings, makes me want to write a silly verse about klutzy geese. My grandma used to call me a “silly goose,” in a very loving voice. ❀
      Thank you, Amy for sharing the fun and joy in the grandkids' time in the car and out and about at the Delaware (Ohio) state park! πŸ™‚ Yay!

    • April, sometimes I ask coworkers at lunch, if my posts seem self absorbed. Don’t you sometimes worry about writing our personal stories on blogs, too?
      Thank you for liking this, I like how your comment mentions “time spent.” ❀
      Interesting, one coworker, who grew up in Cleveland so we bonded early on, has a female partner while another has a boyfriend who they have lived together for twenty or more years. Neither have children like we have, yet they enjoy the grandies' adventures.
      (Just in case anyone would want to read their "love stories," the latter one was called fence post buddies and the women roommates for life is about Suzie and Sandy.) They think they are famous! πŸ˜€

      • I wonder if I sound self absorbed because I do write about my personal experiences. But I think you and I are also willing to listen to others and most definitely, think of others before ourselves. Therefore, I think we’re just expressing our experiences.

      • No, that is not a concern with your posts because I feel you are empathetic and sharing how you get thorough your serious past of cancer (scary!) Makes me feel your blog creates a “center” of shared challenges.
        I mean my talking about grandies may come across as “bragging!”

      • I do feel sharing allows people to see us as “open” to hear others share. I was looking back at unresponded comments and found this gold nugget of truth and light so I am agreeing we are not self-absorbed. πŸ™‚

  2. I love your song! I’m going to be learning it to sing whenever I see those honkers overhead which is often at the moment. I simply love them πŸ™‚

    • I agree with your liking geese and their honking. πŸ™‚ Thanks for “joining me and my peeps, in the song!”
      I am kind of sensitive and “worry” when I see one alone, honking incessantly, as if crying out for the rest of his team, “Where are you?” This also happened at the Delaware State Park reservoir. I didn’t point it our to the kids. My eyes kept watching his frantic sky circling path and it kind of stayed with me the rest of the afternoon, too.

      • It has been gloomy here off and on, too. I got a photo of what I would call a peregrine, tan with white details. I have wanted to publish it looking quite plump in the grass but it is not very detailed. These geese came out fairly crisp. I followed this bird when it took off from a neighboring yard into a tree but that photo is even less clear! 😦 just sharing and agreeing the color is important and comes out better with the sun! πŸ™‚ Thanks, Anneli for “listening!”

    • It was a full day since I ended up with 3 grandies coming home to my one bedroom cozy apt, Diana! My son and his wife were ever so grateful. Up at 6:30, bright and shiny, too! πŸ™‚

    • It was a really special time, Diana. I had one 7 year old grandson who asked to spend all 3 days with my Mom and me. They are watching Disney while I answer or respond to comments. πŸ™‚ Hope you have a fantastic weekend! πŸ™‚

  3. Earlier this week I counted 12 Canadian geese hanging out around the pond behind our apartment building. They don’t look like they are going anywhere. I don’t think they got the memo about the return migration to Canada. I guess we should be on the lookout for goslings in the coming weeks.

    I like your updated verse for Five Little Monkeys. – Mike

    • Mike, it is funny because I took a second photo and wrote about five little Canadians, soon to be published. That tube in my head was to the song, “Ten Little Indians.” πŸ™‚ I look forward to seeing your goslings, I will try to capture some of ours!

    • Mike, I am up at Mom’s and she plus my brother and grandie, Micah, are watching Disney while waiting for Cleveland Cavs playing on TV. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the great geese report and I apologize for my late response. Always nice how you are so detailed and informative in your lovely comments. The local geese, did they ever get the memo?

    • They are indeed helpful in composing my posts and they put up with my pulling over, as long as they have a chance to come with me! πŸ™‚ I have post it notes in my car, Dan. πŸ˜‰

    • The idea of it being in Arizona appeals to me. I like the idea of ME being there, too. The Arizona sky being crisp and blue is so true. I remember thinking this, as a 15 or 16 year old. That was a LONG time ago. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, it is blue and crisp most days. But your photo has that colder crisp look for some reason. I can’t figure it out. Come visit me?

    • I am not usually lucky with clarity. There are so many talented nature photographers, I hesitate to take pictures and post them! Glad you found the words ” charming.” Thank you, dear.

    • Thanks, dear Lynn. I think geese in flight, on water and with goslings are wonderful but I understand those who don’t like their large quantities of goose “poop.” My girlfriend mentioned sidewalks full of it by state parks. No one mentioned this here. πŸ™‚

    • Geese seem to have such a unique system of moving from one place to another, how do they not squabble over whose turn it is to lead and who will be at the end? Mother Nature sure did create special creatures and natural wonders. πŸ™‚

      • yes I agree. They are so beautiful and now around in our area we see them all over. I love watching them come and go.They must have just come back because when I walk they are in the fields and even on people’s lawns!

    • Ellen, I am happy to have your kind comment. Thank you for liking this. I hope to connect more during the week. I have been silly, watching television too late, tonight.

    • Judy, thank you for liking the way the kids helped me create the story song.
      The grandkids and I like to play all sorts of car games but a few of them still like making up songs and chants. We usually play “my grandpa owns a grocery store and in it he sells”. . . (use initials like “B.S.” for brussel sprouts or “L.C.” for Lucky Charms.)

Leave a Reply

