Deer in camera’s sight

Image

image

After driving for three hours

cooped up in the car, I stopped

to walk for short time in familiar

location nearby Mom’s senior

living apartment building.

I was looking in an overgrown

area close to Westlake’s

special resting place,

Evergreen Cemetery.

The color of new grass was

yellow-green, as I wandered

onto path worn down by few feet.

I had observed planted flowers

for the visiting mourners.

Now I see wild ferns popping

out of damp, soft ground,

spreading a blanket for

deer to nibble upon.

An apt description of early

“spring green” growth found

in the surrounding back part

of the acreage beyond graves.

Location’s name recognizes

its purpose to represent

life continuing on, verdant

surroundings reinforce

evergreen forever.

84 responses »

    • They sure did look gentle and made me feel like they “trusted” me, Coleen. Sharon Woods and High Banks have a lot in nearby fields, Cleveland has many in their West side suburbs. We don’t see many this closely in Delaware yet.

      • Oh my gosh we see them every where. There are many that hang out behind my house. Some nights I come home and they stand there watching me. The closest I’ve gotten to them is ten feet. I don’t approach them, but they are that close when I get out of my car, and they didn’t leave. 🙂

    • I didn’t know you have less roaming free around there, Jen. I like those kind descriptions of deer. I worry when they seem almost tame, though. Have a nice week ahead!

    • I have eaten deer steaks, stew and deer jerky. I think the hunters that thin the herd are helping for the others to survive. I could not do it, but my uncle shot wild turkeys and pheasants, too. Thanks for thinking this was beautiful, Jen. ❤

      • I don’t know if I could eat them…I wish I was a vegetarian, but I love my lamb amd steak too much. I guess it’s like people going to turkey farms to choose their thanksgiving turkey. We don’t have them here, but I k ow I couldn’t look an animal in the eye or see it knowing it was going to be killed for my benefit. 😥

    • There you are! When I put your name into my internet connection, it sent me to your Twitter account. I will go read your blog as soon as I as answer my comments, Raphaela. ❤
      I am so happy you enjoyed this post and the descriptive word, "verdant." 🙂

    • So sorry, Sandhya about snow again. 😦
      This photograph was taken on Good Friday, on Easter it was nearly 70 degrees in Cleveland. My youngest daughter and I sat on my Mom’s outdoor patio area by the dining room in the sun. Now, it is 20 degrees this evening and very cold up there. Central Ohio where I live is milder.

      • Robin, we had 70 degrees last Thursday and now today we were down to below freezing! Oh well, this should not last long.
        Glad you have milder temperatures in Central Ohio.

    • Sylvia, thanks so much for your compliment and your wishes for my Mom. She is doing very well, some memory issues but often trying to be pleasant. She tells many residents she runs into, “You look so nice today.”
      I admire all the creatures you take pictures of, Sylvia. The idea of life continuing on beside graves makes me smile, too. 🙂

    • Thanks, Brenda. It started out as four, I didn’t use that photo since they were overlapping. This has three curious “tourists,” but may be less clear on a computer. Smiles!

    • You are fine, I have been not always able to see things like Sarah’s dog, Choppy. She hides her in weekly photos and rarely do I find her.
      The deer eyes reminded me of the soulful cow and horse’s eyes, from the years we went to a babysitter who owned farm animals. They have such pretty eyelashes, too. 🙂

    • I liked when my friend, Bill used to make a fire out in middle of winter. Yes, deer were attracted by the fire and we would hear them breathing but we didn’t point a flashlight at them. We felt letting them be free was better than seeing them better. Thanks, Brenda for the great way you triggered my memory. 🙂

    • Diana, I took several photos, starting with four and then this trio stared and stayed to look at me. It was indeed a rather long “pause.” 🙂
      I felt they seemed “young.” Glad you liked my thoughts, too.

    • Anneli, I haven’t been this close to deer for about 4 years. I used to hike a lot with my guy friend, Bill. I have about 9 albums of photographs of beautiful nature. It is funny because I don’t see as much of the same unique beauty since I don’t go as far or deep into the woods by myself these days. I was thrilled when 4 deer were there but the pictures showed them overlapped. This was an overcast early evening so it is hard to see distinct lines in many of the pictures I discarded. Glad you like these gentle animals. 🙂

  1. Ooooh, nice shot. We rarely see deer around here but I hear they are quite popular in other areas, even nearby. They are gentle animals but I know can also get up to mischief and there is a need for population control.

    • Luanne, I appreciate your liking our wild life! 🙂 We are blessed with this kind of creatures but your area has its own beautiful sights and critters like pretty birds, lizards and iguanas.
      Of course, I love your kitties and the cat shelter members, too. ❤

      • We do have a lot of pretty birds. I don’t know how they can stand the lack of water. Well, the lack of non-chlorinated water!!!!!

