Thursday’s Doors ~ April 7, 2016: German Village church

Image

image

The petite weeping and flowering

cherry tree brings a contrast to

this darkly colored brick church.

I notice a brass kick plate,

an arch with stained glass

along with the steps

leading up to the

double doors.

This doors post is part of
Norm Frampton’s weekly
Thursday’s Doors program,
Please check out others
who regularly contribute
and provide links to Doors at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.com

Thanks for your looking at this
Thurman Ave Methodist Church
located in German Village, in
Columbus, Ohio.

~~~ *** ~~~

35 responses »

  1. Great photo of a sturdy door Robin. I love the way you write these up. It’s hard not to try and imagine what the structure around the door must have looked like in an earlier time.

    • I tried to find out details of earlier church structure, Dan. I just hoped my “Doors friends and experts” might give me possibility of previous overhang or what may have been above the door? Thanks for liking this! 🙂

      • I’m pretty sure it was just an overhang to protect from the weather. It probably was unmaintained for too long and became dangerous 😦

  2. I don’t know why but my eye is drawn back again and again to the shadow pattern in the brick of the awning that isn’t there anymore. Great shot Robin 🙂

    • Norm, thank you for your helpful input on the bricks being different colors. I thought they may have had an overhang which would help when people are entering the church. Then, if someone had an umbrella to close and still not get wet. I like the idea of an awning which I am not sure why they would not have replaced it. I could not find historical information on the website. I am sure if I went inside, most churches have black and white photographs of original church structure. Thank you for liking this and hope the stained glass, arch and floral garden details helped brighten this post. I had a full view which many were not seeing, not sure why?

    • Marissa, were you able to see the full version of the church? I think this helps a bit with more flowers, more grass and another stained glass window. 😀 Not sure why wordpress didn’t post them a few minutes apart?
      Thank you for saying such nice things. My few coworkers and I plan to go see “My Big Fat Greek Second Wedding ” over the weekend (in the evening) and I have 2 grandsons all day Sat and Sun. Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Andrew, I appreciate your finding this to be beautiful and liking the tree. We’re you able to see the full view? Not sure when it got posted? There are more flowers and a clever church bulletin sign in front! 🙂

    • Joanne, you are very kind! 🙂 I am glad you see the beauty in this even with the obvious scars of removing an overhang or porch roof. I liked the fill view but try to always include a “close up” of the door separately. I will go check out everyone’s Doors now! Have a lovely and hopefully warmer weekend!

      • Usually renovation scars are rather jarring on brick walls. I can’t help but wonder if the contractor actually had an eye for the potential outcome and created this graceful blending in end result 🙂

    • Oh, Natalie, thank you! If you have time to look and no need to write, the full version has more flowers and a funny church sign, too. God likes us to have humor in our lives. . . 🙂
      Are you ready to get some rest? I get up and start work at 5:55 am on Fridays! Have a fantastic weekend, Natalie. 🙂

  3. A very delightful picture Robin, not only delightful, but colorful, I like the contrasting colors, brown doors, red steps, green lawn , white flowers and a few little yellow flowers sprinkled to paint a great painting.
    Excellent.

Leave a Reply

