Five little Canadians

Image

image

One little,
Two little,
Three little Canadians (geese).
Four little,
Five little travelers these.

The sky was so clear and blue,
Wisps of white and trailing clouds
Geese traveling over white fences
and bridge over icy, brisk waters.

No bridge over troubled waters,
but I would “lay me down” for
any number of family members.

In my immediate family,
we all had “R” names.

Our lamp post showed this:
“The 5 R Oldrieves”
The five geese in my photo,
gave my heartstrings a pull.

This photo is different
from the other one,
same day, a little
shift in the geese
arrangements.

56 responses »

    • I appreciate your understanding words, Dan. You show discernment and read between the lines. Mom and Dad’s retirement Lake home is sold and like a set of blocks toppling down. Niece and hubby, two children moved out and away from Vermilion. Rich and wife, Susan, are selling theirs, to move also farther from the lake. . . Change is in the air.

  1. A lovely picture and a beautiful sentiment. Very poignant and sweet. Did you that we Brits call them Canada Geese rather than Canadian …. quite strange really – I have no idea why but I know it jars with a lot of English people and they sneakily call them Canadian on the quiet!

    • Not sure where my fingers sent my reply to you. Hope it didn’t publish it somewhere else. Ha ha!
      I think that is interesting about “Canada geese.” I wonder why they chose not to designate it as an adjective, Canada is a noun! πŸ™‚ I see why it would not fit other bird labels.. . . . the “English” robin is so petite and sweet like a Wren family member while the “American” robin is larger and not as cute! The redbreast on the bird is pretty against the snow. In central Ohio they all don’t fly South either. Heartier birds.
      This little post was written with nostalgia, Fi. My Mom and Dad had retired exactly 30 years from starting work. So lucky! They sold their suburban home, filled with Victorian furniture, and bought a small lake house in a “New Englandesque” town called Vermilion, Ohio. Their house was nautically decorated. It has lagoons and pretty homes like Rockport, MA. There is a restaurant you cab dock your boat at and eat in. πŸ™‚
      When he died, Mom stayed and continued for another ten years to live in this cottage. Their mutual friends in the community made her never lonely while our summers had been since my kids were toddlers their playground of vacations. When she became forgetful and disoriented four years ago, we moved her closer to my brother and his wife’s house near Cleveland. Their daughter and her husband had their wedding on the lake property and moved in, now have two kids. It was time to move for them last couple since they outgrew it. It finally sold in this January, better economy and house sales are up in Ohio.
      Anyway, like blocks tumbling down~ my niece and her husband and two children are moving away from there, my brother and his wife of 25 years are selling their home to move two towns away from Mom’s senior living apt. . . All kinds of my own family visits, as a single mom of 3, are still embedded in my memories but am a little down.
      Unlike geese, we are not in “formation” anymore, scattering. I know you can relate to these emotions, tenfold! The words were not to be sad, but I am a little melancholy.

    • Oh, first of all did you get a picture of them ? Second, thank you for sharing this! Lastly, I have been meaning to read and catch up with you.I have sometimes been guilty of following up more with those who comment. Thanks for telling me 100’s returned in your area! ❀

  2. A timely and enjoyable read, Robin. I live directly beneath the Central Flyway, one of four North American migratory paths for the Canada Geese. Over the last several weeks and given our unseasonably warm winter this year, there have been literally several hundreds of them at a time circling, cackling and then proceeding northward. It is a sight and sound to behold. A breathtaking marvel of Nature. I share and appreciate your excitement seeing them!

    • Eric,this must be a fantastic sight to see. Thank you for sharing this, I am wondering since I feel a sense of “deja vu” have we chatted about this before? It is always great when someone adds to a post with information like this. Thank you, Eric! πŸ™‚

      • You are welcome. And now Robin tests Eric’s recall abilities. Uh oh. πŸ™‚ Perhaps we have touched on this before though I don’t remember. In any case, here’s to the geese!

  3. Love hearing the Canada geese returning after our winter. Today I heard a slightly different “honk” while I was outside. I looked up and it was a pair of snow geese. Absolutely amazing! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, wow! I have never seen snow geese, Carl. I appreciate your wonderful comment. I am low on data usage so am answering comments but not visiting until I am close to free Wi-Fi. Just letting you know since you are a new commenter and I look forward to reading your blogs. I live a simple life, downsized with using library computer nd cell phone to blog! Library is oen later but on Sunday I take my grandies to visit his cousins. Happy first day of our vernal equinox or Spring! πŸ™‚

      • You are most welcome. This is wonderful to hear about downsizing, am working at purging these days and getting rid of “stuff”.

        Thank you for your thoughtful and informative reply. Answering comments is such an important part of blogging.. I have a binder where I keep track of every blogger I follow. The ones who drop by my blog with comments or respond to my own comments soon become “favourites” where I drop in more frequently.

        Take care and have a WONDERFUL long weekend! πŸ™‚

        ~Carl~

    • Maniparna, thank you for sending the deeper emotions, dear. I like your finding enjoyment in this post, too. I may be visiting later or tomorrow, since my cell phone is once again low on data usage. I can comment but visiting takes up data. Sorry, but sharing this among friends. Hugs, Robin

      • Yes, my new data starts on the 7th of April. Only went Monday and then left to help my oldest daughter get my Advance Auto discount off in her headlight. My best day was Tuesday and I think I was able to stay an hour and a half.
        Fun visit tonight, saw all 7 of grandchildren at son and DIL’s home. Oldest daughter had her 2 sons and the other 5 were all together. Baby Hendrix was eating these doodles that look like Cheetos but are made of sweet potato. They were stuck under his chubby neck and on his elbows while in his high chair. πŸ˜€

      • It was hectic for my son but my DIL is so easy going, Lynn. I just read your post on the chicken, peppers and using broth on the bun for the girls co-op. You prepared so many delicious meals. I am sure the girls got attached to you and were fond of your cooking. I accidentally pushed a button on the phone. Shh! Don’t tell anyone but I will head back and comment. I do worry about my shared data since they send messages at the speed of light,on how much I use blogging. Hugs, Robin xo

    • My Mom’s and Dadsnames were Robert and Rosalie. Mom was a teacher so she thought of old fashioned “reading, ‘riting and ‘rithmetic” They used today the 3 R’s. Then it just kept going with Randall and Richard.I guess I was a form of Robert but enjoyed Robin up till H.S. At summer jobs, I used Elizabeth or “Beth.” πŸ™‚

  4. What a delight, Robin. You really have a connection to the bird world, don’t you? I can see siblings as geese so easily. I will tweet this in honor of World Poetry Day. πŸ˜‰ I’m having such fun with twitter.

    • I really appreciate my Very First Tweet! Yeah, I do love birds, Brenda. You remember my grandpa sent a winged messenger, a cardinal, to give me comfort one hour after he died. Hugs! Lunch time over!!

Leave a Reply