    • Thank you for the sweet compliments, Michelle Marie. ❤ Mom is a spunky and most of the time, very thoughtful and kind woman.
      We had a lot of fun. Both daughters came up for visits at different times, spreading the Love from Friday through Monday.
      She is forgetful and cranky as the day passes. They call it, "sun downers." I am blessed to have her, of course!

    • Oh, good! Happy to share this photo with you, Beth. The deer seemed young which makes me think of curious and gentle teenagers! Those are oxymorons, aren’t they?! 😀

  2. Such a lovely moment Robin! We don’t have deer roaming freely here except in the high and wild country where only the determined deer shooters can find them. [I’m always on the side of the deer getting away! 🙂 ]

    • Pauline, thank you for saying this about my loveky moment!
      I appreciate your sharing this about your deer, how far they are, located in high and wild areas.
      I also prefer all deer to live and be free! 🙂
      My uncle we often visited, along with my aunt and cousins, did let us know how the deer herd needs to be thinned to allow more food available for them to survive. We ate cooked wild turkey, pheasant and deer when we visited them.

  3. Last weekend driving home fromthe cottage we saw dozens and dozens of deer by the side of the road – and in some cases attempting to cross it. I was so afraid of hitting one, it made for a harrowing drive. Poor little creatures. I have that we’ve maderoads right through their homes.

    • Jay, it is sad about the overcrowding of deer, less space due to building houses and constructing businesses. It is dangerous for you, as they can cause serious accidents. So sorry you had to go through this. It is truly a harrowing experience, as you described it.
      I have been mentioning my uncle was a hunter but he always used the meat of deer, wild turkeys and pheasants to feed his family and gave some to friends. Thinning the herd helps those who live to have enough food and space. I support hunting and it’s purpose although I could never kill anything!

    • Oh, so glad you have deer to enjoy watching and blending into your forests. They do seem innocent and sweet, Maniparna. We can feel happy together which is a special thought. 🙂

    • They didn’t seem nervous as I stood and took several photographs. You are one of my favorite nature photographers, Lisa. You are able to capture birds so clearly.

  4. Great photo and accompanying narrative. Love the two deer two. Here’s an interesting story for you, missy. Years ago the old antique roses that came over from Europe began a resurgence of popularity in this country. Actually most of my roses are the old antique ones. At any rate, when breeders started looking for the plants to generate and sell, they found them in old, old cemeteries where they had survived unattended for decades and decades and even centuries. And it was largely to these finds that they have been brought back from near extinction at least in nurseries. I’ve been to and order all of mine from the Antique Rose Emporium right here in Independence, Texas which is just right outside Brenham, Texas where they make the famous Bluebell Ice Cream. These are especially good for our Texas climates that get so hot the modern hybrid teas have a hard time making it and have a lot more issues with diseases like black spot and powerdy mildew. Another fascinating thing about roses is that the repeat blooming China roses began finding their way into Europe as they moved from one monastery garden to another during the crusades. It was then that the Europeans began breeding them with their roses that only bloomed once. Thus now most roses that grow today bloom over and over again during the growing season. Cool huh?! 🙂 ❤

    • Oh, dear Natalie. Your comment is lovely and timeless. I appreciate your saying there are other memorable firms of nature in older cemeteries! I did not know about older roses but wondered about people who say “heirloom roses.” Now, you clarified further by calling them old, antique roses. I like wild roses but can see beauty in antique roses you mentioned. I like how you let readers know where in Texas they may go to get roses which withstand your weather! 🙂
      I wrote a research essay on roses on this blog. More like a collection of trivia rather than this very informative essay here. Thank you so much for sharing this! ❤ Now, heading off to bed. xoxo

    • If you ever have time and wish to read my two roses posts, click on the word “roses” in the column to the right. One includes which rose lives in Jerusalem and other unique rose facts! 🙂 The other has songs with roses and Ethel Merman, too.

  5. Beautiful prose and I love deer, whether grazing peacefully along the borders of the fields and forest, or sizzling grilled rare smothered in onions on the plate. Great post. enjoyed immensely, as well as the commentary that follows. Thank you. 🐞

    • Thank you and I agree deer steaks grilled on outside to a crisp but tender medium rare for me, delicious! I also like deer jerky.
      I am so happy you liked the photo and thoughts written here. I have seen people address you as JoHanna, but wondered if you would let me know if this is how you like to be called? Smiles, Robin

    • What?! 😦 I am sad you no longer can post a smiley face!
      Wordpress is a pain in the behind! Do you remember not that long ago time I had carefully scheduled several posts spread out in January? Then, boom- boom- boom! They all decided to ignore my spacing them out and posted all in a few days. You were so nice and supportive, Nia. ❤

  6. Beautiful descriptive post Robin.
    Your words and picture portray a serene and calming environment, you bring life to your pictures with your words.
    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

