Winter Wonderland

Image

image

Long gone, snow has stayed
in my photo gallery until I
“released this for your eyes only!”
Just in time for. . . .
April Fool’s Day!

Towering trees shelter birds,
while shorter trees create
places for birds to check
out full bird feeders.

Taking their turns,
blue jays, chickadees,
robins, and cardinals.

The squirrels and chipmunks
scamper, searching through
seeds, bread crumbs and nuts.

The deer arrive under the leaning
tree branches, hidden in the shadows.

Their hunger more evident while they
approach stealthily, later in the evening.

What have you been spying
in your local scenery?
What has the weather
done to change animals,
their antics and interactions?

P.S. I didn’t expect snow to be predicted
and wish it didn’t ruin the “joke!”

71 responses »

    • Jill, thank you for the weather report, I was sorry to hear about stormy weather. I am happy this final photo from my blog post “gallery” turned out pleasing to your eyes. πŸ™‚

  1. The goldfinch is back at our birdfeeder perch, the tulips are struggling to rise up from the soil, the soil smells lushly loamy…but snow is expected this weekend.
    Groan.
    Happy April 1 to you!

    • Pam, I am happy to hear of all the senses being stimulated with Springtime smells, sights and sounds of chittering songs of goldfinches. πŸ™‚

      Not glad to hear of upcoming snow predictions! 😦 Looks like this pre-scheduled post was a little too fortuitous for comfort!

      Happy April to you, too. Hope it brings more of the former and none of the latter. . .

    • My youngest daughter asked me if we had snow in forecast and so far, 2 commenters have mentioned there may be snow on Sunday, Sylvia. Here I was trying to be funny and not show off my Kreskin’s ESP talent. Ha ha ha πŸ˜€

  2. Delightful ideas and mental images here Robin! And, of course, isn’t your name the essence of Spring?

    We noticed that our hummingbirds seem to be more visible and we have mourning doves nesting again in our yard.

    Also, since we finally had some rain (not a lot, but enough, apparently) all our flowers are blooming like crazy.

    Finally, a Spring I welcomed. I especially love that snowy picture though, Robin, as I am passionate about snow.

    • Beth, I am happy to present a snowy scene to warm your memories if winter in your heart.<3
      Only funny thing is 2 people, so far, have mentioned we may get snow on Sunday!
      Now, I am wishing I had said my "crystal ball forecast is. . ." πŸ˜€
      I am smiling to hear of my name as a harbinger for spring, the hummingbirds and mourning doves in your area. Hi am glad you had some rain to allow the flowers to bloom "like crazy," Beth! ❀

    • So far, 2 people have mentioned this Sunday we (in this area) may get snow showers! Too bad, maybe I could have said I was checking “my crystal ball” or using “my ESP” to predict snow, Diana! πŸ˜€
      Happy April to you and hopefully no snow around here or there!

  3. The fresh foliage is out on all the once-barren tree branches that, just a couple of weeks ago, looked just like those branches shown in your photo. We have mostly white oak and sugar gum trees around us. And something I didn’t expect — mistletoe grows profusely in the branches of the oak trees. – Mike

    • Mike, I am glad you shared your weather and foiage report here. It was a bright and happy spot to read about! Apparently, this April Fool’s joke, pre-scheduled awhile ago, unwittingly “hits too close to home!!”
      We may get snow showers here in Sunday! Too bad I dibdt pretend to be Kreskin (SP?) Who may have predicted snow with his ESP mind powers. πŸ˜€

      • oops – sorry, my jab was at Mother Nature, not you! πŸ™‚
        I shouldn’t get so annoyed … it is normal to get snow in April, at least in this part of the world :/

      • Oh goodness. I remember when I lived in Brooklyn it snowed in April and it was crazy!! They closed the schools and everything. It melted and got warm again quickly though.

    • Oops, Sarah! 😦 I posted this in my scheduled drafts awhile ago, didn’t mean to upset anyone! I live in Ohio where Spring Break came this week so every post was planned ahead so I could hang out with grandkids and my Mom during different parts of the week.
      Hope you know I didn’t mean to forecast REAL snow! πŸ˜‰

      • I once got snowed/iced out of a field trip and it was nearly Memorial Day – so I am pretty used to being that person who lives somewhere absurd where it never stops snowing! Someday, I will find myself living in Key West, and this will all be a distant memory that I speak (somewhat) fondly of.

    • Oh, if I could get all my loved ones to head to same southern location of would be in second heaven. πŸ™‚ Sarah, thanks for adding this about snow through May! Makes April’s first weekend not seem so bad! Give the cat and Choppy a scratch around the ears from me. ❀

  4. Such a sugary coated image. Sometimes it snows in the Colorado mts on July 4th – the only time I ever saw snow when I was little.
    Oddly we plan on using the fireplace one more time as a gray, windy front came in this morning after a night of storms and rain. Pretty soon it will be days of sun, glare, humidity and oppressive heat so planning on enjoying every minute of this!

    • Yay, for using a fire in the fireplace to be warm and cozy. Enjoy!
      I am glad you felt the photo had softened edges with sugar coating. The sun setting created a rosy hue to this scene. Smiles, Robin

    • Hope your Mom is well and safe when snow falls. I think with my Mom in Cleveland they aren’t very far apart. . .
      I am glad one more day of rest, then go to work. Snow wears me down a bit, cold on achy muscles. Fun times with grandies on Friday and today. Hope to feature more poetry, Luanne. πŸ™‚

      • My mom said the snow is a little depressing right now. Today is my paternal grandmother’s birthday and the thought of snow on her grave is a little sad.

Leave a Reply

